The Caverns of Kalte

The Caverns of Kalte – Attempt 1, Part 2

Let’s suit up!

Two sledges, twelve dogs, three guides (Irian, Fenor and Dyce), ‘enough’ food and equipment, aaaannnd even before we set off, I’m channeling Linus :

charlie-brown

After just one day of uneventful travel, we set up the tent(s).  We need a picture, right?

 

1

The four of us perform all the necessary arctic evening tasks and are juuuusst sitting down to dinner and then (ALWAYS when I’m eating) we hear a ‘terrifying roar’ and Irian helpfully expositions that this creature is a ‘Baknar’.

Apparently these friendly beasties are carnivores who prey on things such as ostrels, dogs, guides, Kai Initiates, you get the idea.

Hopefully the Baknar’s appetite proceeds in that order, you know what I’m saying?

Luckily, my Kai Discipline of Hunting reminds me that Baknars are terrified of fire (as compared, I suppose, to all those arctic creatures who love it?).  I grab a torch from the campfire, wave it in the (presumably) ugly face of the Baknar and it ‘shrieks in terror’ before fleeing into the night.

In a baffling move, the guides and I NOW decide to take turns keeping watch in the night, weapons at the ready.  I hope with all my heart that this was always the plan.

As I wake at dawn, I actually get served a hot breakfast by Fenor.  A guide and a cook! Score!

Hopefully my breakfast in bed looks like this :

msg-137547509246

For most of the day, the journey is ‘smooth’ and ‘easy’.  So now I’m just waiting for the other shoe to drop.  We set up camp at the end of day two at ‘Syem Island’, a four hundred foot tall (!!) pinnacle of granite.

An R10 check will now determine what might happen this evening.

Annnnnd nothing happens!

I guess I should be relieved.

Short entry today, but at least its an entry, right?

 

 

Base Stats : CS : 17, E : 20, GC 14

Modified Stats : CS : 27, E : 22

Weapons : Sommerswerd (+8 CS), Mace

Backpack : Meal (x5), Healing Potion (+3 E), Laumspur Portion (+5 E), Laumspur Potion (+4E)

Special Items : Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 to CS), Sommerswerd, Padded Waistcoat (+2 E)

Kai Rank : Guardian

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter

Final paragraph : 188

One thought on “The Caverns of Kalte – Attempt 1, Part 2

  1. Aussiesmurf wrote “but at least its an entry, right?” Hmm. Lets see:

    Scenic photo? Check.
    Comic picture? Check.
    Cultural reference? Check
    Mockery of inconsistencies in the behaviour of NPC’s? Check
    Point for me to make a narky/opinionated comment on? Check

    Yeah, that’s an entry all right. Oh, and a Kai initiate is rank 5, you’re rank 7 a Kai Guardian. BTW, this is the book where the different ranks are given. I still remember excitedly reading over this list and then running down to inform my parents about it and that at 9 I’d be a “Savant”, I also remember being really puzzled at the way they both doubled over despite not being in pain. (in hindsight I can’t remember did I make this realization on completing The Chasm of Doom or earlier).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

