The Caverns of Kalte

The Caverns of Kalte – Attempt 1, Part 7

Aside : Apparently, hobbling around with a broken foot all day makes you more tired?  Who knew?!

When we left Lone Wolf, he had just made his entrance (finally!) into the fortress of Ikaya, using a roundabout route that involved taking a wrong path across a glacier, falling through the ice, and using a ‘Blue Stone Triangle’ found in an underground arctic stream.

Predictable, when you think about it.

I gratefully notice that the temperature now appears much more comfortable, and I am able to remove my mittens and lower my hood.  Compared to the outside, this is now :

hawaii-1

Balmy.

The corridor inside leads up to a landing and, through a entranceway, I spy a cavern covered with the seeming debris of ‘hundreds of years’.

Aside : I assume this is hyperbole, because I doubt things from ‘hundreds of years’ ago would still be unrotted.(Is unrotted a word?  It should be.)

Project Aon link – debris

From a D & D perspective, I also note a lever strategically positioned at the entrance to the cavern.  I can investigate the contents, pull the lever or continue on my way.

Although wary of this set-up, usually Mr Dever will give you a couple of chances before just blithely killing the character so, initially at least, I decide to investigate the debris for loot.

I find a Backpack (only useful if I had already lost mine) and some Rope, which is so bulky it takes up two (2!) slots in my backpack.  I take the Rope, and discard a couple of the meals which the rules lawyers among my readers think that I shouldn’t have kept in the first place.

I make my way out of this chamber and wander among various corridors (I won’t go into further detail regarding the D & D-esque description) before having to stop and eat a Meal.

I have a no-frills choice between east and west corridors, and continue east.

11503915-3d-rendering-of-signs-with-west-and-east-pointing-in-opposite-directions

The lack of signpost didn’t help, either.

As I skip merrily along the corridor, I discover that a massive fissure has opened, destroying most of the walls and floor.

If only I had a (capital R) Rope!

Wait!  I do!

Project Aon link – M’lare bowl

I note a M’lare bowl (which contains a light-giving substance) hanging from the ceiling.

Have I watched this scene about a million times??

Yes, I think I have!

Without batting a metaphorical eyeline I use my trusty (as in, discovered it 10 minutes ago) Rope to swing over the gap and carry on my way (making sure, of course, to first retrieve my now-valued Rope).

Before I make much more progress, I see a doorway to the left with delightfully morbid engravings of skeletons and similiar ephemera.  There is also another of those pesky levers next to the door.

Project Aon link – doorway engravings

Do I want to investigate?  Heck, yes!

I pull the lever and stroll casually through the door before, as in every decent Indiana Jones movie, the door starts to close behind me.

Before I have the chance to make a decision, I note an eight-foot-tall monolith before me.  I also have the chance to spy that there is NO lever on this side of the door.

Project Aon link – Symbols on monolith

Its not worth being trapped forever, so I immediately try to nip back through the closing door.

My Kai Discipline of Hunting, while being USELESS at getting food in this wasteland, helps me sneak back through the closing gap.

bd4bjm

What else can possibly go wrong in this maze of tricks and traps?

My next choice is equally enigmatic – some stairs going up or a door (wherein the door has a lever beside it)?

Being thoroughly sick of levers, I walk up the stairs.

In a worrying development, I now have to make an R10 check and, despite adding +3 for my Sixth Sense, still can’t get over 4.

I guess whatever I could have discovered at this point will need to remain hidden…

 

 

Base Stats : CS : 17, E : 20, GC 14

Modified Stats : CS : 27, E : 22

Weapons : Sommerswerd (+8 CS), Mace

Backpack : Meal (x2), Healing Potion (+3 E), Laumspur Portion (+5 E), Laumspur Potion (+4E), Rope

Special Items : Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS), Sommerswerd, Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond, Ornate Silver Key

Kai Rank : Guardian

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter

Final Paragraph : 76

4 thoughts on “The Caverns of Kalte – Attempt 1, Part 7

  1. Aaaaw poor Tim :(. I told Bryan what happened. He told me to tell you that you are welcome to a Free Remedial session whenever you want 😦 ..Get better soon xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ehehehehe so you have decided to eat one of your (unrotten) meal! Is unfair eheheheheh! Anyway, just because it wouldn’t be a spoiler anymore, i can tell you when you have avoided that last lever nearby the stairs, you’ve lost the chance to get a very usefull Special Item…
    Hope you get better soon, your trusty rules lawyer 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You have no idea how much I needed the fix of your post on Thursday (my) afternoon and you don’t want to either but take the delay in replying as a clue.

    As with our cars we don’t realise how well our different parts work together until they don’t, at least our cars can be quickly hammered into shape. Hope you have a quick recovery.

    As you outlined the torturous route to get into Ikaya I’m reminded of Grand Moff Tarkin being told that while the Death Star could withstand any direct assault there was a … possibility. At least you didn’t have to climb through a small thermal exhaust…

    Yes, I did check, not only is unrotted a word but so is unrotten, I imagine the cold helps preserving the … junk. At least Luke got a kiss from a pretty girl whose aim is as bad as his, poor Lone Wolf just gets to hang around with blokes who die off quickly.

    Here’s hoping your observational skills improve soon, Avenger’s Detect Traps would have picked that up immediately.

    Stiil, an end is in sight…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

