The Caverns of Kalte

The Caverns of Kalte – Attempt 1, Part 9

When we left our intrepid adventurer, he was checking out a prisoner in a cell, whose description (or, at least, the description of his clothing) seemed to match with our knowledge of the Brotherhood of the Crystal Star (Banedon TM).

Having said that, its like arguing that wearing a Metallica t-shirt means that the wearer has an intricate knowledge of the bass riffs of Orion.

Have a listen, I’ll wait.

We’re back?  Good.

With all those considerations in mind, I take a deep breath and open the door to the cell…

The inhabitant of the cell gets some bonus points for having his first words be ‘Upon my soul, a Kai Lord!’

Aside : I guess the green cloak once more earns its keep.

The man then introduces himself as Loi-Kymar from the Brotherhood of the Crystal Star (called it!) and produces a Crystal Star pendant as proof of his identity.

Aside : I hope this doesn’t mean that Banedon, from Book 1, having given his pendant to me, now has no effective means of identification. Oh well, his tough luck, I suppose

Project Aon link – Loi-Kymar

To summarise Loi-Kymar’s story :

  • Vonotar – remember him? didn’t successfully guarantee a complete invasion of Sommerlund.
  • Fearing the wrath of the Darklords, he paid a ‘visit’ to Loi-Kymar, demanding the use of his Guildstaff, which device could transport the bearer to anywhere in the world.
  • Vonotar threatened Loi-Kymar’s family, and as a twisted ‘compromise’, Loi-Kymar brought him here, without giving up the secret of the staff.
  • Loi-Kymar, no fool, has refused to give up the general secret of the Guildstaff, since Vonotar would kill him about three seconds after such a revelation.
  • Loi-Kymar states that, if I can defeat Vonotar and retrieve the staff, he’ll be able to transport us back to the Cardonal in time for departure.

backstory-small

Aside : No explanation given as to why he can’t just (after retrieving the staff) transport us both back to Holmgard, but I guess he doesn’t want to over-exert himself.

After the two of us wander through various corridors, caverns and passageways, we come across the kitchens for the fortress, inhabited by two Ice Barbarians.  The book asks if I have various (presumably unhealthy) concoctions, but, since I don’t have these, I guess I have no option but to rely upon my MEGASWORD!!

I manage to take one by surprise and take him out, and I have to take on the remaining one:

Ice Barbarian – Combat Skill : 14, Endurance : 25

Lone Wolf – Combat Skill : 27, Endurance : 22

I take out my remaining opponent with one blow (!), remain unharmed, and check out the kitchen.

89d9ae505a87584b041ceb96fa9aec96-d4rxmrm

Loi-Kymar, kindly but unnecessarily, uses the ingredients present in the kitchen to mix a healing potion from various bits and pieces in the kitchen.  I’m too diplomatic to mention to him that, between the Sommerswerd and my Healing skill, I have no need for his concoction.

200_s

Project Aon link – Potion

We then (again, following his lead) make our way through various passageways to the entrance to the (grandly named) Hall of the Brumalmarc.  As we stealthily peer forward, we see that the gateway is guarded by two Ice Barbarians, who presumably are less stupid than those we confronted in the kitchen.

Having said that, you would think that being a cook is a more challenging job that standing blank-eyed as a sentry for most of the day.  But, then again, maybe it is like the Beefeaters, and the guard duty here is a reward for years of competent and loyal service.

Then again, it could just be a sinecure.

Loi-Kymar, in a classic ‘friendly’ NPC move, comes up with a concoction which will serve to render the guards unconscious.  Using my Kai skill of Camouflage, I sneak close enough (hello, quasi-ninja skills!) to place this potion under their noses and lead them off to dreams of Ice Valkyries (or whatever the correspondingly attractive mate may be).

We collectively push the double doors open and enter the (dramatic music sting) throne room!

Aside : I’ve had a bit of a day, so less jokes than you might expect.  Hope you stay with me anyway….

Base Stats : CS : 17, E : 20, GC 14

Modified Stats : CS : 27, E : 22

Weapons : Sommerswerd (+8 CS), Mace

Backpack : Meal (x2), Healing Potion (+3 E), Laumspur Portion (+5 E), Laumspur Potion (+4E), Rope

Special Items : Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS), Sommerswerd, Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond, Ornate Silver Key

Kai Rank : Guardian

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter

Final Paragraph : 122

8 thoughts on “The Caverns of Kalte – Attempt 1, Part 9

  1. don’t worry babe, just finished the last of 5 webinars today with interstate clients, have a presentation in front of investors tomorrow at 8am, and my week is just starting to warm up!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Saw on your Twitter that you’re a fan of Veruca Salt (the band, though maybe the Dahl character, too). I saw them two years ago on their reunion tour. Good to see that Louise and Nina had buried the hatchet and gotten the original band back together. They didn’t just sound great; everyone in the band also looked fantastic. I was happy to see that, since I’ll reach their ages then in about five years.

    As thanks for these blog posts, and to help cheer you up after breaking your foot, here’s something I was lucky to see at that concert. Some yelled out a request for a classic rock song, and Louise went all acapella on its ass:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Love the band Veruca Salt. Saw them in 1997 at the Prince of Wales (where they basically broke up back stage afterwards – check out their song Prince of Wales on Ghost Notes) and also the reunion tour in 2014. Highly recommend Nina Gordon’s two solo albums (Tonight and the Rest of My Life & Bleeding Heart Graffiti) and the ‘Louise Post’ Veruca Salt albums (Resolver and IV).

      Resolver in particular shows the MASSIVE issues which Louise had after the breakup of the band and her relationship with Dave Grohl. Check out their recent video for Laughing in the Sugar Bowl – awesome stuff.

      Like

      1. I knew that messiness involving Dave Grohl was part of the band’s breakup. I didn’t know Louise got really drunk before your ’97 show because Grohl dumped her via long-distance phone call (dick move, Dave) to be with 𝑊𝑖𝑛𝑜𝑛𝑎 𝐹𝑟𝑒𝑎𝑘𝑖𝑛’ 𝑅𝑦𝑑𝑒𝑟. Who had recently ended a long-term relationship with Soul Asylum’s Dave Pirner, because I felt there wasn’t enough ’90s music gossip already involved. Did Louise really have to be practically carried off the stage?

        Thanks to setlist.fm, I see that they had pretty much the same setlist for both our 2014 concerts, with only minor differences. Assuming you saw them at the Corner Hotel. Glad they included my all-time favorite, Forsythia.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Louise was completely totalled – she flashed the crowd, played some solos while LYING ON THE STAGE, etc etc. She admitted in a subsequent interview that she’d taken ‘a little pill’ before the show. I loved Soul Asylum too (Let Your Dim Light Shine is an INCREDIBLY underrated album).

        Like

      3. Didn’t mind the Salt but I have always loved Hole/Courtney Love from that era, much more.. Still listen to Hole every few days,.. takes me back to my early 20’s..”.I want to be the girl with the most CAKE!!”

        Liked by 1 person

  3. It occurs to me, based on Loi-Kymers comment on their cooking, that hacking those two cooks to death may have made you a hero to the Ice Barbarians. Still think Lone Wolf is a bit too quick to trust though, while its true most fantasy stories have an old man with a beard there’s still the question is it Gandalf or Saruman…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

