Uncategorized

The Caverns of Kalte – Attempt 1, Part 10

After the ‘To Be Continued’ sting at the end of the previous post, Loi-Kymar and I open the door to the throne room of Ikaya, presumably inhabited by Vonotar, the traitor to our homeland!

1a2681572f058773_cat_pictures_funny_b

 

Just let that suspense build for a minute or two.

Listen to some Julee Cruise.

 

Ready?

 

We are confronted by a throne room seemingly completely constructed out of crystal and ice.  Interestingly, there don’t appear to be any other guards or sycophants hanging around.

At the other end of this enormous throne room, Vonotar (dun!) sits on his crystal throne (atop a crystal plateau (!) no less), immersed in study.

frozenthrone

He doesn’t seem to notice our presence, and seems surprisingly secure for someone who has fled to an arctic wasteland rather than face either of the countries out for his blood. We creep closer, and then, just as I’m beginning to believe that the conclusion of this quest might be easier than I thought, Loi-Kymar sneezes.

Thanks a lot.

flat1000x1000075f

Vonotar gasps in horror at seeing us, and immediately attempts to grab his black (presumably magical) staff.  I climb towards him as soon as possible, remembering (and I hope he doesn’t) that my Sommerswerd should negate any magic used against me.

In some kind of in-built defence mechanism, the floor around Vonotar’s throne begins sinking, creating an impromptu moat.  While I try to remember my high school long jump records, I see that some monstrosity is dragging itself out of the gap, presumably magically summoned by Vonotar.

There’s a text description of this creature, but I think I’d rather just link to the (evocative) picture that’s been supplied.

Project Aon link – Akraa’Neonor

Vonotar’s plan becomes clear, as he now attempts to use his magic against Loi-Kymar (rather than myself), while I have to struggle with this nightmare creature.

Akraa’Neonor – Combat Skill 23, Endurance 50 (!)

Lone Wolf – Combat Skill 27, Endurance 22

Helpfully, the book reminds me that the Sommerswerd enables me to double damage against this creature, as it has apparently been raised from the dead, or some such.

Round 1 : I lose 2 Endurance points, my evil adversary loses (8×2) = 16

Endurance : LW – 20, A’N – 34

Round 2 : A great blow is struck! I manage to do (14×2) = 28 damage, while not suffering any!

Endurance : LW – 20, A’N – 6

Round 3 : I finish off the beast without further loss, which is a relief, because there seemed to be a 5 Round ‘time limit’, presumably after which Loi-Kymar would have been killed, making my trip home fairly problematic.

Victory!  Take it away, Gru!

86036-victory-dance-gif-despicable-m-epns

 

Loi-Kymar is shaken, but not stirred.  He grabs a handful of herbs from his bag, and throws them to the ground.  Before my eyes, they create rapidly growing vines which create a crude bridge towards Vonotar’s throne.

Vonotar grabs a crystal rod of some kind from behind his throne, but the frost that emanates from it is sucked up by my trusty Sommerswerd.

Loi-Kymar, in a clear attempt to steal my glory, throws some more herbs at Vonotar, which form further vines serving to effectively imprison the traitor.

Project Aon link – Vonotar in vines.

As I strip the traitor of his magical rings and jewelry, Loi-Kymar locates his Guildstaff, and promptly transports us back to the Cardonal.

Yep, just like that.

Rather than do a whole new post, I’ll just briefly state that :

  • We are transported back to the ship, with no comment forthcoming on the fates of the poor surviving guides.
  • We return to Sommerlund, are greeted as heroes, and Vonotar is put on trial.
  • After being found guilty (no word on what his defence might have been) I am delegated to carry out the punishment.
  • Vonotar is to be exiled to the Phantom Zone (ahem!)…..the Daziarn, by being cast through a Shadow Gate in the basement of the Wizard Guild’s tower.
  • I’m sure there’s no chance whatsoever that he’ll come back to bother me ever again.

 

Right?

 

Project Aon link – Vonotar being cast into the Daziarn

 

Tune in next entry for my thoughts on this book!

 

Final Base Stats : CS : 17, E : 20, GC 14

Final Modified Stats : CS : 27, E : 22

Weapons : Sommerswerd (+8 CS), Mace

Backpack : Meal (x2), Healing Potion (+3 E), Laumspur Portion (+5 E), Laumspur Potion (+4E), Rope

Special Items : Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS), Sommerswerd, Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond, Ornate Silver Key

Kai Rank : Guardian

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter

Final Paragraph : 350

4 thoughts on “The Caverns of Kalte – Attempt 1, Part 10

  1. Firstly Kudo’s because this is two books in a row you’ve completed without dying once, that certainly never happened in WOTT. Brilliant traitor mouse photo btw. I always found it strange that so much work seemed to go into the Akraa’Neonor only to never see one again. Maybe the thought of typing its name out in the days before Spellchecker and Copy and Paste was just too much. I also think Loi-Kymer being the one to capture Vonotar and get you out of there is a reminder that while you’re no longer a low level character you’re not yet a high level one either (see how much of the credit he claims when he publishes his memoirs “Winter Holidays: How I caught a traitor and saved the Kai in a single afternoon”.).

    Bearing in mind the personal sacrifice you made to keep the guides alive its a bit much to then leave them behind but you can understand it would be difficult to write logically. In the Novels you probably remember Lone Wolf had to be Vonotar’s defense lawyer, interesting that that experience didn’t turn you off a career in law, without betraying confidentiality would he be the hardest case you ever had?

    Look forward to your conclusion and roll on The Chasm of Doom (one of my fave books).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 1. Actually I DID complete two Way of the Tiger books in a row without dying – Warbringer! and Inferno!
      2. I suppose paragraph 350 could always have had a note saying “Any guides were were able to have returned to the Cardonal, and they greet you both warmly.
      3. In terms of ‘hard’ cases, many have stretched my knowledge of the law. In terms of emotional difficulty, there is far greater pressure acting for decent people than for jerks. With jerks, you do your job as a professional and that’s all there is. With someone who is in danger of being hosed by the system, the pressure is enormous. I had one matter near the start of my career where a battered wife returned to her abusive husband because he had ‘only’ throttled her unconscious and raped her, which meant that, since he hadn’t actually killed her, it was ‘proof’ that he still ‘loved’ her. I was a long while getting over that.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 1) /Slaps head forcefully/. Of course you survived two WOTT books, and I was really impressed with your surviving Warbringer too. Some fan I am forgetting that. In my defence I have the memory of a goldfish.

        2) Agreed.

        3) Oh, sorry for bringing up bad memories. In my wife’s area (a sort of ad hoc scattering of houses from a land grab by the parents rather than a “real” village) it was noted at funerals that it would be the abused woman who would wail most when their husbands die. My first and only girlfriend also kept going back to the people who abused her, that certainly was NOT good for the old ego. Thanks for sharing.

        Like

Leave a Reply

