The Chasm of Doom

The Chasm of Doom – Attempt 1, Part 3

I am rudely awakened by an attack during the night!

Aside : And you thought this was going to be easy?!  Any married person with children can tell you that an uninterrupted night’s sleep is a fantasy up there with a traffic-free drive to work or a female US President.

Sigh.

127062d1290073202-nice-original-vk-tell-him-hes-dreamin

Back to the dramatic night-time battle!

A dozen warriors attack our camp, and one in particular fights his (?) way past a couple of my rangers and confronts me!

Lone Wolf – CS : 29, E : 26

Bandit Warrior : CS : 17, E : 26

Did someone say that a +12 CS differential meant a flawless victory?  Well, if they didn’t, they should have!

mortal-rock-band-kombat-epic-amazingness-demotivational-poster-1268345352

After my victory, I call my rangers to break the enemy line.  Many of ‘my’ rangers follow me, but after charging through our (clearly, well-trained) opponents, it is unfortunately the case that we only have managed to salvage eleven (surviving) horses.  I select ten of the best (and presumably most-doomed) rangers to carry on with me, and send the remainder home (on foot, no less!) to report that….well, not that much really.

Aside : Not much of a conversation really :

King : So, what happened?

Ranger : We got partway through the adventure, and my horse got killed.

King : Then why are you here?

Ranger : Because I was deemed not to be in the ‘top 10’ of rangers still surviving…?

King : Say no more, and go wash my car.

After making an R10 check, we ride up to a junction where the choice is to carry on to Ruanon (60 miles) or turn east for Eshnar (40 miles).

Given the information that the sword of Captain D’Val was purchased in Eshnar, I consider it preferable to go there first for information.  I turn east.

traveleast_logo

I enter the outskirts of Eshnar and spy a tavern known as the ‘Pick and Shovel’.

Sound familiar?

 

dun-dun-dun-o\

 

My Sixth (Spidey) Sense gives me an ‘uneasy’ feeling about the town, and I note that only women and children are visible on the streets of the town, and they are giving me uncomfortable and nervous looks.

Either my fly is undone, or there is some strange chicanery afoot!

My instincts (ie. my Sixth Sense) tells me to leave as quickly as possible.

I cannot think of a single instance in these books where my Sixth Sense has been wrong, and I’m not going to start doubting it now.

As we quickly ride through the town, a ‘flat circle of razor-sharp steel’ flies through the air and kills one of my trusty rangers.

Aside : I assume there was a copyright on the word ‘shuriken’.

Project Aon link – Ranger being hit by shuriken

More worryingly, my horse suffers an injury from another missile and decides to throw me off and onto the street. (Losing 1E)

As I stagger to my feet, I see that two of my men are dead, and that a ‘bandit warrior’ is shaping up for a fight.

23a3e8c6b88372b0048e9c9173d4b53d6f6995fc1a94dd72ca97554dcb9d5f22

However, he had not reckoned with my successful completion of Book 2, which gives me the golden MEGA-SWORD (aka Sommerswerd).

As he throws a (quasi) Shuriken AT MY HEAD, the Sommerswerd deflects same by cutting it in half, enabling my (individual) escape.

For all those (including myself) who nominated my last ten rangers as DOOMED, take a bow.

Oh, that was all of you?

Okay.

I dash into the forest and head south, towards Ruanon.

I suppose these are called ‘solo adventures’ for a reason….

 

Base Stats : CS : 17, E : 20, GC 24

Modified Stats : CS : 29, E : 26

Weapons : Sommerswerd (+8 CS), Captain D’Val’s Sword

Backpack : 2 Meals, 2 Laumspur potions (+4E), Holy Water

Special Items : Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS), Sommerswerd, Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond, Ornate Silver Key, Scroll with Verse (para 84 of tCoD)

Kai Rank : Journeyman

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS)

Final Paragraph : 292

 

6 thoughts on “The Chasm of Doom – Attempt 1, Part 3

    1. I always loved Druss in David Gemmel’s Legend when some young idiot is about to attack him.

      “Boy,” said Druss, his eyes cold, “think well about this venture. For make no mistake, you cannot stand before me and live. No man ever has.”

      The words were spoken softly, yet no one disbelieved the old man.”

      That would certainly give me second thoughts (and third, and fourth…)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. O to the M to the G!!! Here we seemed to be in a kind of Midsummer’s Night Dream with a disappearing Old Man with Beard (TM), travelling troubadours and even a Poetry Recital but just as I’m thinking this story will turn out to be Much Ado About Nothing you go Richard The Third with ambush, treachery and bloodshed (plus you lose your horse). That said, in two battles you only manage to kill one bandit (ok, and a shur-i-mean throwing disk).

    However, you are too hard on yourself. The text specifically mentions the rest of your elite troop escaping from the town (and your aura of doom) so thats two books in a row where you’ve kept as many alive as possible, Preserver of the Doomed, thats you.

    Btw, I too was a Legend fan, I still find it sweet that Druss was based on his stepdad.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, almost. You could have saved Dyce’s life by “abandoning” the sledge, which unintuitively actually results in him turning around and heading back to the Cardonal with it.

    Although section 350 of Caverns of Kalte says that “you are saddened by your memories of the brave guides that were left behind”, which seems to imply that none of them make it regardless of your choices.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Master.

      However Dyce is a tricky one since there’s more than one way he can survive that crevasse. As for their not surviving? They’re trained in surviving in Kalte!!! That of course raises the question just how they’re trained in surviving in hostile territory but that question was never answered.

      Like

  3. Impressive! (-“Most impressive!”) You wiped out the redshirts in two fell swoops! I realized reading entry that I have apparently never tried the Eshnar route. The route south and via the river is more like “and then they were only four”, slowly whittling down the group.

    In retrospect, I guess the ones who had to take a hike were the lucky ones. (Assuming some of them made it back.)

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

