The Chasm of Doom

The Chasm of Doom, Attempt 1, Part 5

Alright, you might have thought that being alone in a dark mine, with a limited amount of torches, hundreds of miles from home, with only a vague idea of my destination was a great cliffhanger (see what I did there!), but here’s where it REALLY gets interesting!

Aside : How B-movie was that?!  Awesome!

satans-cheerleaders-500x500

Aside : My other favourite B-movie titles include ‘Killer Condom’ and ‘Zombie Strippers’. How can you go wrong, with titles like that??

I reach what is essentially a nexus where tunnels and ramps interconnect to allow me (and others) to reach levels both up and down from where I stand.  Four levels below me, workers (slaves?) push wagons of ore while others stand guard over them with whips and other tools of presumed slavery.

Or this is just a reaaaallly dedicated BDSM community (I warn you not to Google those initials.  Trust me.)

From a practical standpoint, I note that the only way forward is to dash down one of a number of ramps to a lower level, each of which are guarded by (drunk and casual) sentries.

I make my run for it!!

Notwithstanding my bonus for having the skill of Camouflage, my R10 of 0 means that a ‘Drunken Guard’ (also known as the average nightclub bouncer) tries to stop me after I knock his partner off the ramp.

Drunken Guard – CS : 13 E : 29

Lone Wolf – CS : 29, E : 26

Did the audience mention a CS differential of +16?!  I think they did!

Is it truly possible for Flawless Victories to get boring?!

I Think Not GIF - Yeahright GIFs

On his body I find a sword (not a MEGASWORD, so who cares), a couple of meals, 6 Gold Crowns and a Brass Key.  With room in my Backpack for one more item, I snaffle the Brass Key (and the money, naturally), because such an unusually specific item will often come in handy later.

While snaffling these items, another inconvenient guard appears, sees me, and sets off the Magnamund equivalent of a security alarm (by blowing his (war)horn).  Without waiting to confront the (presumably) approaching posse, I nip off down the nearest tunnel.

As I flee down the tunnel, I notice a roof prop that appears to be preventing a tunnel-wide collapse.  I have the option of knocking the prop out (and presumably delaying pursuit) or just carrying on.

I’m a little worried about causing the WHOLE tunnel to collapse, so I elect to rely upon my foot-speed, which can apparently continue for four hours (!!) in order to shake off pursuers.

Before me the path divides in two.  However, since I possess the Kai Disciplines of Tracking and Sixth Sense, I know that the right tunnel is a dead end, so I continue left.

I’m left-handed, by the way.  Coincidence??

683076

Aside : Alan Moore is a genius : Watchmen, V for Vendetta, From Hell, Top 10, Neonomincon, League of Extraordinary Gentlemen etc etc.

In any event, we reach a chamber with an interesting set piece.  There is a wooden bridge, with a sentry standing guard.  Upon seeing us, he races towards a seemingly innocuous rope hanging from the ceiling, leaving the bridge nominally unguarded.

skocjanbridge

I have the option of racing for the bridge, or trying to take out the guard.  Since it seems obvious that the ‘rope’ will open or otherwise sabotage the bridge, taking the path of incapacitating the guard appears to be the clearly preferable option.

I manage to open a wound in the guard’s neck before the combat, giving me a clear advantage :

Wounded Guard : CS : 12, E : 18

Lone Wolf : CS : 29, E : 26

I manage to take out the guard, but do lose 5 Endurance.

No Flawless Victory this time, I’m afraid.

(Endurance : 21)

Sure enough, after my victory, I see that the rope would have served to undercut the bridge, leaving me at worst dead from the fall or else stranded on this side of the chamber.

I dash across the bridge and, with a smug smile on my face, pull the equivalent rope on the other side of the bridge.

Juuust as I was feeling pleased with myself, I discover to my chagrin that the rope on this side of the bridge only serves to shut the portcullis which now blocks my exit.

homer-simpson-d-amp-039-oh_o_4299701

This now actually looks like a challenging fight, with three (3) enemies fighting me one at a time.

Lone Wolf CS : 29, E : 22 (with one Endurance being restored by Healing since the last fight).

Tunnel Guard Leader: CS 20   E 30

Tunnel Guard 1: CS 18   E 26

Tunnel Guard 2: CS 16   E 24

Fight #1 : I win, but Endurance down to 17

Fight #2 : I manage to take out this enemy with no further wounds! (E : 17)

Fight #3 : Another victory, with a small (!?) reduction in Endurance to 15.

And on that victorious note, I wipe my brow and think of another day.

 

 

Base Stats : CS : 17, E : 20, GC 30

Modified Stats : CS : 29, E : 15

Weapons : Sommerswerd (+8 CS), Captain D’Val’s Sword

Backpack : 1 Meal, Laumspur potion (+4E), Holy Water, Brass Key, Tinderbox, 1 Torch, Shovel (2 slots).

Special Items : Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS), Sommerswerd, Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond, Ornate Silver Key, Scroll with Verse (para 84 of tCoD)

Kai Rank : Journeyman

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS)

Final Paragraph : 125

8 thoughts on “The Chasm of Doom, Attempt 1, Part 5

      1. D.R. and Quinch and The Ballad of Halo Jones for 2000 AD. Who else would have time travelling delinquent’s messing with Earth’s past and geology so humans would reach the intergalactic community at the same time Earth’s landmass would spell out a rude message about the head of the committee for welcoming emergent species

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I thought you were joking about the names of those movies. As my sort-of Lawyer I shall heed your advise not to look up the other thing.

    I remember being quite frustrated the first time I saw the slaves as I didn’t think Sommerlund went in for slavery, why the obvious answer didn’t occur to me is irritating. Nice to see you finally unleashing the Sommerswerd on your enemies (and picking up the gold of course) but you’ve had some unlucky rolls. Its all exciting now but I have to go back to work while willing you to write write WRITE!!!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. One of our public television stations (SBS) shows all sorts of weird and wonderful movies late on Saturday nights. Saw both of them while my wife snoozed on the couch barely believing my eyes. Zombie Strippers actually starred Robert Englund – Freddy Krueger himself!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

