The Chasm of Doom

The Chasm of Doom, Attempt 1, Part 7

Alright, after our previous cliffhanger, things get seriously weird.

Well, on a sliding scale based on the events of these books, I suppose I would rather say that things get moderately weird.

As I cower bravely at the bottom of the empty wagon, I spy the enslaved workers trudging past, subject to the demands of the (literal) slave-drivers.

'And this is Mr Whittingstall...He's in charge of compliance.'

Suddenly the wagon in which I’ve decided to skulk gets pushed along the tunnel (!) and a ‘sweat-streaked’ face pokes over the top of and tells me to ‘run left’ when he says “Go!”

Aside : Is this some kind of fever dream?  Some random bystander pushes a seemingly empty wagon down the tunnel, while whispering instructions to the ’empty’ wagon?  No-one in the slave train notices or comments?

seh6p

In any event, the wagon gets wheeled into the sunshine of the open air (yay!) and I can see that all the wagons are being shunted onto a gantry where the track ends above a pile of ore.

Aside #2 : This (to some degree) obviates my queries about the plausibility of this situation.  It seems that ALL of the wagons were conveeeeniently (at this exact time) being wheeled out of the mine.  Still a little skeptical about the set-up.

My strategic question now is whether, following the muttered command to ‘Go!”, to stay where I am, take the voice’s advice and run to the left, or to be contrary and run to the right.

Well… if this nameless guy didn’t have my best interests at heart, he would have simply tattled on my location to the guards, so I guess its a reasonable assumption that he has good intentions towards me.

I dash to the left.  After no immediate outcry, I sprint towards some nearby trees, seemingly unnoticed by the enemy.

I give ‘silent thanks’ to my anonymous helper, and begin craftily moving through the woods.

I don’t know if he qualified as an ‘ally’, since that would automatically mark him for death.

img_1861

I manage to evade the roving bandits in the woods, and eventually reach the edge of the woods, gratefully spying the town of Ruanon across an open plain.

Project Aon link – Sommlending flag

There is both good and bad news, and I note the following :

  • Most of the town has been burned to the ground.
  • There is, however, a rough perimeter which still holds firm against the bandits.
  • Over the centre of town flies the Sommlending flag being, specifically, the crest of the King’s Guard regiment.  (I’m not making another Jaime Lannister joke).

Just as I start thinking I might be about to safely reach some more (expendable) allies, I note three bandits attempting to creep up on me, with their weapons coated with what my Hunting skill enables me to detect is a deadly poison.

Realising that any combat would be foolish, I sprint towards the barricade with all my speed.

Its time to recycle an old favourite :

tumblr_lzx3ahgwqm1qalcu6o1_r1_500

Then, juuuust as I start to get confident, I note that the arrows are starting to fall around me.  Unlike Rickon, I realise that when people are shooting arrows at you, it is ACTUALLY A GOOD IDEA TO DODGE AND WEAVE.

Ahem.

Learning this time not to be overconfident, I am ready for the next obstacle, which turns out to be a pack of Warhouds who spring from the woods and pursue me.

I can continue to run, or turn and fight.

I’m still 500 yards away from the perimeter, and there’s no way I’ll outpace these predators, so I draw my MEGASWORD and prepare for battle!

I manage to take out two Warhounds with one blow, before the one-on-one combat with the survivor.

Lone Wolf : CS : 29, E : 26

Vasssagonian Warhound : CS : 17, E : 25

I am feeling nervous about the fact that if I can’t win within 3 rounds there will be an unknown consequence…

Round 1 : I lose 2 Endurance, the Warhound loses 11

Round 2 : Victory!

I defeat the Warhound and note that a group of archers are showing a particular interest in aiming their arrows AT. MY. HEAD., and therefore keep running.

200 yards to go.

An arrow pierces my leg (no R10 check, just an inevitable (!) part of the story) and I collapse briefly to the ground.

An archer aims his arrow at me and, if my memory is right, he has a 1 in 10 chance of ending my mission RIGHT.  HERE.

….

……

………………..

giphy2

Base Stats : CS : 17, E : 20, GC 38

Modified Stats : CS : 29, E : 26

Weapons : Sommerswerd (+8 CS), Captain D’Val’s Sword

Backpack : 1 Meal, Laumspur potion (+4E), Holy Water, Brass Key, Tinderbox, 1 Torch, Shovel (2 slots).

Special Items : Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS), Sommerswerd, Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond, Ornate Silver Key, Scroll with Verse (para 84 of tCoD)

Kai Rank : Journeyman

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS)

Final Paragraph : 300

5 thoughts on “The Chasm of Doom, Attempt 1, Part 7

  1. If that arrow kills you your next post will be the shortest yet. You’ve also just doubled the amount of Game of Thrones I’ve watched. More worringly, for me, while you describe the above as weird I grew up viewing it as normal (for a war zone that is), ah well, I’m sure we’d all recognise normal if we saw it…. Anyone here see anything normal?😯

    So, so far you’ve ridden a horse, had a sword fight, you’re engaged in a cross country run and there’s archery as well. All you need is a brisk swim and you’ll have the Magnamund version of the penthatlon. Just be sure not to flinch when he shoots you between the eyes…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The unavoidable instant deaths were the most annoying aspect of the Lone Wolf books IMO. I think all of them should have been circumventable with the proper combination of Kai disciplines. The falling mast in Fire on the Water and the arrow dodge here could both have had a 2 point bonus to your Random Number choice if you have Hunting, for example, which would allow “a wise choice of disciplines” in the words of the Kai wisdom at the beginning of the book to enable you to guarantee survival. Especially since Hunting is otherwise not that great of a discipline to have in the Kai series compared to others….being able to to avoid carrying meals is fine and all, but it’s easy enough to just always have a couple with you, and it doesn’t work for large sections of several of the books anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Plague Lords of Ruel is (AFAIK) the worst Lone Wolf as regards unavoidable Instant Deaths. Right at the end of the adventure, you have a 40% chance of an embarrassingly unheroic death (unless you have a specific and, at that stage in the series, unlikely combination of Disciplines, in which case the odds of dying drop to just 10%).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

