The Chasm of Doom

The Chasm of Doom, Attempt 1, Part 11

Aside : I am, as much as possible, going to revert to being light-hearted in these recaps, notwithstanding the tragic passing of the co-creator of the Lone Wolf series.  I apologise in advance if anyone considers that inappropriate, but I consider reading, enjoying and sharing these books with others is the truest possible tribute to the work of Mr Dever.

Aside #2 : I want to acknowledge that a role model of mine, Ed Jolley, has been catching up and commenting (intelligently) on a lot of my older posts.  Ed’s blog is one of those which inspired me to start posting playthroughs of gamebooks, and his page – My Adventures End Here – is awesome.

Check it out.

When we left Lone Wolf, he had just narrowly avoided being trapped (FOREVER…) in a cellar, and was now continuing to move through the enemy-infested forest, hopefully avoiding capture.

I manage to reach the edge of the forest, and spy, across the open land, fields of crops and a small village.

More pressingly, there is a group of bandits strolling idly up the road, with their spears slung idly over their shoulders.

Project Aon link – Bandits

I don’t have an ‘Onyx Medallion’, but I DO have the skill of Camouflage!

943e951aeea951bf790987e9bea36d0c

Using my Kai Discipline, I cunningly hide amongst the crops, allowing the bandits to pass unharmed.  Let’s face it, that’s probably a better result for them then facing my MEGASWORD.

Aside : Sword contest! – Sword of the Rivan King vs. Sorcerak vs. Sommerswerd vs. He-Man’s magic sword vs. Excalibur vs Anduril vs. Starsword (from Blackstar) vs. Connor MacLeod’s katana.  We could have seedings, a play-off and everything!

And if you recognise all those swords, I salute you.

Back to the adventure.

I bypass the village, enter another forest, and use my Hunting skills to catch some game for a Meal.

gallery_22_18027

I don’t have a bow (yet), but just liked the picture, plus the subject was all in green!

I’m now just going to reproduce this AWESOME flavour text for when I reach the ruined city of Maaken :

“The gaunt, weed-infested ruins of this shattered city are spread like a vast graveyard and bathed in the eerie light of a near-full moon. A sound fills the air like the wailing of lost souls; it is the cry of Maakengorge.”

Brrrr!

ruins_by_iidanmrak-d5wmt54

In an optimistic mood, I catch some sleep before my final assault.

[Several hours of surprisingly uninterrupted sleep later]

I wake and then carefully scope out my approach for five (!) hours.  In a sign of perhaps undue superstition, I again place great weight on the vague prophecy recited by, let’s remember, the unnamed fortune-teller in the woods and the half-crazy Baron.  In particular, the line “When the full moon shines o’er the temple deep..” leads me to the ‘inevitable’ (!!) conclusion that the temple is underground, and that therefore there must be an entrance to it!

I’m reminded of the 1966 Batman show, and the seemingly nonsensical deductions made from the Riddler’s clues, such as this classic :

In an event, I spy two possible entrances to the underground – a flight of stairs marble steps and a crypt door guarded by two likely Vassagonian suspects.

Project Aon link – Two Vassagorecnian guards

Unless there is an extremely cunning double-bluff, it seems fair to consider that the guarded door has something absolutely fascinating and / or valuable behind it.  Therefore, it will either have my quest goal, or a safe containing the recipe for Coca-Cola.

In one of the all-time examples of lax security, I see a bunch of horsemen approach the entrance, give the guards the password of ‘Lohn’, and get admitted entry.

Project Aon link – Vine-covered stones

Heck, I’ll try my luck!

giphy

I nonchalantly recite the same password, and my bravado ‘pays off’, although I wouldn’t have succeeded without the bonus from my Camouflage skill.

I walk down a corridor, stairs, yada yada yada, before I get a choice between north and south.

North – A cavern with ‘observation slits’ (yeah, right) carved into the wall.

South – A passage towards a low balcony.

These slits usually drop acid or cheap scotch onto an adventurer’s head, so I rather head for the balcony, hoping to run into Juliet.

Base Stats : CS : 17, E : 20, GC 41

Modified Stats : CS : 29, E : 26

Weapons : Sommerswerd (+8 CS), Sword

Backpack : 2 Meals, Laumspur potion (+4E), Holy Water, Brass Key, Tinderbox, 1 Torch, Rope.

Special Items : Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS), Sommerswerd, Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond, Ornate Silver Key, Scroll with Verse (para 84 of tCoD)

Kai Rank : Journeyman

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS)

Final Paragraph : 100

8 thoughts on “The Chasm of Doom, Attempt 1, Part 11

  1. I haven’t been posting because I’ve been crazy busy this week but have to say that Joe Dever proved by the way he interacted with his fans that he’d have wanted people to remember his death by enjoying playing his books. When my dad died we felt he was honoured by people saying they were going to play the games he made again.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. http://indigo.ie/~odonnllb/linux.html I’m no good at this so I hope that works. Among other things he was responsible for The Anchovy Trilogy namely “Anoraks of Doom”, “The Towers of Saucisse-Notah” and “Pizza Reaction”. They were games based on the old Forgotten Realms Unlimited Adventures platform. Bearing in mind that he died in 2010 and wanted his computer wiped when he died I honestly don’t know if any of his games can still be found on the net. His riddles would include “Insect Clothing”, to which the answer was “Beware”.

        Like

  2. I approve of your seeking to maintain the light-hearted tone. This past couple of days I’ve been giving some thought to what I’ll do once I’m able to resume the playthroughs on my blog, and decided against consciously modifying my approach to Lone Wolf books.

    Criticising where criticism is due gives more weight to the praise, and poking fun at the illogical and inconsistent bits is less confrontational than just drawing attention to them. Conversely, overlooking a book’s flaws is, in some ways, disrespectful to the author, suggesting that they can’t handle honest, non-malicious criticism.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I always wonder why Lone Wolf hides from what looks like 3 bandits, even if there were 4 or 5 he could still take them so why is there never that option. Now if it said a “cadre” or “platoon” I might understand it but a group? Nope.

    To me “The Temple Deep” indicating that the temple was underground always struck me as good logic, it still does but that could be just me falling into old patterns of thinking. However “What has yellow skin and writes”? “A ballpoint banana!” is ….????//// Also I got the impression that Maaken was an old city so taking 5 hours to scope it out isn’t unrealistic. Yes, I AM still arguing the reality of a world with Magic, Helghasts and Wise Kings.

    As for sloppy security, I remember reading of the time during the Nazi occupation of the Netherlands when a group of Jehovah’s Witnesses on bicycles were trying to transport some of their banned literature when suddenly they saw an unexpected checkpoint ahead. Without slowing down the raced towards the checkpoint and yelled out in German “Which way to Amsterdam?”. The soldiers helpfully pointed down the road and yelled back “That Way!” and they cycled past the soldiers and astonished motorists. Efficient security is a myth!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. The stairs may not be a double bluff but they _are_ a trap for newbies (anyone who have not played the entire series). Without the Sommerswerd you are unconditionally dead if you try to take the, seemingly, easy route. Even with the Sommerswerd it will hurt like the dickens (unless you also happen to have a Firesphere, in which case it is the fastest and safest route).

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

