Shadow on the Sand

Shadow on the Sand – Attempt 1, Part 3

Aside : There are times I just don’t want to be a lawyer.  After previously obtaining a Court Order through shady means, the other side today tried to argue in Court that, due to the doctrine of functus officio, the Court didn’t have the power to set aside their own order!!!  The other party is (naturally) one of those characters who is always trying to drag everyone down with him.

Anyway – let’s get back to the life and death struggles of Lone Wolf while he is running through a foreign marketplace – that’ll take my mind off other things!

tumblr_nj0d5cuwq01smcbm7o1_250

Back to Shadow on the Sand where, unlike me, Lone Wolf is actually hesitating before walking into a alcohol-serving establishment.

But wait!

Hold everything!

There is apparently a small dwelling to the left of the tavern, with a sign above the door emblazoned with a fish.  My Healing skill, in addition to magically healing my wounds with every paragraph travelled, tells me that this is the symbol of an order of monks known as the ‘Redeemers’ who devote themselves to prayer, pilgrimage and the healing arts.  Before I explore this refuge, I must admit to myself that this description sounds like one of the most boring career paths I could possibly imagine.

 

cat-computer

 

You said it, kitty.

Leaving my irrational prejudices about the occupation of monks to one side, I enter and move down a corridor towards an indoor fountain (!)  A figure dressed in black emerges and, upon seeing my nervous glance towards the open door, gestures towards a cellar door.

Well, there was no point in trying to hide in here if I wasn’t going to trust the inhabitants. I therefore move towards the offered refuge.

As I hide behind the (locked) cellar door, I can hear that Maouk and his soldiers have somehow (!) realised that I have entered this non-descript building (how, is open to question) and are frantically searching for me.  In the meantime, and in the spirit of gratitude to my benefactor (!), I help myself to some Rope and a Tinderbox that are in the cellar.

As it is only a matter of time before the cellar gets searched, I can prepare for combat or enter what appears to be the sewer through the grille in the floor.

In tribue to Rogue One, which I will be seeing in a few short days, I have to break out this gif again –

tumblr_njvqbssg4s1sl21koo1_500

I resist the urge to sneak through the sewers, and prepare to hold off the enemies (plus I can always flee later….hopefully)

As my foes attempt to rbeak the door down, I seize the initiative and burst through, using the element of surprise to take two down and wound a third.  My third opponent now faces me :

Project Aon link – Sharnazim overlord

Lone Wolf : CS :29, E : 26

Sharnazim Overlord : CS : 18, E : 28

I won’t summarise the whole combat, but suffice to say the ‘Overlord’ is now ‘under’ the [Kai] Lord.

dad-jokes-hallofshame

I regret nothing.

The other underlings step aside, but Maouk appears in the doorway, mutters “I have you now!” and throws a dart at me.

Stop! Foul on the play!  Don’t rip off Star Wars, particularly such an iconic moment!

72227d1354896588t-favorite-thing-do-s-pen-darth-vader-i-have-you-now

In any event, my Hunting skill gives me around a 60% chance of success at this R10 check.

I get a….

natural 9!  even without the Hunting!  I rule!

*Ahem*

I spoke too soon.  After all that concentrated dose of awesome, my only apparent choices are to surrender or flee into the sewer.

No option to continue carving enemies into beef jerky!?  For shame!  Not even the possibility of using a distraction to escape?!

 

f4bbbd2d0b754091af904a4ac332f99b

LEAVE MS DELPY OUT OF THIS!!

 

*Focus*

 

I didn’t come all this way to simply surrender, so sewers it is.  I’m sure there’s no possible way there could be a contagious disease waiting for me, could there?

giphy1

The text helpfully (!) mentions that I have entered the Baga-darooz, or sewers of Barrakeesh, also more colloquially known as ‘the Stink’.  To add injury to insult, the grille falls my on as I slam it shut, doing 1 Endurance damage.

I hasten along the tunnel, as my pursuers being opening the grille and climbing the ladder. Upon reaching a junction, my Tracking skill helpfully informs me that :

  • The right fork heads to the north, where the bulk of the sewage and garbage gets swept off to the coast.
  • The left tunnel heads to the centre of the city, where you would think that there would be openings to reach the surface.
  • The ‘straight ahead’ path leads to the aqueduct, which would be a source of cleaner, less polluted water.

Keen to get out of this filth, I head straight ahead!

 

Base Stats : CS : 17, E : 20, GC 48

Current Stats : CS : 29, E : 26

Weapons : Sommerswerd (+8 CS), Sword

Backpack : 2 Meals, 2 Laumspur potions (+4E), Rope, Tinderbox.

Special Items : Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS), Sommerswerd, Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond, Ornate Silver Key, Dagger of Vashna, Black Sash

Kai Rank : Savant

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield

Paragraph : 13

7 thoughts on “Shadow on the Sand – Attempt 1, Part 3

  1. Aside: Fair warning, this post is NOT about the game, that will be the next post. Aye Timothy, I think most jobs have times when our shoulders slump, our hands flop down, our knees bend and, in my case, the stomach flops out and we want more chocolate.

    As the head of the Online customer support team of one of our main mobile companies recently complained to me: “I get everything working fine for a while and then management goes and messes it up again’. For the record, when you work in a large organization its either the higher management who mess up your life and you have to plead with your more immediate managers for support … or its your more immediate managers who mess things up and you look for a colleague who will listen and understand (good luck). Rival companies are NEVER your enemy.

    Chris Crawford (designer of “Balance of Power” in the 80’s) put it better than I can remember but basically in the Real World we don’t get to have our foes lying bloodied, beaten and broken at our feet. Instead life consists of pushing and being pushed, sometimes having small victories, sometimes defeats, but always its followed by more jostling. That’s part of the appeal of games, except even in WOTT three tenths of your city still worship Nemesis, the Rift still festers to the east and ALL the enemy organizations are still around, Feeble Yay! (Spoiler: And Vassagonia remains an evil land to the end).

    Put it another way. We used to have a Personnel Manager known as The Wicked Witch who delighted in causing problems for people. I remember one time she was after me watching her rabbit on and wondering why it was that with countries like Syria literally collapsing on our TV screens people who weren’t in those countries weren’t grateful they weren’t there and doing what they could to help keep things together here. Then I realized that many people around us would be quite happy to go loose like in Syria, its just their confined as to just how much they can get away with now … usually.

    Sorry Tim, we can express our sympathy and understand but none of us can say anything to make you feel better at times like this. I can only repeat what you already know:
    1) You’re the one who’s making it harder for him to pull others down
    2) Whatever the Judge’s decide you’re still using this to feed and care for your beautiful wife and wonderful children
    3) Hawks are probably going to win the next league.

    Good luck and my next post will only be about the game.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Um … misapplied colloquialism … have just looked it up and like “inconceivable” in Princess Bride it doesn’t mean quite what I think it meant. I was meaning to go on in an illogical and often lying manner. If I thought that her accusations against me were genuine I would not have been so annoyed at her. She really was just out to cause people trouble. When she left (was pushed out) staff were singing “Ding Dong The Witch is Dead” for weeks. As an example she gave me a verbal warning for being off sick with a back injury, she made it clear she didn’t doubt I’d been sick, I was just getting the warning for being sick. The reason it was a verbal warning was that if I tried to appeal it by the time it reached the Labour Court (our form of workplace resolution) it would have expired and the Court would have refused to consider the merits of the case. She had much worse names that I won’t use about a woman.

        But when I reexamine the phraseology I do wish I could edit my posts (Fenrir cringes while muttering from The Far Side “Wonderful! Just Wonderful… So much for instilling them with a sense of Awe!”).

        No, I still don’t know how to do that right either.

        Like

  2. Most importantly that’s some photo of Ms Julie Delpy. My only problem with her is that one of her movies names calls for killing a very dear relative of mine, rather like you’re sitting down to watch a movie called “Crush Christina”. Otherwise …. woah!!!!!!

    Several minutes later…

    Ahem! Yes, um, the stuff you actually wrote! Given a choice between a drinking house and a monastery/hospital you went for the monastery????? What’s happening to you man??? Ok, so Lone Wolf technically lives in a monastery himself but not only does that not make him a monk but it also doesn’t mean he’d want to go to another one. (Meeting of Monasteryolic’s Anonymous: “Hello Everyone one, My name is Lone Wolf, its being 46 days since I was last in a Monastery”).

    The ONLY thing I can say in defense of the Redeemer’s career choice is that at least their pilgrimages mean they get to travel a lot without having to fight anyone (and they did give you a cool victory in Chasm). Well, yes, my cult does technically use monasteries as national headquarters around the world, but that’s only a legal technicality … plus ours are way cooler … and have women too… finding himself in Quicksand Fenrir declares “I’ll just move on”.

    Maouk had something even more powerful that a tracking devise to find Lone Wolf, he had the Story’s Narrative!!!! And since your benefactors obviously wanted to help you escape you’re taking everything not nailed down doesn’t count as stealing. I was invited to see Rogue One tomorrow, Friday morning, (ironically by the head of the above Online customer support team) but I start work 45 minutes after it starts, I have never been so tempted to ring in sick as I am now. Trust you’ll enjoy it.

    As you’ve already seen the Sharnazim murder an abusive shopkeeper (all my workmates would agree that that was a hideous crime … unless he was a manager…) its good to see you finally get to have some of your foes at your feet bloodied, beaten and broken. Maybe this will start a trend?

    So much for a clean getaway. I honestly can’t remember where the different routes lead, but I can tell you that its appropriate that this month I’m offering the Awake entitled “Disease How to Reduce the Risk”… but I admit it says nothing about Vassagonian sewers, an oversight.

    This is exciting, I’ve NO idea what’s going to happen next (but I predict it will be messy). Enjoy Rogue One.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When I played Shadow on the Sand for my blog, I went for the monastery as well, to reduce the risk to bystanders – it seemed likely that members of a silent order were less likely than tavern clientele to insult my pursuers and get themselves killed like that market stallholder.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

