Shadow on the Sand

Shadow on the Sand- Attempt 1, Part 4

Welcome to the world of the glorious hero Lone Wolf as he…..struggles to wade through a sewer while fleeing for his life from soldiers of an unfriendly kingdom.

Just another day ending in ‘y’, really.

As I hasten forward, I can’t help but notice the hideous smell, the cockroaches, the filth and debris…Essentially it sounds indistinguishable from the room of most teenage boys.

And then I hear the slither of scales over stone..I KNEW that urban legend about alligators being flushed down toilets and growing to adulthood was true!

gator2

Before I get swept up in conspiracy theories, my Animal Kinship skill (useful twice in one adventure???  Wow!) :

  1. Confirms that this creature (which is now crawling along the ceiling) is a ‘Kwarz’ (but probably NOT a Kwisatz Haderach).
  2. Allows me to ‘persuade’ the creature to keep on going right past me and casually surprise my pursuers.  A scream behind me shows that the ensuing encounter went poorly for at least one pursuer.

d3f2cb8456adfe7894482cfe26f21837

I push on and reach another junction.  Sixth Sense is the appropriate Kai Discipline here (and not Tracking, oddly enough) and it tells me that the north tunnel almost definitely contains a Kwarz lair, and that I should choose a different path.  I therefore opt to continue west (hopefully) towards the aqueduct (and fresh water).

Aside : No choice to leave a suitable clue or piece of clothing to try and get Maouk et al to travel down the north tunnel towards a suitably hostile reception.  .

giphy2,

Thankfully the water gradually becomes less disgusting and the sounds of pursuit fades. The other shoes then drops, literally, as I catch my foot on a rusty suit of armour on the floor.

I fall over (some agile warrior monk I am!) and am temporarily submerged in the fetid and rank slime.  As I clamber up onto a narrow walkway I notice that my arm (already stinging from the falling grille) has grown numb, unresponsive and useless from below my shoulder.

That’s……not good, right?

tumblr_lf3qgdbesa1qcau8d

I’ve apparently contracted the literally-named Limbdeath, which is apparently exactly what it says on the metaphorical tin.

My arm is gangrenous will need to be amputated unless I can treat it with the herb Oede within….

Twenty.

Four.

Hours.

For my arm….

 

 

giphy3

 

That is SO going to be stuck in your head for the next few hours.

 

You can thank me later.

On a practical level, the affected limb is my non-weapon arm (which for me means my right arm) but it does have the consequence that I can no longer use my shield (although I’m going to make an executive decision that I can carry it on my back for the time being) and I also lose 3 from my Combat Skill.

Ouch.

I have at least seemingly shaken off my pursuers, so maybe they did get eaten by giant lizards after all.

One can hope.

The temperature of the tunnel rises as I continue, before I emerge into a larger room with a bubbling mud geyser.  These are apparently quite common, and are here being used to provide heat to the dwellings directly above.

There are two chimneys rising from the room, and they comprise the only exits.

I quickly attempt to crawl up the left chimney, and the scalding steam causes a loss of 1 Endurance as it fills my lungs.  That’s nothing compared to the nest of spiders which I disturb on my way up.

Project Aon link – Steamspiders

Since (with one arm out of action) I can’t fight them without losing my grip, I have to simply grit my teeth and endure bites to the tune of 9 (!!!) Endurance as I scarper past.

 

must-resist-pain_o_98714

 

The chimney gradually curves to become a horizontal corridor, and the agony of the steam is lessened.  I force my way through a grille at the end, and am gratified that I have finally been the beneficiary of a bit of luck.

In other words, I’ve emerged into the public baths.

I quickly head towards the general public entrance, and the short-sighted receptionist doesn’t notice my foreign features, but rather waves me past, commenting that my smell is apparently so horrendous (!) that I should continue wearing my clothes as I bathe.

Project Aon link – Elderly bath attendant

I’m sure that’ll go  down wonderfully with my fellow bathers.

Luckily, individual bath chambers are available, and as I quickly skulk into one, my Healing Discipline identifies a handy jarful of Larnuma, which has a healing effect when rubbed into the skin.

This treatment restores 2 Endurance, and these combat-less paragraphs are also allowing my Healing skill to do its work.

I finish bathing, keep the Towel and enter the public hall, which I assume will be full of conversation and gossip.

gossip1

 

Base Stats : CS : 17, E : 20, GC 48

Current Stats : CS : 24(-3 for Limbdeath), E : 22

Weapons : Sommerswerd (+8 CS), Sword

Backpack : 2 Meals, 2 Laumspur potions (+4E), Rope, Tinderbox, Towel (2 spaces)

Special Items : Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS – CURRENTLY UNUSABLE), Sommerswerd, Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond, Ornate Silver Key, Dagger of Vashna, Black Sash

Kai Rank : Savant

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield

Paragraph : 54

6 thoughts on “Shadow on the Sand- Attempt 1, Part 4

  1. So you temporarily go from Captain Blood to Buster Keaton.😈

    I really wanted to argue the toss on the Sewer Gators but you can’t beat the fact that no Union official has used Gator infestation as an arguement for a pay rise😢.

    From a medical point of view I’m fascinated by the speed with which Limbdeath is able to immobilise your arm compared to the time it then takes to kill you. I’m sure there’s a rational scientific explanation.

    Great innoculation photo btw, I remember when our son, as a baby, was getting his innoculations he would first cry and then turn to GLARE at the evil people who had just hurt him, I was ridiculously proud of him for that. As for the Steamspiders, with my arachnophobia I thank you for just rushing past that bit.

    Finally all foreign holidays have to have a scene in a bath house steam room, at least you don’t go “Oops, I’ve dropped my towel”.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

