Shadow on the Sand

Shadow on the Sand – Attempt 1, Part 7

The second half of the adventure commences!

To remind those who had too much eggnog at Christmas, I had just heard the evil Zakhan Kimah and one of those charming Darklords discussing their evil plans, including the fact that the Book of the Magnakai was secreted in a local tomb!

We begin Part 2 of this adventure in media res, as, after eavesdropping on the good and the bad news from the Zakhan / Darklord combo, I notice a couple of enemy mooks creeping towards me from a corridor to my right.

Their appearance and armour indicate that they are Drakkarim, who are ‘evil men’ in the service of the Darklords (stormtroopers, if you will).

Aside : My favourite joke as a 5-year old : Q : What holds up a train?  A: Bad men.

Heh.

One of the Drakkarim also has a pet ‘Akataz’ (or war-dog) on a leash.  Hopefully (but doubtfully) it looks like this :

1bnaxs

As they see that I’ve noticed them, the Akataz is released to then immediately leap AT MY FACE.

I can fight or run.  Since running would presumably mean the vicious dog simply leaping on my unguarded back, I see if I can take it out quickly.

I manage to (intentionally, I swear) fall backwards, suffer a slight wound (1 Endurance) but also successfully throw the mutt over the stairs and down to the marble floor, cutting off its annoying barking forever.

No, I’m not an animal lover, why do you ask?

At any rate, the Drakkarim close for battle, and I have to face them both as one enemy :

Drakkarim : CS : 18. E : 35

Lone Wolf : CS 29, E : 25

In what I assume is a mighty strike, my +11 CS differential is enough to take them both out with one blow!

sword__r137736741

Just as I’m starting to get over-confident, a bolt of blue lightning (!) streaks from the Darklord’s clenched fist AT MY HEAD.  I duck behind the convenient beheaded corpse of one of the Drakkarim, which is then promptly incinerated.

Aside : The greatest ever headline about a decapitated body was a famous one from the New York Post, after a headless body was found at a strip club :

bestnewspaperheadlineheadlessbodyintoplessbar

Still makes me chuckle, 30 years later.

Back to my attempt to escape near-certain death.

I flee down the nearest hall, followed by bolts of lightning, along with decidedly unfriendly calls from the Zakhan for his soldiers to seize and kill me.

Two thoughts race through my mind :

  1. If only there was a convenient statue to hide behind!
  2. Now that its obvious that I’m actually not in custody, I’m thinking the Zakhan may be rather desperately attempting to ensure that his deal with the Darklord doesn’t get ‘renegotiated’…. if you know what I mean.

I have a choice between an arch and a staircase (with the latter leading up).  As every film-watcher knows, one of the basic rules of horror-movie chase scenes is that heading UP the staircase can only lead to you being trapped.  So the archway it is.

In a moment unworthy of a highly-skilled warrior-monk I promptly run straight into an unsuspecting guard.

'No problem -- instead of thinking of yourself as a klutz, think of yourself as a performance artist!'

I do manage to knock him off his feet (while preventing my own fall, but he does manage to promptly take a swipe from below at my legs with his axe.

My Hunting skill increases my chance to dodge, but to no avail, as my R10 check is a lousy 2.

This causes three Endurance points damage, although in a classic over-the-top act of retribution, I immediately shatter the guard’s hand, knocking the infringing axe to the ground.

I continue to flee, and am confronted with another choice.

But I must leave you there, as this (slightly) shorter entry is interrupted by the continuation of the Christmas season.

Base Stats : CS : 17, E : 20, GC 48

Current Stats : CS : 29, E : 23

Weapons : Sommerswerd (+8 CS), Sword

Backpack : 1 Meal, 2 Laumspur potions (+4E), Rope, Tinderbox, Towel (2 spaces), Oede (+10E)

Special Items : Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS), Sommerswerd, Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond, Ornate Silver Key, Dagger of Vashna, Black Sash

Kai Rank : Savant

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield

Paragraph : 368

One thought on “Shadow on the Sand – Attempt 1, Part 7

  1. In the previous installment you killed a poor little puddy cat and in this one its the poor little puppy dog who falls to his doom. PETA’s going to be after you for this.

    The other thing that gets me with with that front page is that “Senate okays Prez pick for arms controls” is accompanied by a man with his arms being controlled. Apologies if you already know but another famous headline of theirs was when a Wall Street Trader was convicted they said “CELL CELL CELL”.

    I keep telling my son that blowing up when you’ve no power just makes your situation worse, I may use that video to make the point. “Why aren’t you riding the unicycle Merry?”

    And yes, your adventures would make hilarious Youtube videos, but while you no longer qualify as Kwai Chan Caine, you could still pass as Jackie Chan!☺

    And while you continue to toil under the oppressive Christmas season remind yourself that retail staff only get one or two days off max! It should give you a laugh 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

