Shadow on the Sand · Uncategorized

Shadow on the Sand – Attempt 1, Part 8

carrie-fisher-d54648ab-445c-4b53-adb3-4e99365bd04f

 

Aside : As those who follow my Twitter feed know, Carrie Fisher has died.  I like so many others first discovered her through Star Wars, but her entire career of writing and performing encompassed so much more.  It is important to remember her as she wanted to be remembered, so I quote her thus :

c0tgrr4uuaak_ic

Goodbye, Ms Fisher.  You were awesome.

As Lone Wolf dashes away from a guard with shattered fingers (the guard’s fingers, not Lone Wolf’s), I can choose between a bridge that rises over an enclosed garden and connects with a narrow tower, or alternatively a narrow staircase leading down into said garden.

I am getting nervous by the common indicators that both paths may possibly leave me with no escape route, what with the reference to an ‘enclosed’ garden, and a bridge leading to the upper storey of a ‘narrow tower’.

In the hope that the tower has stairs leading down to an external exit, I try that route.

Sure enough, once I reach the tower, I see spiral stairs leading both up and down from my present level.  Less promisingly, I hear a bunch of Drakkarim soldiers dashing across the bridge towards my current location.

Aside : I can’t think of chase scenes without remembering this classic :

89bd1997cad4a5718976272c4d8762de

My Sixth Sense (usually) comes through in a crisis, and here it lets me know that two enemy guards are racing up the stairs from below.  Interestingly, the book automatically decides for me that I’m therefore going to race UP the stairs.

Interesting (and by ‘interesting’, I mean ‘baffling’) decision.  Wouldn’t it be preferable for Lone Wolf to dash downstairs, take out the two guards with a couple of well-timed sword swipes and escape into the city?

As I foreshadowed a couple of paragraphs ago, dashing up the stairs simply leads to me being trapped by the enemies converging from the bridge and the ground floor.

What was that, Dr House?

shrug-house

In any event, once I reach the top of the stairs I am, as expected, effectively trapped.  I note a large kettledrum, presumably used for sending messages, and shove it down the steps.  It effectively scatters the Drakkarim, but I know I have only achieved a temporary respite.

Thinking quickly, I tie my Rope to the top of the tower and attempt to shimmy down as quickly as possibly.

My descent is not quick enough, as a couple of Drakkarim reach the top of the tower and, without so much as a by-your-leave, cut through the rope, leaving me to fall to the unwelcoming ground far below.

My R10 check is a…….1.

That can’t be good.

Sure enough, this result means that Lone Wolf falls from a great height into a tree, and my bloodied and broken body is discovered by the Drakkarim after bleeding to death.

 

After this incarnation of Lone Wolf has survived books 1-4, you can now add another name to the list of casualties of 2016.

 

 

 

Base Stats : CS : 17, E : 20, GC 48

Current Stats : CS : 29, E : 0

Weapons : Sommerswerd (+8 CS), Sword

Backpack : 1 Meal, 2 Laumspur potions (+4E), Rope, Tinderbox, Towel (2 spaces), Oede (+10E)

Special Items : Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS), Sommerswerd, Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond, Ornate Silver Key, Dagger of Vashna, Black Sash

Kai Rank : Savant

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield

Paragraph : 293

 

4 thoughts on “Shadow on the Sand – Attempt 1, Part 8

  1. Counterintuitively, the correct decision is to ignore the barrel, which forces you to stand and fight, and with your MEGASWORD that wouldn’t have been a problem. Either that, or on the next section you could choose to not use your rope to escape (though the text only says you have that option if you don’t have a rope….I would argue it should allow you to use your discretion even if you have one to not use it).

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This is one of the more railroady books in the series. There’s only one way you can escape from the Palace, and, as with the library/apothecary choice I mentioned before, the most sensible-looking choice is not the best one.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

