Shadow on the Sand

Shadow on the Sand – Attempt 2, Part 2

You know how children react when they first enter the chocolate room at the Wonka factory?

If you don’t, here’s a reminder :

That’s EXACTLY how Kai warrior-monks react when they gain access to an armoury in an enemy castle.

I first snoop inside a book resting on the counter, which turns out to be a log for the armoury.

Project Aon link – Log-book

After skimming through the minutiae regarding life in Vassagonia, I manage to discover a folded piece of parchment in the spine referencing ‘The Bronze Door’ with a stated reference number of ’67’.

Iiiiinteresting.

mmmmm

There’s also a key to the Warlock’s chest with the number ‘111’ attached, but before I can take it, I realise I’m reading the wrong book.

I conduct a crude but effective search of the armoury (and by ‘crude’, I believe the word ‘smashing’ is used in a destructive sense) but don’t find my missing equipment or any other goodies.

I do discover an adjacent antechamber with steps leading upwards to a door, with an interestingly closed chest standing next to it (the door).

In the hope of retrieving my MEGASWORD, I elect to check out the chest.

ae0f5ba3874ba65b8950ed712e3de01f

NOT JULIE DELPY’S CHEST, GET YOUR MIND OUT OF THE GUTTER.

I do exhibit a pleasing amount of caution, and use a handy nearby wooden ladle to open the (unlocked) chest and discover that it is not ‘trapped’ in the traditional sense of the word, but rather that a snake (!). known as a Yas, sits atop a cache of jewelled maces.

I, naturally, attack the snake which then attempts to hypnotise me (!) as we begin our battle.

Shades of Kaa, anyone?

Luckily, my Mindshield Discipline, for once, comes in handy in resisting the entrancement.

giphy

Yas – CS : 14, E : 28

Lone Wolf – CS : 19, E : 20

I manage to finish off the snake for the loss of 3 Endurance.

I grab both a Jewelled Mace and also a Copper Key which is located in the base of the chest.

I open the nearby door and, thankfully, discover a mother lode of displayed goodies including, to my relief, a drawer which contains all (!!) of my looted equipment.

Because I’m a sucker for danger, I decide to quickly search the chamber for any other loot.

I snaffle three items which may come in handy – a Prism, an Hourglass and a Silver Comb.  Absent any other information I’ll treat them as backpack items, or otherwise they can simply be called :

mt8bvvrp

I then nip out the door, down the passage, and stop momentarily at a door with bronze plaques and bronze nails (!) I recall the fragment of information which I previously discovered, and turn the numbered combination lock to 67.

The door thankfully opens and, after a description, I note that I have entered the same arboreum that my predecessor discovered in the depths of the palace.

I am relieved to find that I’m directed to section 200, where I once more eavesdrop on the conversation between the Zakhan and the Darklord.

As we’re covering old ground, I’ll just quickly throw in a few bullet points :

  • I confront the Drakkarim, and throw their war-dog over the bannister to a grisly death on the floor below.
  • I fight the Drakkarim (CS : 18, E : 35) and end up with an Endurance of 22.
  • I dash through the arch and once more upend the guard.  This time I avoid his attempt to slash at my legs and smash his hand before continuing.
  • I sprint over the bridge to the narrow tower, realise the enemy soldiers are climbing the stairs and (!!) dash up the stairs to the top.
  • Remembering the problems caused by pushing the drum down the stairs, I restrain myself from doing so.

While considering my other options, the two Drakkarim burst out from the door at the top of the tower.

Lone Wolf – CS : 29, E : 26

Drakkarim – CS : 17, E : 35

I take them out without suffering a scratch, and without having to evade combat by jumping off the edge of the tower (!)

I take the opportunity of dashing down the tower stairs into the guardroom at the base of the tower.  I see a canteen of water, which I grab, what with being in the desert and all.

il_570xn-716897114_7wge

I hear further guards and soldiers thundering over the bridge from the palace and, from there, down the stairs.

Standing and fighting is only going to allow more soldiers to come as reinforcements, so I decide that discretion is by far the better part of valour.  I therefore exit, stage left, through the heavy wooden door in the wall.

And there, my friends, I leave you.

Base Stats : CS : 17, E : 20, GC 50

Modified Stats : CS : 29, E : 26

Weapons : Sword, Sommerswerd (+8 CS)

Backpack : 2 Meals, 2 Laumspur potions (+4E), Prism, Hourglass, Silver Comb, Canteen of Water

Special Items : Gaoler’s Keys, Jewelled Mace, Copper Key, Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS), Sommerswerd, Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond, Ornate Silver Key, Dagger of Vashna

Kai Rank : Savant

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield

Paragraph : 246

7 thoughts on “Shadow on the Sand – Attempt 2, Part 2

  1. “Screw the life of a warrior monk, cool as it sounds. I’m taking this cache of jewelled maces and retiring to the tropical part of Sommerlund!”, Adult Me would think. Though I’d remember my responsibility to save my people and future generations from a terrible fate. Child Me wouldn’t worry about that as much; the adventure was enough to keep me going.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. There are no tropical parts of Sommerlund. There are tropical parts of Magnamund .. but they’re not that safe either. Plus you’ld have the problem of selling the Jewelled Mace’s, know any trustworthy fences? Not to mention getting that much weight and bulk (average length of medieval footsoldiers mace was two to three feet, do you have a golf bag with you?) out of the Zakhan’s palace.

      Other problem is cost of living. Lone Wolf usually has his bills paid for him but a coach ticket from Ragadorn to Port Bax alone cost 20 gold pieces and that didn’t include all your bread and board. So a few thousand gold crowns probably wouldn’t last that long for a young virile man.

      Sorry but harsh realities are harsh realities.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. If Willy Wonka was between Loot and Kai Lords, or any RPG’ers for that matter, he’d be trampled on. Ah yes, I do so remember the happiness of coming across verifiable LOOT. Did you ever play Torment? One race wanted to understand the allure of the Dungeoncrawl so they’d make random dungeons with generic “monsters” and worthless baubles entitled “Treasure”, as a game within a game it carried the risk of being addictive. Btw, my son is watching Willy Wonka eev as I type.

    Nice WOFM reference. Nice picture also… Nice also to see you continue to collect for Lone Wolf’s pension fund (or his bar tab).

    While in the previous incarnation you killed a poor liddle puddy cat and a Drakkarim’s pet dog today you killed a Kaa wannabe and the dog. PETA will still be after you and they may have an original Man-cub on their side.

    We leave you trapped in an arboreum where you previously died, my next visit to the Botanic Gardens will not feel the same. Good luck, I can’t remember how to survive here either.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

