Shadow on the Sand

Shadow on the Sand – Attempt 2, Part 4

As my temporary mount (a giant bird, for those who haven’t been following along) takes off, it manages to scatter a number of my Drakkarim pursuers.  One Drakkar even manages to take a tumble off the elevated area, presumably to his death (pending his own personal R10 check).

 

Project Aon link – falling Drakkar

 

I assume there is an accompanying forlorn Wilhelm scream.

 

I steer my trusty (as in ‘have ridden it for thirty seconds’) mount over the city wall and towards Lake Inrahim.  In a deplorable act of tempting fate, I ‘throw back my head’ and give a ‘triumphant yell’.

Since this is a work of fiction, this terrible idea immediately (and I mean IMMEDIATELY) precipitates trouble. Namely, a flock of Kraan, the pterodactyl-esque servants of my enemies, each carrying a Drakkar soldier on their back.  They are less than a mile away, and closing quickly.

I am invited to review the map of the local area before making a decision on whether to steer my trusty bird south towards the mountains or east towards the town of Chula.

Given that I’m trying to evade my pursuers, and ignoring the possibility of a late skiiing season in the mountains, I decide that I’d have a better chance of concealing myself in a town, so I head east.

Aside : I’m assuming the distinctive green cloak will be discarded or stowed away at some point.

As I get closer, I see both a group of Kraan approaching from my flank, along with one pursuer who has gained enough ground to put a crossbow bolt through the wing of my mount.

giphy1

As we fly at each other, we have to fight one airborne round of combat.

Drakkar Rider – CS : 20, E : 28

Lone Wolf – CS : 29, E : 26

I land a single blow which manages to wound the Kraan enough that it drops rapidly, presumably dooming its rider.

tumblr_m6zen6t2mx1romh6ko1_500

My mount keeps fading, what with being seriously wounded and carrying me and my full backpack / plethora of Special Items,  and I’m starting to think that I’m at a the bad end of a breathtaking cliffhanger.

However, in a sudden reversal of fortune, I now spot in the distance a small flying ship (!!) and I recognise, at the centre of the deck, Banedon, the young magician who I met way back near the start of Book 1!

It looks like he might have risen up in the world since we last met.

Heh.

giphy2

Juuust as I’m starting to think that events are finally (slightly) going my way, my much-beleaguered mount finally expires and throws me into mid-air.

Gulp.  I have to make an R10 check and, if I know my Joe Dever, there is a possibility of an insta-death.

Just as I am preparing for yet another death from falling from a great height, I am caught in mid-air by a ‘mass of sticky fibres’, which snares me like a ‘fly in a web’.

There can only be one person responsible for this :

 

f56a4903593e5518921dacfa685a106b1fd75c72_hq

 
Well, that or  :

039

 

 

Or maybe :

 

ee176f853333c0e54a752c5444597f0b_xl

 

Alright, there are several suspects, but you GET THE IDEA.

 

After all that, the correct answer is actually ‘D – none of the above’.

It is rather three dwarfs (!) who have fired this mechanism and now drag me on board the flying ship.

There is no time for thanks, what with the hostile boarders attacking from all angles.  I quickly rush to the aid of one dwarf, who is being attacked by a Drakkar.

The Drakkar throws the Dwarf clean off the ship meaning that the objective of my attack seemingly becomes one of vengeance rather than rescue.

Drakkar – CS : 18, E : 25

Lone Wolf : CS 29, E : 26

I avenge the poor dwarf, at the cost of 3 Endurance.  To add some poetic irony to the result, I make sure to toss the Drakkar off the ship.

However, I now see that the Dwarf is not dead, but is rather unconscious, snagged in the netting below the outrigger boards of the ship.

I climb up onto the main platform, to note that Banedon is getting the worst of a struggle with yet another Drakkar.  This likely fellow turns his black scimitar towards me.

I finish him off in 2 rounds, although now reduced to 22 Endurance.

No rest for the wicked as another Kraan rider looses a crossbow bolt AT MY HEAD.

Banedon has now recovered sufficiently to cast a suitable spell which provides a magical shield.  I then assist him back to the controls of this flying contraption, while noting that he now wears the robes of a Journeymaster (which presumably trumps a ‘Journeyman’).

As he reaches the controls there is a loud….

stock-vector-kaboom-wording-in-comic-speech-bubble-in-pop-art-style-on-burst-background-223207477

Hmmmm…..

 

 

 

Base Stats : CS : 17, E : 24, GC 50

Modified Stats : CS : 29, E : 26

Weapons : Sword, Sommerswerd (+8 CS)

Backpack : 2 Meals, 2 Laumspur potions (+4E), Prism, Hourglass, Silver Comb, Canteen of Water

Special Items : Gaoler’s Keys, Jewelled Mace, Copper Key, Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS), Sommerswerd, Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond, Ornate Silver Key, Dagger of Vashna, Brass Whistle

Kai Rank : Savant

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield

Paragraph : 399

6 thoughts on “Shadow on the Sand – Attempt 2, Part 4

  1. I have to make an R10 check and, if I know my Joe Dever, there is a possibility of an insta-death.

    There was. Funnily enough, I don’t remember encountering it on any of my attempts at the book, whereas the equally likely falling mast in FotW and Vassagonian sniper in TCoD both achieved quite a few kills along the way.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Since this is a work of fiction it immediately. .. brings trouble”??? Excuse me? Fiction? Weren’t you paying attention in 2016?

    “Going up in the world”, indeed, I shall be stealing that sometime.

    Suggesting the sticky webs came from a member of the (growing) spider clan ignores that spider people require radioactive spiders which in turn require a technological age and, in contrast with the novels, Joe Dever said there would be no technological age in Magnamund. I’d still like to see a Peter Parker/Lone Wolf crossover though, I think Spidey would be bemused at Lone Wolf’s terror of D10 rolls, until Lone Wolf’s neck is broken by a fall coming to a sudden halt in Spidey’s web, then he’d have something else to be guilt stricken over.

    When Lone Wolf is caught in the net am I the only one who thought of “Goldilocks and the three Dwarfs.” Tumbleweed drifts down the street….moving on…

    Another fabulous fight, going back to the Captain Blood theme at the star of the book, only in the air. Who will survive the explosion?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Suggesting the sticky webs came from a member of the (growing) spider clan ignores that spider people require radioactive spiders which in turn require a technological age

      I disagree. The effects of the Doomstone in The Caverns of Kalte are practically indistinguishable from radioactivity. Indeed, section 239 specifically refers to the Doomstone’s ‘radiations’ causing sickness and death. It need only take one demented magician experimenting with Doomstones and Steamspiders, and Magnamund could easily wind up with its own equivalent of Peter Parker.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Hmm, point that. Lord Zahda(?) in Castle Death was doing precisely that with a Doomstone and a Lorestone. Would need a bit of a backstory for Peter Parker to be able to escape wherever this was but there’s enough dead (as distinct from Undead) warlock fortresses scattered across Mangamund to allow for that. Maybe he’ll set up a realm called Spiderlund? … As tumbleweed drifts down the street Fenrir agree’s not to try any more jokes this weekend…

        Like

Leave a Reply

