Shadow on the Sand

Shadow on the Sand – Attempt 2, Part 9

And as many of you would no doubt have guessed, the reveal of my final obstacle is not, as some may have hoped, a femme fatale, but rather the (musical sting!) Darklord, now explicitly named as ‘Haakon, Lord of Aarnak’.

How I now know the name and title (!) of the Darklord can, I guess, be chalked up to those studies where Silent Wolf was apparently more attentive than others may have realised….

 

final_boss_halo_3_gaming_mlg_games_hd-wallpaper-314179

In a preliminary display of arrogance, Haakon’s ‘spiked’ fist opens, revealing a glowing blue stone.  After I hear the guttural sounds of a foreign language, Haakon stops Monologuing and speaks in Sommlending, asking me to “Look upon [my] doom!”

More importantly, a bolt of blue flame shoots from the gemstone….

and where do you think it is headed?

That’s right.

AT.

MY.

HEAD.

Do I have the Sommerswerd?  Why yes, I do.  The Sommerswerd comes through in the clinch and deflects the bolt of flame like so :

 

Interestingly, the impact of the bolt jars the Sommerswerd from my hands and, kicking up a cloud of dust as it does so, the Sommerswerd embeds itself in a nearby pillar.

I can either go for my MEGASWORD, try to hide in the dust (!) or remain where I am.  I can’t see how hiding will do anything more than buy me a few seconds, and remaining where I am seems to a a recipe for a second bolt of lightning.

I go for the MEGASWORD!

I manage to grab the sword, but lose 3 Endurance points (down to 23) as another blast shatters the pillar where it had been embedded.

Luckily, my Kai Discipline of Mindshield protects me from the Darklord’s follow-up mental attack.

Just as I thought we were getting to the mano-et-Darklordo portion of proceedings, Haakon sends out a black mist from his mouth (!!) which settles in his hand before becoming some dark malevolent creature full of wings, claws and teeth.

 

what-the-what

 

I now have to fight this  monstrosity.

Project Aon link – Crypt Spawn (and seriously – its an AWESOME picture)

Crypt Spawn – CS : 24, E : 40 (!)

Lone Wolf – CS : 29, E : 23

I won’t do the round-by-round, but I defeat the evil creation, at the cost of my Endurance being reduced to 14.

I wipe my brow, confident that, just as in Book 2, the Sommerswerd will do its thing and vanquish Haakon without further input from me.

To my (character’s) horror, I realise that the Sommerswerd won’t, in fact, ‘do its thing’ because, being underground, we are without the sun’s rays to ‘charge up’.

Project Aon link – Sommerswerd

Oh well.

What did you say, Rock?

4q4wl

I take the opportunity of quickly quaffing my Laumspur potion and Bottle of (invigorating) Kourshah, restoring my Endurance back to 22

Darklord Haakon – CS : 28, E : 45

Lone Wolf – CS : 29, E : 22

(Luckily, my skill of Mindshield prevents the Darklord’s attempted drain on my Combat Skill)

Let’s go!

(With the below giving Endurance remaining after each round)

Round 1 : LW : 22, DH : 31 (which means I got an 0, the best possible start!)

Round 2 : LW : 22, DH : 20 (!!)

Round 3 : LW : 18, DH : 15

Round 4 : LW : 18, DH : 1 (!!)

Round 5 : LW : 18. DH : 0

 

tumblr_nyc4woo9zr1uewx7xo1_400

 

I can only hope for results like those when I face the Chaos-Master.

You know what I’m talking about.

After Haakon falls, there is no sign of his body, which I can only hope means that he won’t be coming back as a Jedi (or Sith, for that matter) ghost.

More importantly, I insert my hand into a suitably-sized indentation behind Haakon’s throne.

The wall closes around my hand in a final trap, and I am now trapped here, doomed to starve to death.

 

 

 

 

 

 

tenor

Nah, the door opens, and I quickly snaffle the Book of the Magnakai, which has been peacefully waiting for my arrival.

Project Aon link – Book of the Magnakai

I make my way outside and the book COMPLETELY FORGETS that the tomb was still surrounded by thousands of Giaks and their Drakkarim overlords, by simply stating (in about five lines) that I meet up with Banedon (and Tipasa, who he has apparently rescued) and that my ‘quest is now over’.

I guess those twenty-five miles never seem so tiring after you’ve won, huh?

Come back next instalment for my recap of this adventure, and the Kai series in general!

 

Base Stats : CS : 17, E : 20, GC 40

Final Stats : CS : 29, E : 18

Weapons : Sword, Sommerswerd (+8 CS)

Backpack : Prism, Hourglass, Silver Comb, Canteen of Water

Special Items : Gaoler’s Keys, Jewelled Mace, Copper Key, Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS), Sommerswerd, Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond, Ornate Silver Key, Dagger of Vashna, Brass Whistle

Kai Rank : Savant

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield

Paragraph : 400

 

 

4 thoughts on “Shadow on the Sand – Attempt 2, Part 9

  1. The Giaks and Drakkarim must have fled upon Haakon’s destruction. There are many examples throughout the books of the Big Bad’s minions running away like cowards after their boss falls in combat. Perhaps they are being forced into labor by magic, and the breaking of the spell allows them to escape. Or they calculate that if you can defeat a Darklord, they will be easy pickings.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Zam! Blam! Gas escaping sound coupled with bats screeching and meaty thumps! Fizzle followed by more metal banging than is needed to build a battleship!

    NOW THAT WAS A WELL REPORTED BOSS FIGHT!!!😀 (insert fist pump here)

    And yes, I went “WHAT WHAT WHAT?!?!?!” with your syke.

    So, Did you go in singing “CARRY ON”?

    That was FUN thanks.

    Only thing I’d add is that with the Darklords and Sommlending glaring at each other over the Durncrag Mountains for slightly over SIXTEEN HUNDRED YEARS I’d say every Sommlending child knows the names and titles of all the nineteen living Darklords at the start of the Darkdawn war (now 17, who’s da man? Your da man).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This was my favourite part of one of my favourites Lone Wolf books (I like killing Darklords!).
    By the way the Sommerswerd is great in several situations, I think it’s really a bad idea not having it (i.e. not playing the serie from the beginning)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

