Kingdoms of Terror

The Kingdoms of Terror – Attempt 1, Part 2

And….we’re back.

For those who need to know where I’ve been for the last few days, the answer lies in this picture of Port Fairy :

aeriallg

Was it worth the four hour train ride?

Oh, yes.

Anyway, back to Lone Wolf, and his rapidly depleting funds.

When we left our intrepid adventurer, it was less of a cliffhanger, and more of a….well, gentle slope-hanger.

I had just saved an old man from a bully and, like pretty much every gamebook ever, now expect a reward.

The old man introduces himself as Cyrilus, a magician (in our sense of the word), being a sleight of hand artist and trickster.

Aside : If you want to see one of my favourite sleight of hand masters, watch the amazing Ricky Jay go through a deck of cards :

Cyrilus mentions amusing the courtier of Varetta, which is my cue to politely request a further info-dump.

He then makes some vague comments about ‘legends’ and ‘lost for supposedly hundreds of years’.

Humph.  If I wanted vague and unhelpful claptrap, I’d read the astrology section of my newspaper.

image

I identify myself as Lone Wolf, since the universally recognisable green cloak doesn’t seem to be working its mojo lately.

NOW I get my info-dump!

 

63416652

Aaaaand after all that, Cyrilus’ information is basically a carbon copy of the tales shared by the Varetta soldiers.

That round of drinks was a waste of money after all!

Cyrilus does mention that he knows a ‘wise man’ in Varetta who claims to know the whereabouts of the sceptre holding the Lorestone.  In exchange for my company (and, presumably, protection) on the journey to Varetta, he will take me to this man.  My ‘basic’ Kai Disciplines confirm the offer is genuine, and we agree to meet in the courtyard at dawn.

I don’t have the heart at this time to tell him about the life expectancy of travelling companions of a Kai Lord.

Project Aon link – Sceptre with Lorestone

In the morning, as we ride together, Cyrilus gives me further information about the area.  You’d think I would have done a bit of homework on this sort of thing before my departure, but no mind.  In summary, these Stornlands are a perpetual stew of warring duchies, and presently ‘Lyris is embroiled in war with Magador, Delden with Salony, and Salony with Slovia’.  I’m surprised Eurasia and Eastasia aren’t also somehow involved.

Project Aon link – Battles and peasants

In mid-afternoon, as we ride through a small village, we note an advertisement for an archery tournament, where the entry fee is 2 Gold Crowns (enough for a flagon of ale!) and the prize is the Silver Bow of Duadon.

It is literally impossible for me to think of an archery contest without remembering this passage from one of the top three action-adventures of all time :

And yes, notwithstanding that this movie was made in 1938, Olivia de Havilland is STILL ALIVE.

Sigh.

At any rate, I’d enter this even if previous experience hadn’t taught me that if I manage to win, this bow comes in EXTREMELY handy.

Cyrilus, in a stirring offer of support, suggests that he………………….stay and mind the horses.  I picture him saying this to his eight-year-old child just before their first soccer game, and die inside a little.

To progress to the finals, I need to score a total of 8 or more (including a +3 due to Weaponmastery) with three arrows.  Shouldn’t prove to be too difficult, and I manage to get a total score of 10 even before adding my bonus.

As a mark of the quality (or lack thereof) of the competition, only one (!) other archer managed to attain this standard.

The early rounds must have been like fighting this guy :

punch-out_arc_glass_joe_banner

My final foe is ‘Altan’, a ranger from the north.

The final contest is conducted like a ‘combat’ save that we both have 50 ‘Endurance’ points, and I cannot use my Shield Combat Skill bonus or, obviously, the Sommerswerd. I do get +3 to my Combat Skill for my Weaponmastery in Bow.  I’m going to assume that I can use Mindblast during the contest, although that does seem slightly unethical.

After all that, it means that the resulting starting stats are :

Lone Wolf : CS : 22, E : 50

Alton : CS : 28 (!), E : 50

I wasn’t going to transcribe the whole battle, but let me just say that as I type this, Lone Wolf has 3 Endurance left, and Alton has 4.

……….R10……….

We both hit zero on the same turn!

I’m going to make an executive decision that the tournament masters assign us to a rematch / tie-breaker.

Begin!

This time around I win, while being reduced to 13 Endurance.

victory

I am presented with the Silver Bow, which has the practical effect of adding a (further) 3 points whenever I use it.

Awesome!

I return to check on Cyrilus, who is, no doubt, checking e-mails and rating the passing hotties.

 

Base Stats : CS : 17, E : 20,

Current Stats : CS : 32, E : 26, GC : 32

Weapons : Silver Bow of Duadon (+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS)

Backpack : Potion of Laumspur (+4E), Rope, Tinderbox

Special Items : Silver Bow of Duadon, Gaoler’s Keys, Jewelled Mace, Copper Key, Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS), Sommerswerd, Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond, Ornate Silver Key, Dagger of Vashna, Brass Whistle, Quiver (5 arrows)

Magnakai Rank : Kai Master Superior

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+3 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace), Pathmanship, Divination

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Paragraph : 252

6 thoughts on “The Kingdoms of Terror – Attempt 1, Part 2

  1. Glad you could have a good break but I had to double check there really is a Port named Fairy, that it was founded by rough tough Whalers and Seal Hunters is fascinating.

    Nice try to get ighr on the warpath again. Didn’t work this time but we can always hope.

    With The Adventures of Robin Hood being one of your top three action adventures, what would the other two be?

    I say that using Mindblast on Altan is completely unethical right up to the point where we see his CS is THIRTY???Oooo Kaaay. I’d forgotten the number was quite that high, you know this is the sort of occasion when potions of Alether from previous books would have proved useful. Practically though did Altan just assume he was suffering a stress headache from the tension of the final match. Thats the sort of thing thats bugged me since you posted this two days ago.

    As I’ve already read the next post I look forward to the rematch of your rematch with Altan.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Action / Adventures along with tAoRH – Probably Die Hard & Raiders of the Lost Ark. The second half of Jaws is basically an adventure movie as well. Star Wars is basically a western set in space, so I won’t count it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Interesting. In my copy of the book from 1985 his CS is 30 (Ive just double checked), When you put it at 28 I assumed you’d just deducted the two points for Mindblast. I assume you’re using the Project Aon here.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Joe Dever altered Altan’s CS for the Mongoose edition to better balance the gameplay, so Project Aon backported it to their version. The 2 CS probably doesn’t make that much difference here, but they’ve done the same with the overpowered enemies that Joe Dever nerfed in the later Mongoose books and it can be quite important there.

    There’s also at least one enemy that became even stronger as a result of this, but I always avoided it anyway, so I’m in favour of the changes all round.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

