Kingdoms of Terror

The Kingdoms of Terror – Attempt 2, Part 6

Lone Wolf has passed up an opportunity to go out drinking with a bunch of soldiers.  If that didn’t convince you of exactly how tired he was, then I guess nothing will.

I find my (tiny) cabin, and fall asleep immediately.

b64814268718ca56b521450301f42858

Hopefully the laughing will come on the morrow.

[Wistful voice] We can exchange stories then about love, life, philosophy, and about what sort of parents would call their child ‘Roark’ – it sounds like a crow being strangled, for crying out loud.

Back to reality.

I wake to what would be described as a typical Melbourne morning.  Grey, cold and with drizzling rain.  I meet the Captain (of the mercenaries, not the ship) on deck, and he points out the nearby mountains, estimating that we will be in Luyen by noon.

Project Aon link – caravel on river

Having noticed the weather, I resolve to go back to my cabin with a good book (perhaps an instructional manual on HONEST gambling techniques) and a hip-flask of Irish whiskey.

However, as they so often do in gamebooks, events conspire against me.

First, I am asked by the book if I possess the Lore-Circle of Solaris.

Aside : Since I only have 3 out of the 10 Disciplines, and there are 3 Disciplines in this Lore-Circle, if you assume a random selection of Disciplines, the chances of having this Lore-Circle would be 0.9%.  If not having this Lore-Circle is fatal, I’ll be severely cheesed off.

Hmmph.

At any rate, the caravel has struck a ‘boom’, being a prosaic name for a line of logs chained along the river.

Now we know where George R.R. Martin got some of his ideas (although in his books, to be fair, he did use a chain rather than a line of logs).

Image result for game of thrones battle of blackwater chain

Naturally, Lone Wolf, being a skilled warrior monk (who who has a tendency to fall down in sewers, along with many other places)…..falls down and hits his head on the rail (down 2 Endurance).

Just as I was worried that this book was degenerating into a road trip of average bars and negotiations over boat tickets, we get RIVER PIRATES!

Awesome.

[Flashbacks to my pirate encounter in my past life as a ninja.]

One likely looking fellow (with one ear and a ‘split nose’) seemingly ignores my green cloak and eyes me off as a likely target.

Silver Bow of Duadon do your stuff!  Needing a 6 on my R10 check, the +3 from Weaponmastery, combined with the +3 for my MEGABOW means I can’t miss!

 

lhtyofj

 

[I’ll assume for the moment that my arrow is lost].

More importantly, the Captain is currently locked in battle with FIVE (!) pirates, making my current heroics pale, for the moment, by comparison.

Project Aon link – Captain locked in battle

I leap to protect the captain’s back from a new wave of attackers.

Pirate Berserkers – CS :20, E : 30 (immune to Mindblast)

Lone Wolf : CS 30, E : 26

Driven by my desire to confirm bragging rights over the captain, I take out the motley crew of pirates without sustaining a wound.

The Captain has meanwhile done his part, and the pirates flee before our combined ferocious assault.

In the aftermath of victory, we can unfortunately see that, although the mercenaries didn’t suffer significant casualties, the crew of the ship were trapped below deck and almost wiped out.

Given that there was no mention of the original pirate falling off the deck, I assume I can retrieve my arrow.

The Captain takes (temporary charge) as the crew are buried at sea and the necessary repairs effected.

648828-bigthumbnail

Without any meaningful discussions as to how we will continue the ship, you know, without a crew, we dock at Luyen.

The captain of the mercenaries, interestingly, stops at the local apothecary rather than the nearest bar.  I accompany him, and buy some Gallowbrush sleeping potion (2 GC) and Graveweed poison (4 GC).

So long, Potion of Laumsmpur and Meal!

Aside : Yes, Lone Wolf is still a Lawful Good warrior monk, why do you ask?

While the captain is finalising his order, I decide to browse the other shops in the street.

Window-shopping, if you will.

 

image

I hear you, Spongebob.

I hear you.

 

I enter a (second-hand!) weapons shop, and replenish my quiver for 1 Gold Crown.  Finally, I spy a shop of charts and maps.  Buying a map of Tekaro, my destination, appears a no-brainer (4 GC).

I’ll have to dump my……..Bottle of Wine (since it isn’t the cool kind of alcohol, the one that also heals you).

Aside : For some reason a map of the Stornlands is a Special Item, but a map of Tekaro is….a Backpack Item??

Hmmph.

The Captain has concluded picking up his order of herbs (drugs), and he hand-waves the anticipated difficulties with our continuing voyage simply by admitting that his men are fantastic soldiers but ‘poor sailors’, and that without his presence they will simply drink to excess.

I thought that was a fair risk IN his presence as well, but never mind.

Luckily, there are no further mishaps for the moment, and we make Rhem by nightfall.

 

 

Base Stats : CS : 17, E : 20, GC 19

Final Stats : CS : 32, E : 26

Weapons : Silver Bow of Duadon(+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS)

Backpack : Potion of Gallowbrush, Graveweed Poison, Rope, Tinderbox, Alether Berries (2) (+2 CS for one combat), Map of Tekaro, Mirror

Special Items : Silver Bow of Duadon,  Jewelled Mace, Copper Key, Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS), Sommerswerd, Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond, Ornate Silver Key, Dagger of Vashna, Quiver (6 arrows), Small Silver Key, Brass Whistle, Ticket to Eula

Magnakai Rank : Kai Master Superior

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+3 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace), Pathmanship, Divination

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Final Paragraph : 124

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “The Kingdoms of Terror – Attempt 2, Part 6

  1. Protecting your fellow warrior’s back as you fight off waves of SNARLING PIRATE BERSERKERS! Does it get any cooler than that?!?! Maybe… (check out the 1:47 mark)

    That scene even answers the question “Well, why don’t the bad guys just shoot them with guns?” Because they’re no match for one smallish martial artist with sticks.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. An annoying error in the Mongoose Publishing reissue of TKoT is that it sticks with the original text in identifying the Map of Tekaro as a Backpack Item when you acquire it, but then refers to it as a Special Item when asking if you have it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can’t remember any examples right now, but I believe that using chains to keep enemy ships out of where they’re not wanted dates from antiquity. Certainly in the middle ages, chains across the Thames were used to protect London (and particularly the monarch’s official residence at the time, the Tower) from pirates and foreign navies.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Not only have people named their children Roark but the U S Navy even named a frigate that. Curiously the very day I read your comment I came across a book entitled “40,001 Baby names” so I eagerly looked up the meaning of Roark.

    It didn’t have the name.

    Maybe if it been “40,002 Baby names”…

    In battle with pirates in Avenger (well worth rereading) you lost one of only 5 Shuriken, here you keep your arrow, things are looking up. (But I point out Avenger could still whip Lone Wolf’s a.. at this point). And if Avenger can use Blood of Nil and Spiderfish poison and be Lawful Good then why not Lone Wolf? It was the eighties and the cold war was still rumbling so that sort of thing was par for the course.

    I also hear you AND Spongebob. After reading this blog I too took my wife shopping, thats why I ended up reading a book entitled “40,001 Baby names”.

    I just hope you drank the wine rather than irresponsibly leaving it lying around where someone UNDERAGE could get their hands on it. It’s practically your civic duty you know!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

