Kingdoms of Terror

The Kingdoms of Terror – Attempt 2, Part 8

Aside : For those who read the comments, Nathan mentioned that I had, in my previous instalment, avoided a nasty insta-death.  The truth is, I actually thought I had, in fact, died only, when I reviewed the paragraphs for summary purposes, noticed that I had actually turned to the paragraph that didn’t actually reflect my choice! [Phrased discreetly for those who are themselves playing the books]

For those who remember, I have climbed a ladder to an evidently historical door.  Lone Wolf’s many skills seemingly extend to archaeology, as he detects that this door has not been opened for ‘over a hundred years’. (!)  No mention is made of the possibility of a (physical or magical) lock, rust or any other possibility.

Maybe Lone Wolf just noticed a historical architectural feature.

Maybe.

9m9sv9

Enough of my philosophical musings!

As I don’t have the skills of either Nexus or Psi-Surge, I have to ‘fight’ the door as if it is an enemy, with Endurance loss apparently representing ‘fatigue’.

If I die fighting a door, that will be one of the more ignominious defeats possible in this crazy quest.

hqdefault

The book doesn’t specifically say, but I can’t see how my shield or Mindblast could possibly assist in this battle, so I make the appropriate adjustments.

Lone Wolf – CS : 28, E : 26

Door (!) – CS : 13, E : 35

After all those preliminaries, my MEGASWORD, demonstrating its contempt for this whole ridiculous situation, cleaves through the stubborn door in one blow.

Luckily, of all the doors (in all the cities, in all the world…..) this one conveeeniently leads directly into the crypt of main Tekaro cathedral.

73ae3a8780a3c9a8e1913f55c03ad88b8be89ad02e2b2624fd2f8ba7ff663155

Grateful for my good fortune, I frantically use my Silver Key to try all of the locks of the crypts, desperately seeking the Lorestone.

Like any good scary movie, I am so intent on my task that I don’t notice the creature coming in.

Through.

The.

Sewer.

Door.

A creature over ‘ten feet tall’ is approaching me, with such colourful descriptions as ‘razor-sharp talons’, ‘monstrous eyes’ and ‘reptilian tail’.

Reminding myself not to be fazed, I whip out my trusty Silver Bow.

The arrow bounces off the ‘reptilian skin’ harmlessly, and we must close for one-on-one combat.

2184e9dde8e4932d75ea6ed73ea121cb

Just to make things a little more interesting, this creature is immune to Mindblast.

Lone Wolf : CS : 30, E : 26

Dakomyd : CS : 25, E : 50

I should mention that for the time being, I only need to reduce my enemy’s Endurance to 25.

I manage to do so without losing an Endurance point.  The creature is reduced to 18 Endurance which, in terms of the book, means that it is dismembered, but that the pieces (!) are crawling around zombie-like, with one persistent hand managing to do 2 Endurance damage to my leg.

I have the interesting choice of attempting to finish off the monstrosity, or attempting to quickly open the crypt and grabbing the Lorestone.

Hmmm.  It may be that using the Lorestone is the only way to defeat this abomination. However, I’m very, very wary of turning my back on some ten-foot zombie whose severed limbs are attempting to scratch me to death.

I don’t know if they meant it the same way, but I’m going with this philosophy :

9727963403b78e7894724878aebd7930

And…..for those of you that know this book better than I will realise that this choice spells the end of the adventure.  In a development which I’ll talk more about in a minute :

  • My blow causes the creature to retreat in agony.
  • A drop (!!!) of the Dakomyd’s blood lands on my arm, which eats through the clothes and sears my flesh.
  • My sword (you know, the magical MEGASWORD which has lasted for millennia) is somehow disintegrated by the drop (!!!) of blood.
  • Notwithstanding the fact that I had dominated the combat so far, all of a sudden a ‘razor-sharp talon snares your cloak and draws you to your doom’.

 

giphy3

Look, I’ll play by the rules and start the book again, but that’s just stupid.  The idea that you can happily hack this beast into sugar-cubes, only for a drop of blood to instantly kill you the moment you go for a killing blow is just idiotic.

Wouldn’t the initial battle cause (far more than) a drop of blood to splash onto me?

Even if my arm is in agony from what is (essentially) acid, wouldn’t I be able to retreat a little and, say, open the crypt then?

How can something burrowing into my arm also disintegrate a magical sword which I am holding in my hand?

If it is simply striking the creature which causes the Sommerswerd to disintegrate, why didn’t that happen before?

giphy4

I don’t mind a last choice which is life-or-death right before you can attain success, but the decision should be crafted with a little (or a LOT) more care than this.

I expect better.

Final aside : The end of the gamebook Island of the Lizard King essentially has the same choice with reversed outcomes.  Turning your back on your (dying enemy) seals your death, while finishing him off leads to victory.

 

Base Stats : CS : 17, E : 20, GC 19

Final Stats : CS : 32, E : 0

Weapons : Silver Bow of Duadon(+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS)

Backpack : Potion of Gallowbrush, Graveweed Poison, Rope, Tinderbox, Alether Berries (2) (+2 CS for one combat), Map of Tekaro, Mirror

Special Items : Silver Bow of Duadon,  Jewelled Mace, Copper Key, Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS), Sommerswerd, Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond, Ornate Silver Key, Dagger of Vashna, Quiver (6 arrows), Small Silver Key, Brass Whistle, Ticket to Eula

Magnakai Rank : Kai Master Superior

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+3 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace), Pathmanship, Divination

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Final Paragraph : 323

6 thoughts on “The Kingdoms of Terror – Attempt 2, Part 8

  1. Gobsmacked horror 😮 Sorry Tim 😮 Manly macho masculine sympathetic clap on the shoulder. Will write more at a later point.

    Btw, you could get Curing next time so as to see one of my favourite scenes but … honestly its not much of a scene 😡

    Gobsmacked.

    Like

  2. If I die fighting a door, that will be one of the more ignominious defeats possible in this crazy quest.
    It might make the top three (might), but when future books include such ‘gems’ as ‘you save the world again and a bridge falls on you’ and the highly unlikely but technically achievable ‘killed by a thrown cabbage’, fighting a door has little chance of getting better than a bronze.

    Actually, when I played TKoT for my blog, the door did me more damage than any other opponent all book. Possibly even more than all my other combats combined. Not sure whether my enemies or I should be more ashamed of that.

    As for the way you did die just now, it is one of the more annoyingly arbitrary and preposterous ways to go. Mind you, it would have been even more frustrating if you’d had a couple more points of Combat Skill and scored a 0 on whatever random number generator you use, as that would have meant that you’d have killed the Dakomyd with one blow, and then the blasted thing would have killed you in that ludicrous manner anyway.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You gotta shoot them in da hed! (You’ll understand when its really dead).

    Ok, well can I just start by saying I was happier speaking up in defense of Inferno than I am here but some points that should be acknowledged.

    1) There was a chance to find in the sewers that there’s a creature here with acid that can dissolve weapons
    2) The Sommerswerd’s power comes from its enchantment’s rather than its material as seen by it turning into an ordinary weapon forever if wielded by a non kai lord.
    3) The final blow has it “sinking deep into flesh that clings like jelly” so its not dissolved by the drop that hits your arm but by whats inside the Dakomyd.
    4) The fact that all its bits are still running around evil dead like was probably meant to be a clue.
    5) The fact that TEN OGRYN couldn’t kill a crature of 25 Cs was probably meant to be a clue.
    6) The fact that it was weaker than Darklord Haakon was probably also meant to be a clue (but you’d have to be keeping all your combats on one sheet to have a chance of seeing that, fortunately I like to survey my kill count, yes I’m sick).

    Ok, sitting in a cold canteen getting ready for a strike gives you opportunity to analyse easier than when in the middle of a battle, I don’t like it anymore than anyone else and its a totally harsh instant death. On the other hand you won’t ever die this way again.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yeah, I agree with Fenrir regarding the clues presented, but also that it feels arbitrary.

    I don’t think anyone would blame you for taking a mulligan and not replaying the whole book, considering it’s fairly linear.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Fair play to Tim he won’t ever do that (remember the Horned Cyclops in Overlord? I practically begged him to just resume from after it but he stuck to being honest, it was eating Ninja Overlords for months after).

      Hopefully he’ll still win the archery contest if he goes for it but nothing else in this book should be able to kill him now.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I thought you would have chosen to open the crypt…oh gosh!!! And now a brand new start…agree with this crazy instant death, but if we read beyond the lines, this istant death even if crazy, have some kind of sense: you think you’re invincible, nothing more wrong, otherwise you wouldn’t search for the Lorestone! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

