Castle Death

Castle Death – Background

lonewolf07bb

And……after my philosophical musings, we’re back to the featured escapades of one Lone Wolf, Kai Master…*ahem* ‘Primate’, scoundrel, gambling cheat and, apparently, the last hope of Sommerlund.

In a nifty bit of retconning, the vague nature of my overall quest from the last book has been handily made more specific.

Apparently the Lorestone of Varetta which I snaffled from the crypt in Tekaro was only one of a matching set of stones, collectively known as the Lorestones of Nyxator.  My claiming of the first stone gave me insight to the location of the next one – Herdos.

Get ready, that is just the first of a number of names which will be thrown around and which will mean absolutely nothing to the reader.

Herdos, a remote township, stands upon the shore of Lake Khor, high in the Xulun Mountains of Dessi.

Will all of those be on the exam later?

funny-koala-eat-meme-exam

The Elder Magi, who ‘rule’ this land, helped Sun Eagle complete this original quest.

Aside : I IMMEDIATELY wonder why on earth I didn’t come to these guys originally, before the Varetta / Tekaro trip.

04771d7b483637108638c39f4e1e2cc8

Long story short, the Magi tell me that the Lorestone I seek is contained in a fortress known as ‘Kazan-Oud’.  In a surprise development the fortress has been overrun by a nameless evil.

60653c4d9cbf62ec01ab9bde21ef414ed371ca2b47fed9bba1e50b962b2ee8ce

Conveeeeeniently, I am expected to eradicate the evil which has taken over Kazan-Oud (and I am already getting sick of typing that name) in order to gain the Lorestone and, presumably, solve the Magi’s problem for them.

Thanks for the ‘help’, guys.

In what is meant to be an ominous moment, it is mentioned that the name ‘Kazan-Oud’ translates as ‘Castle Death’.

Just up the road from Torture Beach, I assume.

On to practical matters!

I need to pick another Magnakai Discipline.  I’m beginning to think that maybe Divination isn’t the same ‘necessity’ as Sixth Sense was in the Kai books.  I’m tempted to choose Invisibility, to complete the ‘Lore-Circle’ of Solaris, which would give me +1CS/+3E.

But in the end, I can’t do it.  My Sommerswerd helps me to monster opponents on a regular basis and if Divination saves me even once, then it’ll be well worth it.

I may, or may not, return to the above quote at a later time.

The Elder Magi show me how seriously they take my mission by giving me a whopping 13 (!) Gold Crowns, and letting me choose a whole (5) items from their arsenal.  I dump my Map of Tekaro (leaving it at the Kai Monastery) and take a Lantern, a Meal,  and 3 Fireseeds, which explode and burn fiercely when thrown against a hard surface.

[EDITED TO ADD : After some helpful feedback in the comments, and having checked with the Project Aon FAQ, the 3 Fireseeds collectively amount to 1 item out of the five that can be taken.  That doesn’t help too much here, because my Backpack is full anyway.  I take a potion of Laumspur and leave it in my Kai Monastery stash]

Did anyone say that this description (of the Fireseeds) amounts to “Medieval Grenades”?

 

oh_yeah_macho_man

 

Rest in peace, Randy.

I should also mention that the instructions specifically state that every time the Bow is used, an arrow must be deleted from the Quiver, even if common sense would seem to indicate that the arrow could be retrieved after combat.

The introduction also (happily) confirms that, with my rank of Primate, my Huntmastery skill is improved to the extent that I now have the equivalent of the Way of the Tiger skill of Climbing, being able to climb without the use of ropes, etc.  Should I therefore discard my rope?  Too late now….

I’ve got a little time, so I’ll summarise (with my trusty bullet-points!) the exposition in paragraph 1, which is really part of the background :

  • I am introduced, by Rimoah, to a warrior-mage known as Paido.  He will, apparently, NOT be actually accompanying me on my mission.
  • It is highly likely that Paido was, in fact, asked to fight by my side, but then heard on the sidekick grapevine what traditionally happens to those who quest with Lone Wolf.
  • A magical shield protects the rest of the world from Kazan-Oud, and my head spins at the logistical implications of how anyone could survive for any length of time in an evil castle that is cut off from the rest of the world, with no prospect of supplies of any kind.  (The book specifically mentions that no creature, living or dead, can enter the shield).
  • I get a Power-Key, which enables me to pass through the shield without harm.  Left unsaid is the obvious implication that if the Power-Key is seized at least one of the Elder Magi’s enemies will be able to waltz right through the shield, fire a proton torpedo into the exhaust port and…..
  • *Ahem* got carried away there.
  • I manage, at midnight’ to get a ride on a larger boat, before being deposited in a small coracle and making my way through the shield and approaching the island containing an evil castle.

*Thunderclap*

tumblr_oaj1mnvnao1s2wio8o1_500

 

Base Stats : CS : 18, E : 22, GC 25

Final Stats : CS : 33, E : 27

Weapons : Silver Bow of Duadon (+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS)

Backpack : Potion of Laumspur (+4E), Rope, Meal (2), Alether Berries (3) (+2 CS), Lantern

Special Items : Jewelled Mace, Brass Whistle, Copper Key, Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS), Sommerswerd, Silver Bow of Duadon, Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond, Ornate Silver Key, Dagger of Vashna, Quiver (6 arrows), Boat Ticket, Power Key, Fireseeds (3)

Kai Monastery storage : Map of Tekaro, Potion of Laumspur (+4E)

Magnakai Rank : Primate

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+3 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace, Dagger), Pathmanship, Huntmastery, Divination

Lore-Circles : Fire (+1 CS, +2 E)

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Paragraph : 1

8 thoughts on “Castle Death – Background

  1. Hi guys,
    here come’s your gamebook lawyer! 1) you have to add another weapon among weapons you master with Weaponmastery 2) Fireseeds are Special Items so you need to add among them 3) Duadon’s Bow ok, is in your Weapons, but it is always a Special Item (in the next book this advice is going to be very useful).
    Your lovely Matteo 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pretty sure it was officially ruled at some point that all the Fireseeds count as just one item, not a separate item for each seed, so you thus could take two more items (maybe in one of the newsletters? Memory escapes me but I am fairly confident this was straight from Joe). And this too will become especially important starting with the next book.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. While everyone else critiques your item list I critique your actual writing 😈

    You now count as a Primate? Since when has the study of Kai Lords being classified as Zoology?

    For the exam I know a Koala bear named Herdos has a leaf of Khor in his mouth. I suspect I will score No Grade again.

    In fairness to LW not going to Dessi first the BOTM specifically, but barely legibly, said you had to go to Varetta first. If you’d gone to Dessi first they’d probably have just sent you to the Stornlands and time is not on your side…

    While the Lorestone being in the hands of an ancient evil is certainly a well worn trope it should be pointed out that Naar, The Darklords, Shasarak, Agarash etc may be evil but aren’t idiots. If they can’t destroy the Lorestones then of course they’ll put considerable effort into isolating/locking them up.

    The forcefield surrounds the ISLAND, not just the castle, admittedly from the state of the Island I’m not sure how much difference that makes but you well know the importance of minor distinctions.

    Good luck getting on to the island

    Like

  4. It’s interesting that you consider Sixth Sense essential as it’s the Discipline I usually leave until last. In book 2, having it gives an unavoidable 5% chance of instant death, which can always be avoided if you don’t have it and in almost every occasion where it’s actually useful, other Disciplines can be used instead.

    On the other hand, this is one of the few books where Divination does have some use, although since you can’t complete the Lorecircle of Spirit by book 9, it’s less important than for some incarnations of Lone Wolf.

    I would say “good luck” but I’ve already read your next post. Sorry.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

