Castle Death · Uncategorized

Castle Death – Attempt 1, Part 1

Aside : It isn’t really going to be particularly significant (I think) for this adventure, but feel free to check out the map of the ‘Magiocracy’ of Dessi.

Here it is.

Back to Lone Wolf steering a fragile coracle towards the isolated island of Kazan-Oud (seriously, I’m just going to call it CD from now on.  If you have a complaint, talk to the blog administrator.  I’ll be here until 5.)

There are two possible places to land – a stone jetty to the west, and a sheltered bay to the east.

Since my arrival is, in theory, meant to be secret, the ‘sheltered’ bay appears to be the best option.

Warrior monk by day, sneaky ninja by night, yes?

68629386

You are missed, Alan Rickman.

As I approach land, like an idiot, I don’t give any particular mind to the ‘glow of tiny red lights’ on the beach.  It is only after I have dragged my boat up onto the beach that I see that ‘scores’ of rats, each ‘as large as a puppy’ are eager to make my acquaintance.  Ouch.

I have several choices, none of them attractive.  I can try to fight off the rats, try and climb over the nearby rocks to an adjacent beach or grab my boat and go back out to the lake.

demotivation-us_choices-sometimes-there-are-no-good-ones-left-1-439x460

Aside – I’m reminded of a deleted scene from Jaws 2, where a helicopter pilot’s chopper capsizes into the ocean.  He’s about to flee from his whirly-bird, when he sees the shark waiting for him…. Yikes.

Bless the internet – here it is :

In any event, fighting or fleeing (on foot) scores of rats seems like a recipe for disaster.  I try to get back out on water and attempt the other entry point.

In a development which just gives me warm and fuzzy feelings, the rats decide to swim out and chew through my boat (!) Maybe that Jaws 2 clip really was an omen!

Anyway, my boat sinks like the proverbial stone and, just as I fall into the trap of thinking things ‘can’t get ANY worse’ I get entanged in some kind of ‘Lakeweed’ which threatens to deprive me of, you know, air.

After triumphing against a door in my last adventure, I now get to have a heroic fight against….seaweed.

Aside : Even more promisingly, I get to lose 2 Endurance after every round due to holding my breath while hacking away with my MEGASWORD.

Lone Wolf – CS : 33, E : 27

Black Lakeweed – CS : 10, E : 50 (!)

I manage to slice through the Lakeweed in one blow, and make my way, bedraggled and exhausted, to the shore.

I’m thinking that this is me, right about now  :

84491e4314e7dad5f0acb6f4fbaee964

On a practical note, all of my Meals and two Backpack items of my choice are ruined by the water.  Given my climbing skills, I say a reluctant goodbye to my meals, my rope and one of my Alether Berries.

This has all happened and only now am I making my way up the beach to the castle.

http3a2f2fmashable-com2fwp-content2fuploads2f20132f012fjennifer-lawrence-wait-a-minute-gif

As I start to collect my bearings, I see that the nearest ‘boulder’ has just cracked in two, and is actually a gigantic eye – watching me.

Bring on one of my favourites :

 

what-the-what

Reacting as a warrior would, I stab the eye dead centre with my MEGASWORD.  There is an ‘inhuman’ (yeah, no kidding) scream of pain and sand, steam and grit fly all around.

Project Aon link – Evil, gigantic eye

As I retreat, I get knocked to the ground by a tentacle, which grabs me around the waist.

Before I can do much of anything, my lack of Psi-Surge means that I am held fast, before being fed whole to a gigantic jaw (!) which emerges from another ‘boulder’.

Anyone else think Joe Dever had been reading H.P. Lovecraft right before working on this part of the adventure?

 

Base Stats : CS : 18, E : 22, GC 25

Current Stats : CS : 33, E : 0

Weapons : Silver Bow of Duadon (+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS)

Backpack : Potion of Laumspur (+4E), Alether Berries (2) (+2 CS), Lantern

Special Items : Jewelled Mace, Brass Whistle, Copper Key, Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS), Sommerswerd, Silver Bow of Duadon, Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond, Ornate Silver Key, Dagger of Vashna, Quiver (6 arrows), Boat Ticket, Power Key, Fireseeds (3)

Kai Monastery storage : Map of Tekaro, Potion of Laumspur (+4E)

Magnakai Rank : Primate

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+3 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace, Dagger), Pathmanship, Huntmastery, Divination

Lore-Circles : Fire (+1 CS, +2 E)

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Paragraph : 121

16 thoughts on “Castle Death – Attempt 1, Part 1

  1. You’ve reached the point where the series starts to get challenging again for someone who has the Sommerswerd – enjoy!

    This was my first Lone Wolf book, and holds a lot of nostalgia for me. In a lot of ways it’s a bit of an outlier – it has a unique tone, and doesn’t quite fit with the rest of the series. It has so many memorably creepy moments though.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. About the map Magiocracy of Dessi (funny name, at the time I had a friend named Dessì!)… I always loved the maps of Lone Wolf, probably more of the illustrations and the cover art.

    H.P. Lovecraft ? Funny thing, at the time I was too young, so I didn’t know Lovecraft, but I though Mr. Dever was inspired by the Watcher in the water from Lord of the Rings… maybe because it was the cause of death of my first rpg (MERP) character ever!

    Speaking about death… I’m so sorry! ^^’
    Psi-Surge is a discipline I always took last… I never though it would have been so useful!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. ….except often you can’t, which doesn’t make sense in a case like this, but yeah, that’s a rant for another day, the fact that Kai disciplines don’t work when they should anymore once you get into the Magnakai series. You can still use Mindblast in combat, but almost all the most difficult opponents are immune to it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yeah, Dever sort of made a bit of a trap for himself in making the Magnakai Disciplines ‘super’ versions of the pre-existing Kai Disciplines. Maybe some ‘in storyline’ magical curse could have removed knowledge of Kai Disciplines from Lone Wolf’s mind, and each one would only be restored by gaining the Magnakai one?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Well … I did indicate just getting on the island is difficult… Manly Macho Sympathetic Clap on the shoulder. I think that’s the quickest any book has managed to kill you, um, Go Book! /uncertain fist pump/.

    If it makes you feel better your Choices picture did give a smile to several different people in different difficult situations.

    Finally, believe it or not but today I was working with a colleague who does Mixed Martial Arts and used to do kickboxing. With that background what was the injury he showed me twice today (second time to check how it was healing)? It was the grevious injury inflicted on our Bruce Lee by a door!!! There’s plenty truth in fiction.

    Good luck with your next storming of the beaches.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Or the monsters/opponents are just tougher and stronger now and so are immune to Kai disciplines, but that’s not made clear. There definitely seems to be statistical inflation that occurs over the course of the series with similar monsters having tougher stats. Heck, Darklord Haakon only had a 28 combat skill. By the time you get to the Grand Master series, there is a drunk thug in Dawn of the Dragons with a combat skill of 30!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There is a strike on in the retail giant I work for but tonight my store voted not to join the strike due to powerful intimidation and lies both from management and management moles so I’m … rather down just now. I also don’t know what I should do next. Just needed to complain to someone, sorry. Back to topic.

      Darklord Haakon was suffering from the effects of not being in the Darklands anymore, this is a major plot point later in the series. Our author has also pointed out the difference between Chasm where you fight bitter fights against single bandits and Kingdoms where you single handedly scatter a band (although in fairness the bands in Chasm were reinforced with regular troops). Szalls are only seen in Fire as after they’re just too weak and while Drakkarim are always a nuisance in Darke you tear through a unit of them.Basically as Lone Wolf gets stronger he’s able to take on more powerful enemies (c’mon, Kasan Oud was able to withstand a nation of magicians and warrior mages, it is NOT the same as a Ragadorn street gang).

      Will have go look up Dawn as the drunken thug is a plothole in my unconvincing arguement.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

