Castle Death

Castle Death – Attempt 2, Part 4

Lone Wolf has been knocked unconscious.

In real life, that would mean an extended hospital stay.

In this world of make-believe, I would say that it is around 50/50 as to whether I wake up looking at Honor Blackman :

or….

actually, there is no or.  I’m just hoping for Honor Blackman.

Unfortunately, it is the other ’50’ of the 50/50 that comes up on the proverbial roulette wheel.

I wake up in the middle of a gladiatorial arena (!!) with my arms shackled above my head.

More interestingly, the spectator seats around this arena are filled by ‘people’  in hooded robes, with undisclosed features, apparently staring at my toned body with a disconcerting level of interest.

don39t-look-at-me-meme-36255

It looks like some kind of mock trial is taking place, as punishment for allegedly (!) coming to CD without permission.

Project Aon link – Audience in arena

Briefly, I am condemned for the crime (!) of coming to CD, while I notice the important fact that the glowing crystal above the overseer’s throne is the Lorestone that I seek.

The sham verdict of ‘Guilty’ is rendered, and I am sentenced to the ‘maze’.

Well, it could have been worse – the verdict could have been ‘Gulag’.

Aside : I’ve just quietly confirmed to myself that I have rabbited on about the first paragraph of this entry for a few hundred words.

In the meantime, I am stripped of all my weapons, but not before a ‘hunchbacked dwarf’ raises the Sommerwswerd over his head and is zapped with a golden bolt of power.

I get slapped across the face (1 Endurance loss) but am otherwise thrown into the ‘maze’ with all of my weapons (and, worse luck,  ‘Weapon-like Special Items’) confiscated from me.

Aside : Brief entry, but today was my son’s fourth birthday and for some reason that has been considered by my family (and I) as more important.

 

Base Stats : CS : 18, E : 22 [28 with armour], GC 31

Final Stats : CS : 33, E : 18

Weapons :  None [Confiscated : Spear, Broadsword]

Weapon-like Special Items : None  [Confiscated : Sommerswerd (+8 CS), Dagger of Vashna, Silver Bow of Duadon (+3)]

Backpack : Potion of Laumspur (+4E), Meal, Red Robe, Alether Berries (3) (+2 CS), Lantern

Special Items : Brass Whistle, Copper Key, Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS), Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond, Ornate Silver Key, Quiver (6 arrows), Boat Ticket, Power Key, Fireseeds (3)

Kai Monastery storage : Map of Tekaro, Potion of Laumspur (+4E)

Magnakai Rank : Primate

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+3 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace, Dagger), Pathmanship, Huntmastery, Divination

Lore-Circles : Fire (+1 CS, +2 E)

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Paragraph : 286

3 thoughts on “Castle Death – Attempt 2, Part 4

  1. There’s no way of getting through the book without getting knocked out and facing the sham trial. I don’t know if you could have learned or acquired anything useful if you’d ignored the sceptre and done some more exploration before the inevitable loss of consciousness, but the only way of avoiding capture is getting killed before it can happen to you. So if you’re averse to railroading, you could choose to view the previous Lone Wolf’s squiddy demise as a kind of moral victory.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As Ed says, you’ve saved yourself time by rushing to the trial (but there are other background details you can find out by taking the other routes so there’s plenty of other choices you can make when you get killed again soon 😉 ).

    I think we’d all like to wake up to Honor Blackman like that … so long as our wives weren’t there too…

    In defense of our client, I’d point out that the charge is NOT “coming to Kazan Oud without permission” but attempting to assassinate Lord Zahda. Since prior to this you didn’t even know who Lord Zahda was you are actually innocent (The Elder Magi wanted you to kill him but all you actually agreed to was to get the Lorestone back, a technicality but as I once said to the then Manager and then Union Rep “So I’m a lying scumbag but I’m getting off on a technicality”. I’d add that their expressions were priceless).

    The Dwarf’s fate shows why you should ALWAYS read the instruction manual before handling new pieces of equipment, first phrase I taught my own son was “proper health and safety procedures”. And on the subject of sons while I don’t celebrate birthdays can I still say OMG you’re son is so CUTE!!!!!! Beautiful photo’s, I do hope you all had a great day.

    And at least while you get thrown into the Maze you still have you’re brass whistle. We never know when you’ll be able to swap a brass whistle for a horse again but by golly we want to be ready.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

