Uncategorized

Castle Death – Attempt 3, Part 1

Attempt 3!

What could possibly go wrong?!

Aside : For those among my LEGIONS of fans who have bemoaned my absence, I will just briefly admit that I have been running a three-day contested trial in the Federal Circuit Court and, just to make things more frustrating, I am pretty sure that the (currently reserved) judgement will be 100% against my client.  [Don’t even ask how much the whole shebang has cost him and his family]

Humph.

Before I start, it has been mentioned in the comments that the whole ‘being knocked unconscious and face the mock trial’ sequence is essentially compulsory, so the prudent gamebook reader will just try and avoid any insta-deaths or massive Endurance loss and get to that point as quickly as possible.

Clever, huh?

tumblr_o5df7adnqy1tfbtrwo1_400

Aside : For those who haven’t been watching Brooklyn Nine-Nine, I pity you – it is hilarious.

I’m going to have to use some of my trusty bullet points :

  • Given that same was achieved without Endurance loss, I sail my small boat to the wet jetty of Kazan-Oud, ‘close my eyes and pray’ and land on the dock without further incident.
  • I use my Magnakai Discipline of Pathmanship, nip down to the beach and into the concealed door.
  • Using my Lantern, I make my way through the initial part of the maze, before being confronted by the choice between a staircase and a door.  Since I still don’t have the ‘Gold Key’, I don’t really have a choice at all, and ascend the stairs.

 

3d621314652e12065e29568399462445

 

I once more come across the difficult situation of the stone slab which my (basic) Kai skills warn is dangerous.  I poke the slab (getting the information about the 1-2-3 code off the disturbed surface) before leaping over the subject area and continuing.

I stroll into a more open cave, and take the opportunity of looting an available body.  I get a Rope, a Red Robe and 6 Gold Crowns.

I now choose a different path, and elect to avoid the stairs that led to the pesky weapon-stealing spider-webs.  I rather continue along the tunnel, leaving the previously-trodden path and (metaphorically) leaping into the unknown!

 

life_is_a_leap_into_the_unknown-227652

The ‘cloying smell of damp and decay’ builds and builds, until even this fearsome warrior monk is forced to shield his nose with his cloak.

Let’s bring this out one more time, shall we?

tumblr_njvqbssg4s1sl21koo1_500

As this delightful tunnel twists to the right, I notice both a small iron door and some stairs going down.

I try the door, because I’m too lazy to walk down the stairs straight away.  Hopefully I stop holding my cloak in front of my face and actually, you know, get a weapon ready.

My caution is needless because the room’s feeble lock crumbles immediately due to age and disuse, and I enter some kind of storeroom!  I find another Shield (Not going to carry two – sorry) and a Short Sword, the latter of which I snaffle as insurance against any ‘lose a random weapon’ incidents.

37921955

 

Searching further, I discover another clue about the ‘1-2-3’ combination on a piece of parchment and, also, another Diamond!

If some guard needs a bribe of, not one, but two (!) Diamonds I am now all set!

I then descend the narrow staircase and end up at the door with the triangle plaque which I first encountered here.

Aside : In the likely chance that I get killed and have to attempt this adventure again, I imagine that I will again use this route, since I’ve gotten this far without a single fight or R10 check.

I correctly turn the dial to the correct number of triangles and am rewarded for my trouble by the gate opening and vampire bats promptly attempting to make me an involuntary blood donor.

Lone Wolf : CS : 33, E : 27

Vampire Bats – CS : 19, E : 32

The bats do double damage, but my initial R10 of 9 is sufficient to put paid to their pathetic little swarm WITH.  ONE.  BLOW.

 

giphy

 

I reach the bottom of the stairs and take a Broadsword from the unguarded table that rests in the room at the bottom.

I again use my Discipline of Pathmanship to avoid the ‘smooth, unmarked’ tunnel, and rather head north to the vast chamber where I once more spy the desperate warrior fleeing from his pursuers.

I change my tactics, and this time flee together with the warrior.  He stops me as we reach a distinctive slab.  Following his lead, I jump over the slab, and then watch with a satisfied smirk as our pursuers fall through the slab / trapdoor to their certain death.

Heh.

The stranger introduces himself as Tavig, and his story will have to wait for the next update.

 

Base Stats : CS : 18, E : 22, GC 31

Final Stats : CS : 33, E : 28

Weapons : Short Sword, Broadsword

Weapon-Like Special Items : Silver Bow of Duadon (+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS)

Backpack : Red Robe, Potion of Laumspur (+4E), Rope, Meal (2), Alether Berries (3) (+2 CS), Lantern

Special Items : Jewelled Mace, Brass Whistle, Copper Key, Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS), Sommerswerd, Silver Bow of Duadon, Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond (2), Ornate Silver Key, Dagger of Vashna, Quiver (6 arrows), Boat Ticket, Power Key, Fireseeds (3)

Kai Monastery storage : Map of Tekaro, Potion of Laumspur (+4E)

Magnakai Rank : Primate

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+3 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace, Dagger), Pathmanship, Huntmastery, Divination

Lore-Circles : Fire (+1 CS, +2 E)

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Paragraph : 268

8 thoughts on “Castle Death – Attempt 3, Part 1

  1. So now we know why you were working till nine or ten (or later) on Monday. Hope you’re able to get a better judgement than you fear. And did you still get to see Logan? If yes would you recommend it?

    Sometimes the route you take through a gamebook is a lot like deciding between whether to drive at 160 kph or to enjoy the scenery as you go. There are arguements for both options but it really boils down to how enjoyable do you find the authors writing. In the case of CD I preferred to put things off as long as possible.

    Avoiding spider webs always strikes me as a good idea, even if there are no spiders (because you can never be to sure), the fact that it leaves your kill total at zero would be a drawback to some people … well, ok, to me, but my view is a bit like Han Solo running back to shoot an extra stormtrooper, he wouldn’t do it. Lone Wolf should folliw the Solo path.

    I’d forgotten how smug Colin Firth looked after the radio speech. And Yah, you’ve joined Travig, pity your presence probably dooms him.

    Roll on next installment.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Guys!
    Watch out! You have 9 backpack items! And your final EPs are 28 not 27 (Waistcoat +2EP and Chanimail +4EP). Furthermore, it would be fair to calculate again how much money Elzians have given to you at the start of the adventure, adding then your previous GCs and 6 you have found searching the poor Kakushian knight. Your truly GB’s lawyer Matteo 😀

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I remain puzzled as to how two bunches of berries equal either a rope or a large towel. I speak as one whose job includes measuring at a glance how much space different size and shape bottles will take up, Gamebooks however occupy a different universe.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

