Castle Death

Castle Death, Attempt 3, Part 5

Aside : The Lorestone of Herdos, when grasped, restored my Endurance to the original total, and I didn’t reflect this in the summary at the end of the last entry.  Just confirming that my Endurance, as at the start of this entry, is 28.

At the end of the last post, I strode confidently (!) into a beam of light which promised to teleport me to the surface.

After suffering through a significant amount of colour dialogue, it is confirmed that I have been whooshed, Star Trek style, back into a building on the surface of the island. However, for supervillain-related reasons, the building into which I emerge (within sight of the beach) promptly starts crumbling around me.

star-trek-transporter-1280jpg-883390_1280w

I have the urgent choice of descending the steps to the old jetty (!), heading direct to the beach, or diving from the cliff into the water ‘far below’.

I’m pleased to report that, on this occasion, at least, I do in fact remember the advice of Paido’s brother, and specifically, his dying declaration regarding a boat being hidden behind the old jetty.

 

raw (1)

 

Thanks, Ms Bell.

As I head towards the jetty, the book decides that, for some reason  ‘creatures are crawling out of the ground itself’ and I have to fight my way to the bottom of the steps.

When I reach that point, I am dragged to the ground by [and this is a direct quote] ‘a clutch of loathsome slaves’.

 

giphy3

 

Aside : Hmmm.  I think I’ll come back to this in my ‘conclusion’ post..

From a game-playing point of view, the more concerning development is that my Backpack is ripped from my shoulders, and I lose the entire (!!) contents.

Bye, Jar of Laumspur, I hardly knew you.

I do, though, manage to break free in time discover the small boat behind the said jetty steps, and paddle frantically away as the supervillain lair collapses behind me.

Hang on.

 

What’s this at the end of this paragraph?

Turn.

To.

350!

 

giphy4

 

Basically, now that the danger is gone, boats surface from every angle, wellwishers surround me and, once I am dragged onto his boat, Lord Ardan congratulates me effusively.

Project Aon link – Lord Ardan

Now that I’ve taken out his enemy for him (!) all of a sudden he’s a lot more forthcoming – stating that my ‘purpose and destiny’ are known to the Elder Magi and that they have awaiting my coming for thousands of years.

With all these gifts of prophecy and divination, it would have been nice if they’d dropped a line to the Kai Monastery a couple of days before a certain feast of Fehmarn, but never mind that now…

Apparently the next Lorestone that I must find is located in what used to be the home of the Elder Magi, in what used to be their most sacred temple.

Is it just me, or is it starting to look like recovering each Lorestone involves doing the Magi’s dirty work for them?

Anyway, this is a short entry because I didn’t know how close I was to the ending of the book at the end of the last part!

I’ll bang out a conclusion next, before my jungle adventure!

Base Stats : CS : 18, E : 22, GC 33

Final Stats : CS : 33, E : 28

Weapons : Sword, Dagger

Weapon-Like Special Items : Silver Bow of Duadon (+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS), Jewelled Mace, Dagger of Vashna

Backpack :

Special Items : Brass Whistle, Copper Key, Map, Crystal Star, Shield (+2 CS),  Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, Diamond (3), Ornate Silver Key, Quiver (6 arrows), Boat Ticket, Power Key, Fireseeds (2), Platinum Amulet.

Kai Monastery storage : Map of Tekaro, Potion of Laumspur (+4E)

Magnakai Rank : Primate

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+3 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace, Dagger), Pathmanship, Huntmastery, Divination

Lore-Circles : Fire (+1 CS, +2 E)

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Paragraph : 350

12 thoughts on “Castle Death, Attempt 3, Part 5

    1. Prophecy and Divination involve someone/thing seeing a developing situation (or even planning it) and giving warnings/notifications of same.

      I assume the “Celestial physics” you mention involve light from unrelated parts of the Universe that started coming before the Human race even existed still being able to give practical advise despite all the MASSIVE kinks in human history (in ours the development of evil and the windows operating system, in the Magnamund universe the universe was initially set up as a peace project between the major powers, after it was up and running and inhabited they violated the peace treaty to turn it into a warzone which would have rendered all inbuilt prewar prophetic systems null and void). So IMHO they are totally different things.

      If you just meant the local planets (Venus is in retrograde) then thats a different arguement but I’d still have the same view.

      /Fenrir digs the deepest hole he can dig and proceeds to cower while his stringy tail quivers betweer his mangy legs/

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes I mean our local galaxy, but these celestialvl principles have their foundation, if not their genesis in the creation of the whole universe and all of its galaxies. Venus retrograde is a very problematic transit.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. According to the dictionaries Divine comes from the Latin meaning “god” (not as in The God, but as in A god). I’m open to being shown the pictures bigger than that.

        Of course, in relation to your original post, our Author has pointed out more than once that we shouldn’t confuse the Character Lone Wolf, who lives in a world where gods do show their hand, with the hansome, erudite, eclectic and debonaire Timothy Byrne who (believes) he doesn’t.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Unfortunately losing your Backpack is unavoidable here.

    This book is all right, but it kinda feels more like Fighting Fantasy than Lone Wolf to me (albeit much more fair and not so insanely difficult to beat as most Fighting Fantasies). It’s pretty disconnected from the rest of the series in several respects.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So the question was not would Lone Wolf survive Kasan Oud but would Kasan Oud survive Lone Wolf. Well, many people dream of owning their own island, you got to destroy your own island. Congratulations.👍

    You also got your very own Star Trek experience, (sure, we now all have mobile phones and foors thst open and close for us but has puny science given us teleporters yet? No it has not !😠). Btw, the more you get to explore in the first part of the book the more you see just how hollowed out Kasan Oud was (they were trying to tunnel beneath the lake to get under the Elder Magi’s forcefield I mean powershield. The only thing keeping it up was Lord Zahda proving that all complications can be solved if you throw enough magic at them (ok ok, you summed it up with “for supervillain related reasons).

    Attacked by a “Clutch of loathsome slaves”. Firstly I don’t expect people to take my side, I’m just speaking now and I won’t argue with your comments in the Conclusion. All thats going through my mind is after Jack and Rose came off the Titanic Jack whacked a panicking man to save Rose, there was no way that panicking man would survive after that, but it was also the only way Rose would have survived. I also remember a documentary about a disastrous shipwreack in the Baltic where due to the tilt in the ship many couldn’t even get to the deck of the ship, and those who did … were first robbed by an impromptu gang who grabbed the main exit, disasters don’t stop crime.

    If you’d elected to run through the passages it might have made more sense because there you see the Castle Death society has broken down completely and everyone is at each others throats. Those slaves may or may not have known you were the cause of the destruction, they did know their old world was falling apart and you looked like you had some loot that would help them be more than slaves in their new world.

    And even if they DID know you were the cause of the destruction why do you imagine they’d be grateful? Most of their former associates are dead because of YOU! Their hopes and dreams of going up the ladder have been destroyed by YOU! All they know about the Elder Magi is they keep sending psychopaths to attack their home while saying its “for their own good”, why will they be enthusiastic about falling into their ancient enemies hands? This paragraph is based on their knowing who you are and what you’ve done, I don’t actually believe they did.

    “But in the literature slaves are brave noble souls who are eager and ready to fight for Good and their freedom”. Meantime in the real world slaves are human and some were as bad as the very worst masters while most were inbetween and not everyone is afterwards proud of how they act in disasters.

    The book doesn’t say you were attacked by noble slaves, it doesn’t say this was a last attack by Zahda’s loyal minions and it doesn’t say they were loathsome because they were slaves, it says you were attacked by slaves who were loathsome. Interpreting this and the other comment to mean that Joe Dever wrote that Blacks are vile and should be kept as slaves runs contrary to the “Ebony” Vakeros being the only ones to give refuge to the Elder Magi and the white skinned Lord Rimoah BOWING to the Dark-skinned/Ebony-skinned Lord Paido. Knee jerk reactions to depictions of black slaves does noone any good. For the record, Dublin was the main slave trading city in Europe but our history books don’t like to mention it, also I recently read an article claiming as many Irish slaves were sent to the Americas as African slaves and while I might query the exact figures its true it was a horrifying number. Slavery (from Slav or Eastern European) has always been used by all colours on all colours (was going to say nations or races but figured someone would be able to prove me wrong, would still like to hear of one that never had slavery though).

    /Fenrir now SHUTS UP on this subject/

    As you padfle away do you hear yourself again saying “There was room for two Rose”?😜

    In fairness to the lack of warning over the prophesy you hear it in the next book and its rather vague (surprise? NOT!).

    Yes you are now doing the Elder Magi’s job for them, because you have just bern promoted by your own actions to their apprentice. Congratulations.👍
    Don’t think of it as slavery, view it more as a form of indentured servitude white man 😉

    And yet again when you say its a short entry I point out that you’ve packed in so much. My two regrets arethat my post is longer than yours 😳 and nowhere near as funny 😣

    Roll on the conclusion and my clamping my halitosis emitting jaws shut.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ok, I have to go all Snopes on the Irish slavery claim. The Irish were generally indentured servants who earned their freedom in 7 years of labor. The Africans had no way to earn their freedom unless they somehow came into a large enough sum of money to purchase it.

      I don’t think the slaves of Kazan Oud were going to be released after 7 years.

      http://www.snopes.com/irish-slaves-early-america/

      Liked by 2 people

    2. Thank you very much justsomeguy, that was a very informative article. Aussiesmurf has previously recommended Snopes for extra information, need to start using it more myself.

      In school I had one story in Irish class about one’s being sent to the Americas as slaves by Cromwell, it was implied there was a lot of this at the time but that part of our history is rather … flavoured.

      Cheets ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

