The Jungle of Horrors

The Jungle of Horrors – Background

lonewolf08bb1

By the look of that cover, I’m thinking someone had just might have been watching a documentary about the Seven Cities of Gold, hmmm?

At any rate, the background is as follows :

  • Now that I’ve actually done (at last part) of their work for them, the Elder Magi are a little more forthcoming in terms of information which might help me.
  • There is an ancient legend of theirs which tells of the coming, centuries apart, of two great ‘sons of the sun’ – one an eagle (presumably Sun Eagle, the first Magnakai) and one wolf.  Lucky, I guess, that the Kai Administrator who named me didn’t go with Muad’Dib, or Grey Star.
  • After Agarash the Damned was defeated by the Elder Magi (after a war lasting 1,000 (!!) years) the Magi built a great temple in what had previosly been his area of domination – the Danarg.
  • However, when a plague later decimated the Magi the temple and the surrounding area was abandoned and eventually overrun by swamp and jungle.
  • On an even darker note, the Darklords have united behind a new leader – Gnaag (not Joshua, or Simon, as one might have hoped)
  • I must therefore set off on my quest, interrupting the lessons on Kai lore that the Elder Magi have now been giving me (which, again, would have been handy around, oh, BOOK THREE!)

Now to practical preparations. I think there are two main choices for my new Magnakai Discipline.  Nexus seems to be the most ‘used’ Discipline so far, but Invisibility will allow me to complete the Lore Circle of Solaris, giving handy bonuses to Combat Skill and Endurance.

Given the anticipated temperature difficulties in a jungle wilderness, I was going to go for Nexus, but then I remembered that the Platinum Amulet which I collected in the last adventure essentially serves the same function as Nexus (indeed the Lone Wolf wikia specifically describes it as ‘mimicking the effects of Nexus’).  So I hope that my Amulet will be enough in this regard, and instead take Invisibility.

Hello, increases of +1 (Combat Skill) and +3 (Endurance!

In terms of equipment, I note a new rule, which limits the number of Special Items which I may carry to a maximum of twelve.  As my LEGIONS of fans will remember, I also lost the entire contents of my Backpack at the conclusion of the last adventure.

Before anything else, I get a map of the relevant region (see here for a copy) along with 13 Gold Crowns.

So I firstly take the Potion of Laumspur from storage and put in the new backpack that I’ve taken off the storage rack that the Elder Magi keep.

I can take five (5) items (!!) from the selection offered, and I take a Meal, a Rope, a (self-lighting) Lantern, another Potion of Laumspur and 3 Fireseeds.

From my Special Items, I put the following into storage : 2 of my 3 Diamonds, the Boat Ticket, the Power Key (unless I gave it back to the Elder Magi), the Copper Key, the Jewelled Mace, the Brass Whistle, the Dagger of Vashna and the Ornate Silver Key.

Lastly, before I set off, I am pleased to learn that my advanced (yet geeky-sounding) rank of Tutelary makes the following Disciplines even better as follows :

Weaponmastery – Due to my Kai-fu, I only lose 2 Combat Skill points if forced into unarmed combat.

Invisibility – I can distract enemies by drawing their attention away from a hiding place (through skills such as ventriloquism, presumably).

Pathsmanship – Unless seriously injured, I can detect an enemy ambush (wouldn’t that be more Divination / Sixth Sense?)

Divination – Similiar to the Force, I can detect the presence of objects or creatures with magical skills.

Enough preliminaries – let’s go through the jungle, into the Temple, find the Lorestone and evade the giant rolling ball!

You know what I mean.

 

 

Base Stats : CS : 19, E : 25, GC 46

Current Stats : CS : 34, E : 31

Weapons : Sword, Dagger

Weapon-Like Special Items : Silver Bow of Duadon (+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS),

Backpack :Potion of Laumspur (+4E) (2), Meal, Rope, Lantern

Special Items : 1. Sommerswerd 2. Platinum Amulet, 3. Crystal Star, 4. Shield (+2 CS),           5. Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), 6. Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) 7. Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, 8. Diamond, 9. Quiver (6 arrows), 10 Fireseeds (5), 11. EMPTY, 12. Silver Bow of Duadon.

Kai Monastery storage :

  • Backpack Items :
  • Special Items : Mao of Tekaro, Diamonds (2), Boat Ticket, Power Key, Copper Key, Ornate Silver Key, Jewelled Mace, Dagger of Vashna, Brass Whistle.

Magnakai Rank : Tutelary

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+3 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace, Dagger, Spear), Pathmanship, Huntmastery, Divination, Invisibility

Lore-Circles : Fire (+1 CS, +2 E), Solaris (+1 CS, +3 E)

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Paragraph : 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “The Jungle of Horrors – Background

  1. Shouldn’t you have 5 fireseeds now? You carried over 2 from the last adventure, and you just got another 3 from the Elder Magi.

    Also, I don’t think the map that comes with the book counts against your Special Items cap. This is probably just as well because in a number of books you’re given another Special Item in Section 1 and told to discard an item if you already have 12. (It’s always a matter of “Oops! Sorry we didn’t tell you about this item while you still had access to safe keeping, but now you’re going to have to pitch the Sommerswerd so you can take along this Magic Token so that someone can recognize you later even though everyone in Magnamund knows who Lone Wolf is by this point.”)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Bullet point one may have typo, did you mean to say “(at least part).

    2) If it was prophesied that the son who came was a wolf he’d have been a wolf at least by the time he reached the Elder Magi. Your name was changed when the monastery fell anyway. And the Shianti already hsd Grey Star (but it would have confused historians no end if there had been two Grey Stars running around at the same time).

    3) Yes I laughed also at “not Joshua, or Simon” but is there some additional reference there I’m missing?

    4) Yes, Elder Magi training at an earlier stage would have been useful, but you can’t learn gymnastics when you’re still waddling.

    Yes, yes, we remember the stealing of the backpack, you were so angry over it you even launched a tirade at Joe Dever’s choice of words, yes, I do deserve a slap on the head for thay 💥🔫 /Fenrir howls, even he doesn’t have sympathy for himself/.

    NOT THE BRASS WHISTLE! You never know when you’ll be able to buy another horse with one of those. … probably never actually. While I’m not sure just what items you’ll need Ed is right you need to keep several slots free, basically dump what you’re not sure you’ll need.

    Onwards to the Swamp Thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 2. My name was changed, but it was still a ‘wolf’ name before the change (Silent Wolf).
      3. Just saying that it would be fun if the supervillain had a more prosaic name.
      4. Assistance would have been very handy when the King was ringing me up every time someone had an ingrown toenail and ‘only’ the Kai could help.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There is a predominantly serious gamebook which has as its main villain a Warrior Demon by the name of… Roger.

        Defeating him will be easier if you seek and follow the advice of the great wizard known only as… Brian.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Aye, the land could be quivering in terror of the dreaded Julian, leader of The Fearsome Five which includes Dick, Anne, George and of course Timmy the Dog/Hell Hound.

        While early teenagers want cool sounding names it must be remembered that all married men fear the dreaded Gnaag.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. To paraphrase a great Patton Oswalt bit, two teenagers showed him a script they wrote where skateboarders rescue a princess. She rewards them with two magic horses, Crystal and … Michael Tanner. Patton says, oh, you’ve got a friend named Michael Tanner, but no, that’s just the name of the horse. So Patton starts bloviating as an ancient warrior “I wield a sword forged in the pits of Hell, from black obsidian that fell from space, and it sucks the soul from those it slays! And its name, is GARY BLEVINS! Kneel before me, I wield Gary Blevins!” So, look for Lone Wolf and his Sommerswerd to fight a climactic duel against the Darklord Simon, and its Gary Blevins.

        Also, the irreverant, awesome musical comedy Galavant (check Netflix) had its disgraced king Richard buy a (bearded) dragon, and name it … Tad Cooper.

        Like

Leave a Reply

