The Jungle of Horrors

The Jungle of Horrors – Attempt 2, Part 4

When we left our dynamic duo, they had just watched the Magnamund remake of the 80s David Cronenberg movie, The Fly.

fe35e7ad99db2e855e01666d4ada72cd

For anyone who has seen it, they will know that a more appropriate tag line is “Be nauseated.  Be very, VERY nauseated.”

Onwards.  We scamper down the steps leading out of this sinister room and end up in a vast network of catacombs.  I gather these are a feature of every sinister temple that is found within a gamebook or RPG.

Luckily for us, and since Paido doesn’t seem to be any help, my basic Kai Tracking skill continues to earn its keep, and we navigate the mazy of tunnels without serious trouble, and eventually find a stone trapdoor, which opens into a courtyard located to the north of this deathtrap (or monastery, as it is apparently also called).

While staying in cover, we notice two monks guarding an adjacent building.  As we plan our next move, the monks quickly enter the building.

When I say ‘building’, I mean ‘stable’.  How do we know this?

BECAUSE THE TWO MONKS RIDE OUT THE ENTRANCE ON THE HORSES THAT BELONG TO PAIDO AND I!!

 

giphy3

 

In the hope of returning the ‘favour’, we enter the stables to find, luckily, a number of mounts, all of which are in excellent condition.  We saddle up two black stallions….

 

the_black_stallion

[Copyright infringement noted]

Aside : That is seriously a brilliant family movie that is now unfairly overlooked because it doesn’t feature any ogres or princesses.  Shame.

As we ride out of the stables at full gallop, we scatter four other monks coming to investigate.  One snottily hurls his sword at my back, but my possession of both the Huntmastery and Divination disciplines allows me to laugh at such a futile gesture.

We reach the north gate of the town without further incident, have the gate opened at our demand, and ride north into the hills.

Gosh – I’ve got a horse AND a travelling companion.  I have to think that one or both of them are….

41pamxavq0l

The track which we follow then passes, not one, but TWO interesting things!  There is a small stone cabin (complete with face at the window) and a ‘disused’ mine shaft.

Do we want to be distracted by one or both of these things?

I figure that asking at the cabin may give me information about the mine, so I check that out first.

Knocking at the door doesn’t get any immediate results, so Paido goes to check out the back door while I enter at the front.  We’re a regular Riggs and Murtaugh!

Luckily, before I enter, my skill of Divination helpfully informs me that the occupant of the hut is standing by the door, veritably poised to attack me as I enter.  With this foreknowledge, I draw a weapon before charging through the door.

Bring on the ambush!

 

8cd01ac1d4621c4dcb34db4ba484a4ee

 

As I enter, the ambusher, or ‘Rogue Miner’, tries to cave my head in with a pick handle.

My MEGASWORD and I laugh in his general direction!

Project Aon link – Rogue Miner

Rogue Miner – CS : 17, E : 25

Lone Wolf – CS : 34. E : 29

Some very average R10 checks mean that I actually do, in fact, lose 4 Endurance before sending the Rogue Miner the way of the Gnaag Helghast.

Naturally, just as my foe falls dead at my feet, Paido manages to hack his way through the back door.

Gee, Paido…

thanks-for-nothing

As I step casually over my attacker’s corpse, we note that the cabin is replete with sacks of solid silver.

Looks like that mine wasn’t so ‘disused’ after all.

Did someone say…..LOOT?

Until I find something more vital for my quest, I take three (!!) sacks of silver in my trusty Backpack.  I’m also quietly hoping Paido hasn’t been watching the Treasure of the Sierra Madre recently.

And if you don’t get that reference, or haven’t seen that movie – WHAT’S WRONG WITH YOU??

We now inspect the mine entrance, but pause when I see a sign warning people to keep away, along with a somber notice memorialising miners who have died.

Notwithstanding this, we do, in fact, hear the sound of hammer on stone deep inside the mineshaft.

The chances of an instadeath by cave-in, combined with the fact that we already have as much silver as we can carry, leads me to consider that entering deeper into the mine isn’t worth the risk.

Hi-ho, silver!

…….

………………………

[crickets]

 

We progress further through the valley before the track which we are following rises to a ridge in a group of hills.  My Huntmastery skills removes the need for a Meal at this point, but a more serious issue comes before us as we reach the ridge and view the valley below…….

 

 

Base Stats : CS : 19, E : 25, GC 34

Current Stats : CS : 34, E : 25

Weapons : Sword, Dagger

Weapon-Like Special Items : Silver Bow of Duadon (+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS),

Backpack : Wrist / Fingerguard, Rope, Lantern, Meals (2)

Special Items : 1. Sommerswerd 2. Platinum Amulet, 3. Crystal Star, 4. Shield (+2 CS),           5. Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), 6. Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) 7. Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, 8. Vial of Clear Liquid, 9. Quiver (6 arrows), 10 Fireseeds (5), 11. Pass, 12. Silver Bow of Duadon.

Kai Monastery storage :

  • Backpack Items :
  • Special Items : Mao of Tekaro, Diamonds (2), Boat Ticket, Power Key, Copper Key, Ornate Silver Key, Jewelled Mace, Dagger of Vashna, Brass Whistle.

Magnakai Rank : Tutelary

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+3 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace, Dagger, Spear), Pathmanship, Huntmastery, Divination, Invisibility

Lore-Circles : Fire (+1 CS, +2 E), Solaris (+1 CS, +3 E)

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Paragraph : 152

9 thoughts on “The Jungle of Horrors – Attempt 2, Part 4

  1. I’m gonna take you to the bank, S̶e̶n̶a̶t̶o̶r̶ ̶T̶r̶e̶n̶t̶ Darklord Gnaag. To the blood bank!” I don’t care that it’s not from the Seagal movie you referenced.

    Every time I see Caleb Deschanel’s name, I think, yeah, he’s a celebrated cinematographer who’s worked on many great movies, but his real legacy is his two hot and talented daughters.

    How does some guy armed only with a pick-axe handle and a BEER GUT tag a KAI MASTER for -4 Endurance?!?!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Paido would have joined you sooner but, well, you remember how in Kingdoms of Terror one of your greatest fights was against a door? This time it was Paido’s (Pie-Doe’s) turn. Your throwing away light valuable diamonds while lugging heavy bags of not as valuable silver would probably the Kai Monasteries accountant a nervous breakdown.

    But the wsy you were plunging headlong into the mine before swerving away at the ladt minute nearly gave me a heartattack. Well played Aussiesmurf, very well played.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

