The Jungle of Horrors

The Jungle of Horrors – Attempt 2, Part 8

We return to our intrepid heroes!

Paido and I stroll away, shaken but unbruised, from our encounter with a giant….

[Hi to frequent commenter Fenrir – how you doing?]

Aside : Please don’t hate spiders.  They really just want to mind their own business, and without them, insects would overrun the earth.

Anyhoo, back to me and my blundering sidekick.

Those incarnations of Lone Wolf who don’t possess the skill of Huntmastery have to eat a meal at this time (suckers!) and Paido once more pretends at competence by ‘hoping’ that we reach our destination by sundown.

I resist the urge to politely ask him to……um…..I don’t know……..go back and check if the giant spider is actually dead?

051a02d3f1d4b0651248247ccda9189e274436-wm

Since even a stopped clock is right twice a day, Paido’s prediction about our time of arrival is on the money, and we reach the abandoned temple by late afternoon.

Sauntering past the description of ‘inlaid and decorated with gemstones’ and ‘strata of precious metals’, Paido, being useful twice in a row (!!) chants a mantra taught to him by the Elder Magi which causes the triangular doors to the temple to open before us.

Aside : I have a sneaking suspicion that the doors were unlocked the whole time, and that Paido was desperately engaging in some mumbo-jumbo just to try to impress me.

1481650202-m-see-right-through-you

First, the good news.  We enter without further incident, and Paido manages to avoid accidentally collapsing the whole building around our collective ears.

On a raised dais, I do, in fact, find the Lorestone of Ohrido (!!) and if I wasn’t already in full health it would have restored my Endurance to maximum.

Project Aon link – Lorestone of Ohrido

As I steel myself for the long journey back through the jungle, Paido FINALLY earns his wage for the day, revealing that this temple actually contains (!) a working skyship of some description called a Levitron, which can apparently take us through the skies back home, avoiding a repeat of the deadly encounters met on our way!

tenor2

Aside : Any warrior mage worth his salt would have mentioned this, you know, somewhere near the start of the adventure, so that I didn’t hoard supplies and items which weren’t going to be needed for the trip back.  I guess Paido didn’t mention it because he was just TOO BUSY trying to find dry clumps of twigs to step on.

Just as we take off, and while I’m starting to notice that I haven’t yet been asked to turn to the fabled paragraph 350, there is a ‘sudden and terrifying shriek’.

Aside : There’s a fair chance that the person shrieking didn’t have internet access and just found out the name of the current United States President.

tenor3

But no.

A squadron of Kraan, ridden by Vordaks are instead homing in on our skyship.  I roll my eyes, thinking of what boneheaded thing Paido must have done to reveal our location.

My Sommerswerd (*ahem* MEGASWORD) handily deflects a sheet of blue flame fired from the staff of one of the Vordaks, and I have to face two of them, one at a time, in combat.

I have to reduce my Combat Skill by 2 due to their mental attacks, and a further 2 due to their immunity to Mindblast, but I at least do get to double all damage inflicted by me, due to the Sommerswerd.

Vordak #1 – CS : 22, E : 28

Lone Wolf – CS  : 30, E : 31

Round 1 :

My R10 of 3 does (9×2) = 18 damage to the Vordak (E=10), while I suffer 2 damage (E=29).

Round 2 :

My R10 of 6 finished off Vordak #1, at the cost of a further 1 damage (E=28)

Vordak #2 – CS : 21, E : 26

Lone Wolf – CS : 30, E : 28

Round 1 :

The Vordak succumbs to my MEGASWORD for the loss of another 1 Endurance (E=27).

Paido is being attacked by a number of Vordaks (Vordai?) and is ‘allegedly’ fighting with a ‘tiger-like tenacity’.

Aside : Are tigers particularly renowned for their tenacity?  Who knows.

shrug-house

More importantly, while I am pondering such existential questions, one of our adversaries swoops past, dropping a cluster of ‘black crystal cubes’ on the deck of our skyship.

Although I already have my suspicions, my Divination skill confirms that these cubes are, essentially, grenades, and that an explosion will rupture the mechanism keeping us in the air.

I (oh so reluctantly, I’m sure) leave Paido to fend for himself……

tumblr_m6zen6t2mx1romh6ko1_500

…and throw the cubes overboard, watching as they explode harmlessly in the swamp below.

As I turn, I now see that Paido, now that he didn’t need to actually, you know, defend my life, has managed to slay the bulk of his adversaries.  Unfortunately (for him) he is now snared in a net, which is carried off to the north by one of the Kraan.

Aside : The paragraph dealing with these events was a lot longer than that, but I skimmed through it pretty quickly, mainly because it kept trying to get me to have an emotional investment in the fate of Paido.

giphy8

Much (MUCH) more importantly, I am now directed to turn to….

350!

tenor4

For some bizarre reason, I think of Paido as being ‘abducted’ and am confident that we shall again, at some indeterminate time in the future, fight ‘side by side’.

Um, what?  Weren’t these same creatures trying their level best to kill him about five minutes ago?  Why on earth aren’t they just going to drop him into the jungle on their way back?  Also, don’t they understand the capacity this guy has for accidental destruction?  Bringing Paido to the home base of the Darklords may result in it being completely demolished without Lone Wolf even needing to lift a finger!

In any event, I manage to pilot (!) the Levitron back to the Elder Magi who are, doubtless, somewhere relieved that the walking disaster known as Paido has been taken off their hands.

Sadly, I am now informed that the Darklords have not been idle in my absence,  They are waging a war on several fronts, and have overrun the southern provinces of Sommerlund, including the outpost of Ruanon.

Some city known as Tahou (presumably a sister city to Lake Tahoe) is my next destination!

Wonder which arch-enemy of the Elder Magi coincidentally lives in the alleyways of that bustling metropolis?

Base Stats : CS : 19, E : 25, GC 34

Final Stats : CS : 34, E : 31

Weapons : Sword, Dagger

Weapon-Like Special Items : Silver Bow of Duadon (+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS),

Backpack : Wrist / Fingerguard, Rope, Lantern, Meals (2), Sacks of Silver (3)

Special Items : 1. Sommerswerd 2. Platinum Amulet, 3. Crystal Star, 4. Shield (+2 CS),           5. Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), 6. Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) 7. Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, 8. Vial of Clear Liquid, 9. Quiver (4 arrows), 10. Fireseeds (3), 11. Pass, 12. Silver Bow of Duadon.

Kai Monastery storage :

  • Backpack Items :
  • Special Items : Mao of Tekaro, Diamonds (2), Boat Ticket, Power Key, Copper Key, Ornate Silver Key, Jewelled Mace, Dagger of Vashna, Brass Whistle.

Magnakai Rank : Tutelary

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+3 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace, Dagger, Spear), Pathmanship, Huntmastery, Divination, Invisibility

Lore-Circles : Fire (+1 CS, +2 E), Solaris (+1 CS, +3 E)

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Paragraph : 350

16 thoughts on “The Jungle of Horrors – Attempt 2, Part 8

  1. “How you doing?”, he asks, as if he doesn’t know I’m quivering like a jelly with my toes clenched and one arm thrown protectively over my eyes😨😨😨. It slowly occurs to me that critcising Manowar may have been a mistake too far.

    I will comment further if I can work up the courage to risk seeing the 😨 again.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I must say, I’d never put together just how useless Peh-doo is until you blogged through the game. But in retrospect… If you take the barge he nearly provokes a bar fight. If you take the road and make the wrong choices, he actually provokes a bar fight. In Tharro he shows his ignorance of the Giak language (seriously, what self-respecting Vakeros warrior doesn’t speak fluent Giak?) and eats an obviously poisoned stew. And then in the Danarg he steps on every noisy twig in sight, and in one bad ending he “accidentally” pushes you off a cliff because he’s following too closely behind you. And of course there are all the battles that he somehow doesn’t assist you in.

    Yeah, let him rot in the Darklords’ prison.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I remember last year when Tim first wrote about spiders, I went shopping and found a jumper full of hairy black spiders in a boutique. I have never been the same since.

        Liked by 2 people

  3. When I last read our esteemed author’s post I was

    Having had several hours to recover, and also carefully avoiding … it … I am now

    (I really really really hope those gif’s work). You probably think its funny 😦

    “Please don’t hate spiders. They really just want to mind their own business”

    If spiders would stay in their OWN homes I wouldn’t mind so much but do then?

    (If that gif works I won’t be able to read this post…)

    But yes, I admit that they can be scared by humans also

    (If these gifs work I’m definitely NEVER looking at this post again)

    FTR, I deeply value and appreciate the incredible service that spiders give to enabling us to actually survive on this planet, but that doesn’t mean I want to kiss one

    On to the rest of your post/blog/article??? What’s the correct term for your main articles that I frequently comment on anyway?

    Re the Doors (not the band), all it actually says is that Paido “complete’s the complex procedure”. While I defend his warrior abilities all other criticisms have merit and a complex procedure for him could involve turning a door handle that might be a bit stuck or even trying to wave at a sensor.

    SEE! SEE! When Paido finally gets a chance to fight he takes on an entire SQUAD of Vordaks which is an achievement that Lone Wolf has yet to accomplish but does anyone care???

    Alas for the Henchmen, they can’t all be Nodwicks and even he’s unappreciated.

    As for learning to control the Levitron, basically the Elder Magi were both so advanced and so Good that they were able to make things that were … Simple … To… Use … nope even in a world with warring gods and divination I can’t believe that one either. More likely you found the Operator’s Manual but pretended it was just natural skill.

    Looking forward to your conclusion and onward to Cauldron. But I’d heartedly recommend you dump I mean put in safekeeping quite a few of those Backpack and Special Items.

    Now to see if my gifs worked

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

