The Cauldron of Fear

The Cauldron of Fear – Background

lonewolf09bb

Well!

It seems like it has been quite a while, what with holidays, and obituaries and so forth, but Lone Wolf has rested and fed, and is ready to, presumably, take out another historical enemy of the Elder Magi free of charge.

The ‘Story So Far…’ section recaps much of the previous few Lone Wolf books, and I won’t regurgitate that material here (although I did chuckle when it mentioned that in the previous book I had been ‘guided by Lord Paido’.)

Yeah, right.

If Paido had truly been responsible for my movements, Lone Wolf would probably still be wandering around the streets of New York, asking passing tourists for directions to either the ‘Danarg’ or a middling hotel.

hggxctr

In any event, for the remaining Background, bring on the bullet points!

  • In an unsurprising development, Vassagonia (since the delightful Zakhan Kimah is apparently still in charge) has come into the war on the side of the Darklords.
  • Given the prospective danger of the Darklord invasion to Sommerlund, I’m obviously keen to return home immediately to assist with the city’s defence.
  • However Banedon (completely with his flying ship of dwarven slaves) arrived bearing a clear royal command from King Ulnar to continue with my quest, rather than return to Sommerlund.
  • Wouldn’t want to have significant ethical choices or moral ambiguity, would we?
  • A clear conscience is a thing to be prized, mmm?

the-man-with-a-clear-conscience-probably-has-a-poor-memory-quote-1

  • Banedon confirms the royal edict that he [Banedon] and the skyship are to be placed under my command.
  • Aside : There is no indication as to whether my first command is “Pay those dwarves a living wage starting yesterday“.
  • Lone Wolf gets another promotion, now being awarded the title of “Warmarshall [sic] of the Royal Estates”.
  • I have no idea why Warmarshal is spelt with two ‘l’s.
  • This also apparently confers to Lone Wlf the automatic rank of General in the Sommlending Army, making Lone Wolf the ‘youngest ever’ (!) General.
  • In theory, Banedon will be extremely helpful for this mission, as he lived in Tahou (my destination) for two years as Journeymaster to the guild of magicians.
  • The ‘Cauldron’ of the title is a reference to the entrance to the ‘ancient metropolis’ which lies buried under the city.
  • Some kind of ‘eternal flame’ is lit in commemoration of our mission.  Alternatively, it is probably just a night-light for the Elder Magi to check their Twitter accounts while the last hope of Sommerlund continues to do their dirty work for them.

On to housekeeping matters!

I have to select another Magnakai Discipline.

I have to choose from Psi-Screen, Psi-Surge, Nexus, Curing or Animal Control.

I think my next priority should be attempting to complete the Lore-Circle of the Spirit, which will give a further +3 to both Combat Skill and Endurance.

Just on the off-chance there’s some massively difficult battle in Book 11.

This Lore-Circle requires Psi-Surge, Psi-Screen, Divination (already have) and Nexus.

Given that my Amulet should help in situations where I need Nexus, I select Psi-Screen, to prevent both those pesky instadeaths and Combat Skill reductions in battle with tough critters.

Although I doubt it will come up, I also get to pick another Weapon for Weaponmastery, and I pick……………I guess……………[EDITED] Quarterstaff.

mia-whatever-cat-grumpy-knatschig-shirts-kids-baseball-t-shirt

Now to equipment!

I get 12 Gold Crowns, which I add to my Belt Pouch.

I also get a Map of the Republic of Antari (which is, interestingly, NOT designated as a Special Item).

Project Aon link – Map of Antari

For (mumble, mumble) ‘reasons’  I then can ‘only’ take five items from the list provided.

I select the following :

  1. I replenish my quiver to the maximum of six arrows.
  2. I take two Meals (to replace the old ones in my Backpack).
  3. A potion of Laumspur (+4E)
  4. Three Fireseeds

I leave the following in storage :

  1. My secondary quiver, with the remaining four arrows.
  2. One of my Sacks of Silver.
  3. The Pass from The Jungle of Horrors.
  4. The ‘Vial of Clear Liquid’.’
  5. The Crystal Star Pendant, given that Banedon is with me for the time being.

I then decide……

Sorry, what?

wake-me-when

I’m getting there, alright, voice in my head?!

Thank you.

In any event, the last thing which I need to consider it the ‘improvements’ to my skills which come with my ascension to the SEXY rank of ‘Principalin’.

44aeb4a65f88147dcfb6f2488b6b7d5b

The improvements :

Invisibility – I can ‘mask sounds’ made as I move, assisting with ninja-style stealth.

Huntmastery – Telescopic vision, baby!

In our next instalment – we’re off!!

Base Stats : CS : 19, E : 25, GC 46

Current Stats : CS : 34/34, E : 31/31

Weapons : Sword, Dagger

Weapon-Like Special Items : Silver Bow of Duadon (+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS),

Backpack : Wrist / Fingerguard, Rope, Lantern, Meals (2), Potion of Laumspur, Sacks of Silver (2)

Special Items : 1. Sommerswerd 2. Platinum Amulet, 3. EMPTY 4. Shield (+2 CS),           5. Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), 6. Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) 7. Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, 8. EMPTY 9. Quiver (6 arrows), 10. Fireseeds (6), 11. EMPTY 12. Silver Bow of Duadon.

Kai Monastery storage :

  • Backpack Items : Sack of Silver
  • Special Items : Mao of Tekaro, Diamonds (2), Boat Ticket, Power Key, Copper Key, Ornate Silver Key, Jewelled Mace, Dagger of Vashna, Brass Whistle. Quiver (4 arrows), Pass, Vial of Clear Liquid, Crystal Star Pendant

Magnakai Rank : Principalin

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+3 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace, Dagger, Spear, Quarterstaff), Pathmanship, Huntmastery, Divination, Invisibility, Psi-Screen

Lore-Circles : Fire (+1 CS, +2 E), Solaris (+1 CS, +3 E)

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Paragraph : 1

12 thoughts on “The Cauldron of Fear – Background

  1. I am not sure if this comment will be allowed, and you may ask me to leave the forum after this and it’s not meant to be an Ad Hominem attack, but your support for that shrieking Islamist defies belief. You either have never had family serve in the armed forces ( I have, both deceased and current), or …I just don’t know what??!! She has 364 other days in the year to bleat about her agendas but she chose a day when many Australians, are remembering fallen loved ones and currently serving loved ones. One of my best friends lost her brother in Afghanistan 5 years ago, I was one of the first friends she called.. I have 2 first cousins in the Army, one of them currently in Papua New Guinea and one being deployed somewhere that we are not being told, because something big is coming and the whole world is going to know about it. Both my Grandfathers fought in the 2nd World War and Malta was bombed over 1000 times by the Germans in WW2, my Grandmother lost 3 children because of falling debris.
    If you can’t understand why what she said was so inappropriate, so insensitive, so arrogant, then I have nothing else.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. OK, but back to the point, did she choose the wrong day? I don’t think of Aussiesmurf as one to shirk the central issue, it would play right into Aussiegragamel’s hands….

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I fully support her right to free speech. She can say whatever she wants but this woman is an idiot. You simply cant take her seriously anyway. She shrieked on national television that “Islam is the most feminist religion on the world”.. I swore so loudly my children came running to see what happened. Her choice to do it on ANZAC day was premeditated and was meant to mock, deride and diminish the meaning of ANZAC. All this coming from a woman who would have had her genitalia sliced off if she remained in her homeland of Sudan. She mocks the men and women that have fought so that she can be an idiot in public. What os really guiling is that she has the temerity to mock Australians whilst on the public purse.

        Like

      3. I’ve been sick in my stomach the last day because I messed up badly in an attempted conversation over an ongoing problem (unimportant here). I’ve a feeling I’m going to do that again.

        On Easter Sunday people in Ireland celebrate that when a large portion of the male population were dying in France in the hope of sparing their homes from war some religious fanatics drunk on the idea of blood sacrifice decided to turn a modern city (Dublin) into a bombed out warzone URK /sounds of severe beating/ I mean when the evil brits were calously throwing away the lives of brave Irishmen a handful of self-sacrificing patriots valiently rose up in arms to continue the ancient battle to free the emerald isle culminating in an independent state a mere six years later. Take your pick on the interpretation, you know the official one that’s been celebrated (by different groups who hate each other).

        So on that day people of different stripes enjoy the parade and air show and celebrate what they’re celebrating, namely the Celebration of the Rising to Liberate Ireland. Before and after that some individuals might mention … contradictory facts but on the day … well its like attending a Golden Wedding anniversary and reminding all that thirty years ago one of the happy couple got drunk and did the naughty. Its simply not the time or the place.

        Now, private one on one conversations are one thing, you can discuss whatever both parties want at any time there and the same for semi private blogs like this one. But if I was someone in the media and public relations (i.e. in the public eye and skilled in using it) and used that occasion to figuratively stand up and instead try to direct attention to my pet cause (e.g. the then court case in Russia to ban Jehovah’s Witnesses as extremist) it would simply not be the right time. Similarly if I later tried to hijack Tim’s poignant Anzac section to complain about the court having since banned us it would have rightly been “Fen, we’re sorry to hear that but this is not the place”. Actually I didn’t post anything at all there that day because being politically neutral I felt it would have been disrespectful of me to stomp in to a section devoted to brave men who did what I wouldn’t have done.

        Now Yassmin Abdel Magied has apologised, but frankly for someone who’s very media savvy it was at least an incredibly stupid thing to do (that said, I probably thrumped her Wednesday night, don’t ask).

        But lghr. I have to ask YOU a question. I read up about her and can see why you … dislike her. But if instead of posting that on Anzac day she had posted it, say, the next day, perhaps with a comment on “Yesterday we rembered but lest etc”, would you still have gotten so angry at her and made your comment? If yes then is there any number of days that would have made it acceptable? I ask because when we’re angry at someone anything they do makes us angrier, and potentially stupider, but when we like them anything they do is just “Oh, that just them all over”.

        P.s. I don’t know is it better/safer to uptick you guys comments or not to but I’ve done so on the grounds that I’m messing up everywhere anyway.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Tim has his Twitter Feed as part of the updates and regularly asks for comments on any subject. He can kick me off if he wants ..that is his choice.

        Like

  2. Have to nitpick here… It looks like you already picked Mace as a Weaponmastery weapon earlier and now have it twice. Are you trying to game the rules and get a +6 CS bonus? 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You’re never alone when you’ve voices in your head 😮 … just saying.

    Also that first book cover always puzzled me. One of the soldiers has a blade in his belly that looks like it came in through his back (could there be treachery in this book? Nah) and I couldn’t work out what the bad guys were meant to be.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

