The Cauldron of Fear

The Cauldron of Fear – Attempt 3, Part 3

Lone wolf has just, with his MEGASWORD, caved in the head of a ghoul.

A good day’s work, no?

You’d think so, but a number of the ghoul’s work colleagues seem to be taking Lone Wolf’s completely understandable act of self-defence personally, and collectively want to discuss the relevant issues.

In response to their queries, I must consider one important point :

Do I have a bow?  Or, even better, a MEGABOW??

tenor7

My fired arrow (without even the need for an R10 check!) pierces the heart of the leading creature.

Aside : Since they are undead, how an arrow to the heart would affect them in any way whatsoever is best left as a question for another day.

I decide against immediately running up the nearby stairs, and rather draw the Sommerswerd, ready for battle.

The ghouls, like most scavengers, when confronted with firm opposition start to melt away.  I notice one of their number who was apparently perched in an elevated position, intending to jump on me from above. It also retreats, but not before dropping an ‘odd-looking token’ near me.

Plot coupon, anyone??

I think it might be.

When I pick it up, the hexagonal piece of metal spontaneously combusts in my hands (!?)

Just like one of Spinal Tap’s drummers….

 

Aside : If you haven’t seen that movie already, and laughed yourself silly, WHAT’S WRONG WITH YOU?

Back to the burning piece of metal.  Before it has shriveled away to a crisp, I note for future reference that it is engraved with the number ‘6’.

sloth-interesting-meme

I climb up the nearby stairs, and the gaze from the top through the adjacent archway at the ruins of a city which is now, after thousands of years, both in ruins and languishing underground.  It is, of course, the legendary metropolis of Zaaryx.

Project Aon link – Ruins of Zaaryx

My need to eat a Meal is obviated by my Discipline of Huntmastery but, on a more pressing matter, I note a shadowy figure to my left.

I don’t (yet) have the Lore-Circle of Spirit, so I can’t tear myself away from the possibly interesting thing!

As I come closer, I see that this creature is another ghoul, although one with a ridiculously swollen skull and a long black tongue dripping a disgusting ichor….

So, for comic book readers, a cross between Hector Hammond and Venom, then?

On a more worrying note, the creature raises its hand and sends a ‘cone of mist’ towards my chest.

Project Aon link – Underground ruin

Once again, I must acknowledge that I lack the skill of Psi-Screen, and this time it is going to cost me 6 points of psychic damage.

The battle is on!

The good news is that I can double damage, due to the power of the Sommerswerd.  The less good news is that the ongoing psychic attack of this creature causes my Combat Skill to be reduced by 4.

So for the purpose of this battle :

Lone Wolf –  CS : 30, E : 24

Psi-Ghoul (Psi-Ghoul?? Really?)  CS : 20, E : 30

Round 1 – My R10 of 9 makes this combat a short one, and the Ghoul (I’m not saying     ‘Psi-Ghoul’) falls at my blade.

Interestingly, the creature drops a ring which I somehow (!) identify as a Psychic Ring which, for whatever reason, I place in my pocket rather than attempting to wear.

Project Aon link – Psychic Ring

I now wander around the ruins for some time, presumably calling out for help desperately.

Hopefully I remember that calling out “Is anyone there” is a death wish in this kind of fiction.

1fe7f54dcaeea6000785a983fe3ff916f63d5817f6e335e581f8f506da41943c

In what may or may not be good news, I spy some other living inhabitants of this dank underground city.  Unfortunately, they are a group of lizard-like bipeds grouped together and stroking (!) a ‘large, leathery egg’ (!)

Project Aon link – Reptilian Creatures

Whatever keeps you going, I suppose.

giphy15

Like an idiot, I call out to them, and they grab their ‘egg’ protectively and slink down another flight of darkened stairs.

I light my Lantern, and notice another (!) hexagonal piece of metal dropped by them in their flight.

Aside – At the rate these baddies are dropping things, you’d think one of them could have dropped the Lorestone by now, yes?

Having learned from the combustion of the previous token, I don’t pick up this one, but I do note the number of ‘320’ as engraved into the metal.

e729650290e16d02f8965c760c3c5598_vtalo-ill-remember-that-gif_500-315

Having checked out the plot coupon, I carefully make my way down the stairs, alert to any ambush or trap.  There is a ‘slightly ajar’ door at the bottom, and my lack of a Mirror means my choices are that I can either walk through it, or push it open and drop to the floor, wary of traps or surprises.

The second option sounds good, and I am relieved to note that, as I push the door open, a bolt of fiery energy blasts harmlessly over my head.

As I now charge through the door, I see two of the creatures standing with the Magnamund equivalent of a flamethrower, and my sudden assault catches them on the hop.

Project Aon link – Crocaryx with weapon

Due to my charge, I am immune from damage for the first two rounds, although the creatures are, also, immune to Mindblast.

Lone Wolf – CS : 32, E : 24

Crocaryx – CS : 12, E : 38

My R10 result of 0 in the second round secures my victory without the chance of Endurance loss.

As I savour my victory, I start fret about Hawthorn’s chances on Saturday night…..

 

Base Stats : CS : 19, E : 25, GC 0

Current Stats : CS : 34/34, E : 24/31

Weapons : Sword, Dagger

Weapon-Like Special Items : Silver Bow of Duadon (+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS),

Backpack : Vial of Gold Dust, Lantern, Blanket, Altar Cloth, Flask of Water, Sacks of Silver (1), Flask of Boza

Special Items : 1. Sommerswerd 2. Platinum Amulet, 3. Invitation 4. Shield (+2 CS),           5. Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), 6. Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) 7. Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, 8. Psychic Ring 9. Quiver (5 arrows), 10. Fireseeds (6), 11. EMPTY 12. Silver Bow of Duadon.

Extra Special Item : Receipt

Kai Monastery storage :

  • Backpack Items : Sack of Silver
  • Special Items : Mao of Tekaro, Diamonds (2), Boat Ticket, Power Key, Copper Key, Ornate Silver Key, Jewelled Mace, Dagger of Vashna, Brass Whistle. Quiver (4 arrows), Pass, Vial of Clear Liquid, Crystal Star Pendant

Magnakai Rank : Principalin

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+3 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace, Dagger, Spear, Quarterstaff), Pathmanship, Huntmastery, Divination, Invisibility, Nexus

Lore-Circles : Fire (+1 CS, +2 E), Solaris (+1 CS, +3 E)

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Paragraph : 46

4 thoughts on “The Cauldron of Fear – Attempt 3, Part 3

  1. I’m sorry Aussiesmurf, but outside old Dracula movies bumping off a single undead does not count as anything special. But Dracula does also show not all undead should be shot in the head. Actually in Nahash The Sorceror (Warhammer book), the Zombies had to have their hearts destroyed to defeat, I remember being deeply offended by the blasphemy against The Romero.

    Boy, when you need Psi-Screen you really need Psi-Screen. Thats eleven points you’ve lost to it in the last two entries.

    You know, I think thats the first hand held Laser Lone Wolf has faced so far.

    So all the best Saturday. Remember if Hawks get roundly trounced you just say “That’s to make the next game more exciting.” … I’m trying to coach my sort of Lawyer on what to say, I think I need to go dunk my head in a bucket of ice.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If you want badass evil vampires that don’t take any crape from anyone, try the wild and crazy Necroscope series by Brian Lumley (although be prepared for gore, weird sex, time travel, travel between parallel worlds, talking with the dead, etc etc.).

      I gotta be honest – the intense debates between fans about what zombies / vampires can or cannot do is somewhat hilarious, since we’re talking about fictional creatures that don’t have a single origin story.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That expression “be prepared for” implies that what follows isn’t perfectly normal everyday reading (well, ok, I tend to skip over or avoid sex scenes, weird or … they’re all weird, but otherwise if you’re going to read something to get away from your day to day life then the limits are there to be pushed).

        I’m glad you find hilarious our hurt feelings and frustrations at the arbitrary rewriting of the rules of the world, I certainly find my reactions from the time funny too. In one Herculeus the Legendary Journey episode when beset by fast moving Zombies Iolaus cried something like “What ever happened to the slow moving zombies we used to know and love???” Personally, while I really enjoyed the remake of Dawn of the Dead I still prefer the slow shambling Zombies for the simple reason that I’ve a chance of outrunning them…. well, 10 years ago I had a chance of outrunning them :/

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Btw, one of the neatest twists imo was an Australian Vampire Zombie movie. Basically, first the towns war dead from the Vietnam War were encased in a mausoleum but when it was broken they escsped as vampires so the town and the survivors of the first night are quarantined with land mines. So in desperation they get an old Aboriginel to raise the towns WWII war dead as Zombies to protect them. That works for the first fight. But then the Zombies look at how the town has changed and decide they’ve more in common with the Vampires as they’re all war dead and they unite to escape the quarantine. The Old Aborigine is very smug.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

