The Cauldron of Fear · Uncategorized

The Cauldron of Fear – Attempt 3, Part 4

After wiping out the Crocaryx, I reflect on the comforting fact that I am stranded, alone, lost, surrounded by enemies, and am busy wandering aimlessly around an underground complex.

duddj

That’s……a fair point.  Thanks, Tyler.

After creeping down the corridor which was being guarded by the Crocaryx (is that singular or plural? Or both, like fish?) I descend a flight of stairs which opens into a ‘massive chamber’.

The floor is made of ‘steely-blue metal’ (!!) and a hundred darkened archways line the walls.  Conscious of the risk of ambush (and of leaving scuff-marks on this beautiful floor) I glide silently and watchfully across the room, towards two gigantic doors of platinum (!!!)

ada14e7460c99a6f609211f95cb1b762_the-7-ps-in-memes-finding-value-in-your-small-business-liam-o-shiny-meme_500-464

Resisting the urge to simply try and pick up the doors and dash to the nearest pawnshop, I note the four (slightly science-fiction-esque) buttons positioned on the doors, decorated with numbers.

Hmmm – haven’t I picked up a total of four numbers from conveeeniently placed plot coupons scattered through this dungeon?

ksnknt3

I enter the remembered numbers (326, since you ask), and the door whirrs hopefully. However, it doesn’t open.  Rather, I hear a voice in my head saying –

She has always had a crush on you, Lone Wolf.  She channels thoughts of you during every romantic movie she was ever in…..

87e9e123962b207a467f87b062fe8361

NOT THIS TIME LONE WOLF, BUT NEVER STOP DREAMING ABOUT MS DELPY.

Actually, a telepathic voice refers to needing ‘this key’ in order to open the door and, when I turn around, I see what is apparently a female Crocatryx, holding a rod of Korlinium.

She is not alone, and sends a follow-up message which I quote word-for-word here :

“You are unlike the other man-things that have dared to enter Zaaryx. What is it that you seek?”

Hmm.

Maybe what sets me apart is the green cloak and MEGASWORD.  I can tell the truth, or prepare to defend myself.  Interestingly, there is no third option of telling a convincing lie…..

Preparing for battle appears premature, and I always prefer the option of talking my way out of trouble.  Works for lawyers, more often than not.

Well, at least the good ones.

Aside : Sorry for the distraction – I have four matters in Court in the next three days….

I make a mini-speech about being a Kai Lord, and seeking the Lorestone to vanquish the ‘spawn’ of Nyxator’s enemies.

My eloquence charms the lady as it has done so many times…

Aside : Actually, it hasn’t done that very much at all, since I can count the number of women with speaking roles in these books on one hand.

iva1013coverstorymi60092-resize-600x338

In any event, the door opens and, to cut a long story short (too late, I hear you say) she leads me through many twisting corridors to a larger chamber with a raised dais in the middle.

Project Aon link – Chamber with dais

The tiers surrounding the central dais are now apparently filled with approving spectators, who murmur with excitement and approval as the Lorestone appears in mid-air in the centre of the room.

Project Aon link – Lorestone

I grasp the Lorestone and its power restores my Endurance to its initial level, which is handy, because that psychic damage was really started to bug me.

In a moment reminiscent of the end of The Caverns of Kalte, or the end of Overlord!, I am magically transported to the place where the book needs me to be.

tumblr_m4520yngvy1r03018o1_500

The city of Tahou lies in ruins, with the invading Vassagonian army making steady progress against the defending forces.  I quickly try to make my way to the West Gate, where the fighting appears fiercest.

Using my vague memories of the final battle in this book, I coldly decline to assist a group of soldiers and get closer to the West Gate.  Once there :

  • I see regiments of Drakkarim soldiers making their way towards the city’s moat.
  • They have ominous siege equipment just waiting to make things difficult for the defenders.
  • A group of engineers are hastily repairing a bridge that has been quickly constructed to allow the invading forces to cross the moat.

Project Aon link – Besieged city

I whip out my MEGABOW and take aim at the engineer.  If I had no bonuses, I would only have a 30% chance of success.  With my Weaponmastery and MEGABOW, that gets adjusted up to 90%…..

giphy11

My R10 of……1 is (just) enough to succeed.

My arrow slices through the engineer’s throat (!) and causes a temporary retreat.

Further along the wall, a group of Giaks led by a Gourgaz are in the process of scaling the wall.

MEGASWORD IS GO!!!

Gourgaz – CS : 23, E : 34

The Gourgaz is immune to Mindblast, so…

Lone Wolf – CS : 32, E : 31

Round 1 : R10 of 4, Gourgaz loses 11, while I lose 2. (LW – 29, G – 23)

Round 2 : R10 of 8, Gourgaz is down another 18. (LW – 29, G – 5)

Round 3 : R10 of 6, finishes the fight, for the cost of 1 more Endurance.

WIth their leader down, the Giaks flee (surprise, surprise) and the breach in the defences is filled with mercenaries.

Aside : I promise myself not to mention, to the mercenaries, the solid platinum doors unless I REALLY have to.

My telescopic vision (thanks, Huntmastery) confirms that Banedon is leading the defence at the tower which joins the North and West walls and, for some reason, I resolve to join him.

tenor8

Will we meet again??

Only time can tell.

Base Stats : CS : 19, E : 25, GC 0

Current Stats : CS : 34/34, E : 30/31

Weapons : Sword, Dagger

Weapon-Like Special Items : Silver Bow of Duadon (+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS),

Backpack : Vial of Gold Dust, Lantern, Blanket, Altar Cloth, Flask of Water, Sacks of Silver (1), Flask of Boza

Special Items : 1. Sommerswerd 2. Platinum Amulet, 3. Invitation 4. Shield (+2 CS),           5. Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), 6. Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) 7. Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, 8. Psychic Ring 9. Quiver (5 arrows), 10. Fireseeds (6), 11. EMPTY 12. Silver Bow of Duadon.

Extra Special Item : Receipt

Kai Monastery storage :

  • Backpack Items : Sack of Silver
  • Special Items : Mao of Tekaro, Diamonds (2), Boat Ticket, Power Key, Copper Key, Ornate Silver Key, Jewelled Mace, Dagger of Vashna, Brass Whistle. Quiver (4 arrows), Pass, Vial of Clear Liquid, Crystal Star Pendant

Magnakai Rank : Principalin

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+3 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace, Dagger, Spear, Quarterstaff), Pathmanship, Huntmastery, Divination, Invisibility, Nexus

Lore-Circles : Fire (+1 CS, +2 E), Solaris (+1 CS, +3 E)

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Paragraph : 35

4 thoughts on “The Cauldron of Fear – Attempt 3, Part 4

  1. 😯 Yes thanks Tyler, but he’s describing whats probably about to become a permanent condition whereas you face whats hopefully a temporary one. Your Gif had me googling in weird places and apparently men can still / fit of coughing / afterwards, but in line with your later comment re Lone Wolf that may not be an issue.😉 At least with this one you know if you use it again everyone will remember.

    On the subject of things people remember, there’s no way I’m getting involved in The Grest Fish vs Fishes Debate again!!!

    Blus Steel. Ah yes, in the pre WWW days Joe Dever would go down to the library to research for each book. So was this a reference to rust resisting steel or just a throwaway fantasy line? No idea but I prefer to believe the first, and I thank google and wikipedia. And I want those doors also, they sort of put your sack of silver in perspective.

    While I sympathise with Lone Wolf’s unrequited love for Ms Delpy one has to begin to wonder has this stood in the way of his entering meaningful communication with real (in his reality) women. Btw, don’t know if you did the math but Flight came out in 1984 when Ms Delpy was “discovered”by Jean-Luc Godard who cast her in Detective, so they’re about the right ages for each other 😉

    I grumpily point out that Lawyers are paid to talk their CLIENTS out of trouble, not themselves. Aside, by the time I post this you’ll probably be in court, all the best over the next three days.

    Is it possible that the lack of speaking women is more to do with Lone Wolf’s eloquence, Green Cloak and general manliness leaving them speechless than Joe Dever thinking he was targetting a predominantly early teen male market? Nah!

    “I coldly decline to assist a group of soldiers”
    Oh Aussiesmurf 😐 I know times are hard but that one kicked me in the stomach worse than when you let the Torturer keep torturing in Assassin. (You died in Overlord eight times before deciding to rescue the Elf Maiden but you DID rescue said Elf Maiden so that’s different, just a shame you had to rescue her three times). You’re close enough to the end we really want you to win on this incarnation but if you don’t, remember “you’re the hero”!

    I still find amusing how the Gourgaz was the biggest fight in Flight yet here you face a tougher one and only lose 3 EP. The difference between the Master and the Initiate. As for telling the Mercs about the Platinum, since Joe Dever said in the Newsletters, thanks Project Aon, that they quickly died off once you left (why couldn’t they “Spit in Sightblinders Eye” /tm Robert Jordan/ and beam up with you to charge the Vassagonians with lasers pumping and Zaaryx Ghouls saliviating was left unsaid), the only reason for not telling them was if … you … wanted them … ah, always planning for a comfortable retirement eh? 😉

    But Christopher Robin and Winnie the Poo notwithstanding, as a sidekick Banedon is safer fighting off three enemy armies than having you near him.

    Btw. Without too many details I needed to get an associate to get up this morning and do what he needed to do. On Thursday I realised he was cracking under pressures and starting to run from things that actually strengthen him so I warned him about how our two modes are Fight or Flight (nicked shameless from Bujold’s Borders of Infinity) that once we run we keep running and he needed to “Stand And Fight”, before remembering Heart of Steel and nearly cracking up inappropriately. So this morning I rang maybe three times, kept going to answer machine, felt totally discouraged and useless and then heard Manowar and the crowd yell “Stand And Fight”. Ring, answer machine, Stand and Fight, repeat repeat repeat. Rang easily twenty times in all, he admitted he was hearing it and hoping it would go away but he got up, didn’t just do what he HAD to do but also helped others and was practically bubbly after because he hadn’t run from his responsibilities. I’m really proud of him because HE did it but I also appreciated Manowar chanting “Stand and Fight” (which you may remember you showed me when I’d a decision to make). That said I’m NOT playing him Hail and Kill, no way never!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Was the Psi-Ghoul Maghana’s son? Btw, i don’t know if it really matters, since i think Maghana is dead and gone underneath the town. And now prepare yourself, you’re going to face a dangerous enemy in the next section…ODDS: LW 1 to 3 … i bet on LW Tim!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. He’s never identified as such, nor is the ring. Joe Dever doesn’t seem to have answered the question. There’s several discussions on the net which all boil down to “I think”. Arguement against is that the Crocs made the Zaaryx Ghouls (using “raw material” provided by the thieves guild 😯) implying this was just a varient they produced. But ultimately its never clarified one way or the other.

      Like

Leave a Reply

