The Prisoners of Time

The Prisoners of Time – Attempt 1, Part 6

Aside : Before I start, I would be remiss if I did not mention that my beloved Hawthorn (17th on the AFL  ladder) played Adelaide (1st on the AFL ladder) on Thursday night.

What happened, you say?

DO YOU NEED TO ASK?!?!

*coughs*

*calms down*

Lorkon Ironheart and I were sipping on drinks like civilized gentlemen, and I filled him in on my adventures so far, while also providing summaries of the latest in ‘reality’ television.

He pulls out a map of the region, and confirms that I only have a window of about five ours to reach Tolakos before it will be overrun by the Chaos-Master and ‘his’ forces.

Aside : The Chaos-Master is referred to as ‘he’ and ‘him’, but that seems dubious, unless there’s a bunch of female Chaos-Masters running around that we haven’t heard of yet.

In any event, the deadline is clear :

myhc_6477

Well, if Magnamund or the Daziarn had clocks.

Aside : Speaking of which, how the heck do people in the Daziarn have a concept of an ‘hour’?  Remembering that this twilight zone doesn’t even have a sun (citing the description from the start of the adventure).

Anyhoo.

Ironheart shows that he can talk a good game with the best of them by stating that he ‘intends’ to occupy Tolakos with his army, but is awaiting reinforcements.  The second they arrive, he insists that he’ll be right there to help!

tenor4

Ironheart does promise the assistance of a scout (called Odel) who shall accompany me, and also offers to let me select items from the equipment tent.

Hang on, didn’t Senator Chil act exactly like this right before betraying me?

image

With not a lot of time to be suspicious, I make a quick detour to the armoury.   There isn’t a lot to choose from (as compared to my MEGASWORD and MEGABOW), but I do replenish my quiver to its capacity of 6 arrows.

Odel checks his arm-mounted crossbow, and packs a number of bolts for it.

Project Aon link – Crossbow and bolts

We slip over the wall of the encampment and into the woods, as I notice a velvet and orange (!) lichen.

Immediately after asking if I have the Magnakai Discipline of Curing (to which I reply in the negative) the book mentions that the ‘berry-like growths smell sweet and succulent, and asks if I want to eat them (!)

Yeah…..what was that, Admiral?

giphy23

Moving on (with no thanks to Odel for not giving me any advice about whether that potential food was poisonous) we pass a landmark called ‘Baylon’s Bough’, with Odel telling me that we are a ‘league’ (usually understood as three miles) away from our destination.

My Kai sense of Pathmanship kicks in and warns me that a hostile creature is lurking beneath a nearby leafy canopy, ready to attack with a blowpipe.

Aside : Wouldn’t Divination also assist in this instance?

In any event, I confirm that I have, not just a bow, but a MEGABOW.

I fire truly, and an Agtah sniper falls to the ground.  As Odel rushes forward to check the body, I remain watchful with my bow.  He finds nothing of interest, as another grey shape scurries away into the distance….

 

Image result for the one that got away

Pressing forward, we reach the burial grounds of Tolakos, and I am particularly interested in the Grand Sepulchre, as my Magnakai skills confirm that the two remaining Lorestones are within.

giphy12

….I say quietly.

Odel then comes up with some ridiculous superstitious mumbo-jumbo about how he can’t go into the Grand Sepulchre, but at least agrees to wait for me outside.

Aside : Hopefully he won’t end up like the dog in Jurassic Bark, in THE SINGLE MOST HEARTBREAKING PIECE OF ANIMATION EVER.

I’m not crying.

YOU’RE crying.

Damn hay fever.

Back to the Sepulchre, there is some kind of quasi-sci-fi code sequence functioning as a lock to the door.

Project Aon link – Melodorian lock

My Pathmanship and Divination skills don’t give me the correct answer to the puzzle (that’d be too easy) but helpfully confirm that choosing the wrong option ‘could be fatal’.

Hmmm.

I have four choices of which symbol to choose to complete the sequence :

Project Aon link – Possible lock solutions

Well….the key progression seem to be that the diagonally opposite symbols are identical save that the triangle is a different colour.

I therefore choose option C…..

And the door opens.

nailed-it_o_201328

Inside there is a statue with various empty caskets for future Ironheart family members.  I sense that the Lorestones are not present, and find a staircase at the rear of the chamber, along with a blue door.

My Sommerswerd comes through in the clutch and indicates that the portal at the top of the stairs is the way to go.

I race to the top, but as I make my way through the portal, I hear a loud crack (as if of thunder) accompanied by the dying scream of Odel.

Another sidekick falls victim to the inevitable call of destiny.

I make it onto the roof of the Sepulchre, itching to grab the Lorestones and get my revenge for Odel.

And the nature of the enemy will remain unknown until my next entry….

 

Confirming details of the JUNE FUNDRAISER :

As many of you may (or may not) have noticed, this humble blog has a ‘buy now’ button on the lower right-hand side.  This is for those who wish to make a financial acknowledgement of the work that goes into preparing 15,000+ words of gamebook goodness every month.

Any funds received will be used for the simple purpose of buying books, and particularly gamebooks.

There is the capacity to make both one-off and recurring donations, and, to make things a little more interesting, for this month of June I’m going to proclaim the following rewards :

Make any donation – Get namechecked in the blog, with thanks.

$5.00 (Aus) or more – Get namechecked and have me plug, on this blog, a web-page (including your own) of your choice (On the basis that same is not obscene or NSFW)

$20.00 (Aus) or more – Get namechecked, get the web-page plug, and have the responsibility for making a choice at some point during the playthrough of the current book.

$50.00 (Aus) or more – Get namechecked, get the web-page plug, have a choice in the book, and pick one of the Grand Master Disciplines at the start of Book 13 (if I get that far).

The above message will be placed at the bottom of each post for this delightfully freezing (in Melbourne) month of June…

Base Stats : CS : 22, E : 28, GC 10

Current Stats : CS : 38/38, E : 34/34

Weapons : Sword, Dagger

Weapon-Like Special Items : Silver Bow of Duadon (+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS)

Backpack : Vial of Gold Dust, Rope, Lantern, Potion of Alether (+2 CS), Potion of Laumspur (2), Meal

Special Items : 1. Sommerswerd (+8 CS) 2. Platinum Amulet, 3. Obsidian Seal 4. Shield (+2 CS),     5. Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), 6. Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) 7. Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, 8. Psychic Ring 9. Quiver (6 arrows), 10. Fireseeds (6), 11. Map of Daziarn 12. Silver Bow of Duadon.

Extra Special Item : Signet Ring

Kai Monastery storage :

  • Backpack Items : Sack of Silver (3)
  • Special Items : Mao of Tekaro, Diamonds (2), Boat Ticket, Power Key, Copper Key, Ornate Silver Key, Jewelled Mace, Dagger of Vashna, Brass Whistle. Quiver (4 arrows), Pass, Vial of Clear Liquid, Crystal Star Pendant, Receipt, Invitation

Magnakai Rank : Scion-Kai

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+4 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace, Dagger, Spear, Quarterstaff, Broadsword, Warhammer), Pathmanship, Huntmastery, Divination, Invisibility, Nexus, Psi-Screen, Psi-Surge

Lore-Circles : Fire (+1 CS, +2 E), Solaris (+1 CS, +3 E), Spirit  (+3 CS, +3 E)

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Current paragraph : 320

 

13 thoughts on “The Prisoners of Time – Attempt 1, Part 6

  1. The Chaos-Master is referred to as ‘he’ and ‘him’, but that seems dubious, unless there’s a bunch of female Chaos-Masters running around that we haven’t heard of yet.

    Well, the Daziarn’s Chaos-Master was male when he appeared in The World of Lone Wolf book 3, Beyond the Nightmare Gate. Any particular reason (other than ‘because chaos’) for your belief that the Chaos-Master should be female?

    (with no thanks to Odel for not giving me any advice about whether that potential food was poisonous)

    You’re a different species (judging by Ironhearts’s completely blank eyes), from a different world. How’s he supposed to know what effect local flora will have on your metabolism?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Both the people involved and the gamebook refer to the Chaos-Master with “him” or “his” and also call him a “god”. Regarding other “gods” in the Deververse Kai is definitely male, Alyss and Ishar (in the books anyway) are female. Maybe the CM’s aggressive wars of conquest and cruelty come from simple frustration.

        Lone Wolf and Avenger were both clearly influenced by D&D gods and most of them had genders. Just because he seems to be the only one of his kind doesn’t make him an it. Unless you have something else in the literature to contradict that.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Assigning gender to things that (pretty clearly) don’t have an actual gender is a consequence of languages where EVERYTHING has a gender (cf French, Latin etc) As someone who did french for 4 years and latin for 3, it was a complete nightmare remembering whether things like tables and swords were masculine, feminine or neuter.

        On a practical level, I can’t see how nebulous concepts such as ‘gods’ etc can really be assigned genders, although I acknowledge that it is certainly historical fact that most polytheistic traditions (Greek, Roman, Norse etc) ascribed genders to deities (along with all number of human-like characteristics).

        I just got a bit annoyed that this 30-foot monstrosity who is charging through the trees is clearly meant to be a ‘he’ for no particular reason….

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Bill Watterson made the best comment on genders

        http://www.gocomics.com/calvinandhobbes/2014/02/26?utm_source=ch_twitter&utm_medium=SocialMarketing&utm_campaign=scheduled_ch

        “nebulous concepts such as ‘gods’ ”

        The trouble is the very fact that they are and aren’t nebulous. In Polytheism a god is basically a powerful individual or thing (which is why you can end up with Emperor worship). The D&D gods were basically done up by monotheists trying to be polytheists. I’d honestly have no problem with whatever gender in the “rainbow” J.D. decided to give the CM, but as he went for one that’s the one I’d stick by. Has to be said though that Lone Wolf never seems to go, “Oh, that’s why they say he’s male”, he just lets others describe CM as male.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Perhaps the Pathsmanship advanced ability to “converse with any sentient creature” also allows Lone Wolf to understand exactly what they mean by whatever outlandish terms they use for time and distance. Or maybe some deity passed through and told them how long an hour was supposed to be.

    I’m not aware of any definitive proof that clocks don’t exist (if they have crossbows, then clocks aren’t out of the question), but on Earth, the passage of time had been marked in a variety of ways before the development of horology. Candles that burn at a constant rate (or anything else), liquids or particulate solids passing through a hole of fixed cross section, balls rolling down an incline; they might not be very accurate or practical, but they should be able to tell periods of about one hour.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Gloccus, you just taught me a new word. From reading it, I could guess in context that “horology” involved the study of time. If I’d only heard it, with no context, I might have guessed something completely different.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Horology is the study of measuring time; the study of time as an abstract concept is chronology. Clock- and watch-makers, especially those who deal in traditional clockwork mechanisms, are sometimes called horologists.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Salute to Ed and Gloccus for answering points I’d have raised and also for giving me a new word to confuse people with 👍

    Salute also to both Hawthorn and the Crows. Both sides fought hammer and tong with the advantage passing back and forth. Very thrilling to watch the highlights even with my son repeatedly saying, “You don’t watch the match” (I don’t but the highlights were exciting).

    I remember watching that episode of Futureama and my mum and I howling so loudly that my dad came running in to see what is wrong. No way am I watching it again, as in ever, damn hayfever is rampant on this side of the planet just now too.

    Noteworthy that for once a sidekick realises they need to get away from you, “After you, oh no, I couldn’t possibly go in with you, its um forbidden for me but YOU can go in, on you go” so Lone Wolf replies by pressuring him to stay so he’s dead within minutes. At least you might get a chance to avenge him. Roll on … the post you’ve already made

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Since Aussiesmurf and others keep raising the topic, let me say this season is the most even and unpredictable I have seen in nearly forty years of following the peak Aussie Rules competition. I went to one match that had three heart attacks in the crowd. Sadly one was fatal but he was an elderly fellow and it is not a bad way to go. Out of 18 teams, this week 17th beat 1st. Last week 17th beat 1st. We are just past the halfway mark of the season. 1st and 2nd from last year are 9th and 10th. Week after week, match after match scores are decided by less than a goal when both teams score 10-15 goals each. Chaos reigns and it is thrilling.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

