The Prisoners of Time

The Prisoners of Time – Attempt 1, Part 7

When we left our hero, he had lost yet another sidekick and was busily dashing up to the roof of a Grand Sepulchre in search of revenge.

tenor5

As Lady Bracknell said (well, almost said) in The Importance of Being Earnest :

“To lose one sidekick may be interpreted as misfortune, to lose fifty-three looks like carelessness….”

Once up the top, I see someone (something?) described as a ‘magnificent warrior’ who is riding a gigantic black bird.  In true action movie fashion, this warrior descends a rope ladder from his mount to snaffle the two Lorestones that are resting on the roof.

I guess ‘magnificent warrior’ is a term in the eye of the beholder…

Project Aon link – Scarlet Warrior and Lodestones

Aside : Admit it – the first time you looked at that picture, you thought the helmet was actually  the warrior’s face, right?

Or was it just me…?

Come on, Lone Wolf – focus!

MEGABOW – to my hand!

Given the heavy armour worn by this interloper, I need to choose where the warrior’s armour is weakest, and therefore where my arrow should be aimed.

This page had a few thoughts in this regard, and I ponder the options of visor, throat and chest.

The visor looks pretty sturdy, and aiming at the chest seems a sucker bet.

Aside : There’s a great moment in the Frank Miller comic ‘The Dark Knight Returns’ where Batman comments that the whole reason he wears a distinctive yellow and black symbol on his chest is to draw enemy fire to the (armoured) area of his chest, since he can’t protect his head in the same way.  Awesome.

I therefore aim for the throat, and need a 9 or more on my R10 check, after all bonuses are factored in.

With my +8 in bonuses, I feel pretty confident. and my score of 7 (+8) doesn’t let me down.

My arrow penetrates the side of his neck.  He  screams and pulls the arrow out, which those who have been reading my adventures for a while will remember is completely the WRONG thing to do.

idjut

In any event, as he tucks the Lorestones into his belt pouch, I dash forward to prevent his escape.

I fight him in his weakened state!

Scarlet Warrior – CS : 25, E : 30

Lone Wolf – CS : 38, E : 34

I strike a mighty (non-fatal) blow in the first round of combat, to which he reacts by leaping up the rope ladder, onto his tame bird and flying away.

I do manage to slash at his belt while he escapes, cutting loose one of the Lorestones which comes to rest on the ground, far below my current position.

Aside : The books are REALLY determined to make sure you only get one Lorestone at a time, aren’t they?

just-keep-moving

I can’t see the ground from the roof (due to the mist) but nevertheless dash down the stairs to (hopefully) locate the fallen Lorestone.

In an ABSOLUTE waste of time, I pause to contemplate my guide’s dead body, and to close his sightless eyes.

Aside : I’m not being hypocritical here – I have told my family very clearly that when I die, they should give away absolutely every body part that they can, and chuck the rest away.

*Ahem*

I reach the surface, but as I rush towards the Lorestone, I am set upon (naturally) by two Agtah scouts.

Because this passage wasn’t already enough fun, they are immune to Mindblast.

Agtah Scouts – CS : 26, E : 21

Lone Wolf – CS : 36, E : 34

Thanks to R10 checks of 1, 3 and 2 (!!) I lose 8 (!) Endurance points before despatching the foes.

This is of minor consequence, though, as in (literally) the next paragraph, I find the Lorestone and restore my Endurance to the maximum level.

giphy13

I also grab the warrior’s fallen sword, and note from the markings that it (and presumably the warrior) are from Haagadar.  My Magnakai senses manage to confirm that Haagadar is, in fact, the destination to which my prey is currently fleeing.

While I ponder the archaelogical history of certain swords, a (literal) army of Chaos-creatures emerge from the forest and, as I rush for the sanctuary of the Sepulchre, three tentacled monstrosities block the entrance.

Project Aon link – Three Octagtah

Mentally giving these three ugly and vicious monsters the nicknames of Eric, Don Jr and Ivanka, my Magnakai skill of Divination lets me know that Ironheart’s army is, in fact, on their way, and should be here within an hour.

On the down side, unless I find somewhere to, you know, hide, I’m dead.

Homer, be my guide.

source

The only two non-ruined options for me are the Grand Sepulchre (currently with an entrance guarded by the Trump-esque monsters) and Baylon’s Tomb.

Interesting choice : The Sepulchre is probably a better choice, but I’ll have to defeat these monsters to get in.  The tomb is a great unknown.

My MEGASWORD cries for blood!

Octagtah – CS : 12, E : 43

Lone Wolf – CS : 38, E : 34

There is also +2 to any Endurance loss, due to the ‘poisonous tentacles’.

28964260-fff3-11e5-8be1-338cb0cc9137_a27c7f04b25183510273e4abff60e401

Ehhh – call ’em whatever you want.

Round 1 – My enemies lose 18 Endurance.

Round 2 – My enemies lose 10, I lose 4 Endurance.

Round 3 – My enemies lose 10, I lose 4.

Round 4 – My enemies lose 9, I lose 5.

Aside : Seriously???  My R10 checks were 7, 2, 2 and 1!

In any event, I dash into the Sepulchre, and reach the roof without further disruption.

From there, I see that both armies are clashing on the plain beneath me.  Ironheart’s forces are temporarily successful, before their victory is cut short by a ‘thunderous roar’.

Project Aon link – Ironheart’s army temporarily victorious

Lone Wolf fans know what’s coming, but they and my other readers will have to wait till next time….

tumblr_n30blkbciz1r8h3l0o1_500

Confirming details of the JUNE FUNDRAISER :

As many of you may (or may not) have noticed, this humble blog has a ‘buy now’ button on the lower right-hand side.  This is for those who wish to make a financial acknowledgement of the work that goes into preparing 15,000+ words of gamebook goodness every month.

Any funds received will be used for the simple purpose of buying books, and particularly gamebooks.

There is the capacity to make both one-off and recurring donations, and, to make things a little more interesting, for this month of June I’m going to proclaim the following rewards :

Make any donation – Get namechecked in the blog, with thanks.

$5.00 (Aus) or more – Get namechecked and have me plug, on this blog, a web-page (including your own) of your choice (On the basis that same is not obscene or NSFW)

$20.00 (Aus) or more – Get namechecked, get the web-page plug, and have the responsibility for making a choice at some point during the playthrough of the current book.

$50.00 (Aus) or more – Get namechecked, get the web-page plug, have a choice in the book, and pick one of the Grand Master Disciplines at the start of Book 13 (if I get that far).

The above message will be placed at the bottom of each post for this delightfully freezing (in Melbourne) month of June…

Base Stats : CS : 22, E : 28, GC 10

Current Stats : CS : 38/38, E : 24/34

Weapons : Sword, Dagger

Weapon-Like Special Items : Silver Bow of Duadon (+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS)

Backpack : Vial of Gold Dust, Rope, Lantern, Potion of Alether (+2 CS), Potion of Laumspur (2), Meal

Special Items : 1. Sommerswerd (+8 CS) 2. Platinum Amulet, 3. Obsidian Seal 4. Shield (+2 CS),     5. Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), 6. Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) 7. Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, 8. Psychic Ring 9. Quiver (5 arrows), 10. Fireseeds (6), 11. Map of Daziarn 12. Silver Bow of Duadon.

Extra Special Item : Signet Ring

Kai Monastery storage :

  • Backpack Items : Sack of Silver (3)
  • Special Items : Mao of Tekaro, Diamonds (2), Boat Ticket, Power Key, Copper Key, Ornate Silver Key, Jewelled Mace, Dagger of Vashna, Brass Whistle. Quiver (4 arrows), Pass, Vial of Clear Liquid, Crystal Star Pendant, Receipt, Invitation

Magnakai Rank : Scion-Kai

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+4 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace, Dagger, Spear, Quarterstaff, Broadsword, Warhammer), Pathmanship, Huntmastery, Divination, Invisibility, Nexus, Psi-Screen, Psi-Surge

Lore-Circles : Fire (+1 CS, +2 E), Solaris (+1 CS, +3 E), Spirit  (+3 CS, +3 E)

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Current paragraph : 27

2 thoughts on “The Prisoners of Time – Attempt 1, Part 7

  1. Re Aside, yeah, I first thought it was his (her?) face all those years ago AND I thought it was their face this time too.

    Interesting comments on the weak points of armour, the scariest part was “If a knight could be unhorsed he would be set upon by men with long pointed knives”. 😮 And yes, I also remember the article on pulling out arrows (dig the fingers in so you can get a good hold on the stone head for pulling it out without ripping anything in the process and you were in more danger from an arrow than a bullet being among my least favourite parts. The wierdest bit for me remains that there’s so little literature from Europe and the Middle East on dealing with arrow wounds. They certainly had doctors who could write because we still have what they wrote, except not much on arrows it seems.)

    So … in the last post an Agtah scout/ambusher escaped you, in this one a Scarlet Warrior does. Does this represent a new more caring and compasionate Lone Wolf or just growing carelessness?

    Second Aside. You’re not even interested in having a grave yet you still get concerned about being a grave robber? Had a conversation with my wife a couple of days ago about what should be our funeral arrangements (its true, you have to have that sooner or later and it was actually for use in talking to someone else this week) and I said that for me they should just ask in the funeral home “What’s the cheapest option” before admitting that it would suit my biodegradable tendencies to be fed to animals (preferably after death rather than before). My wife was NOT impressed with that suggestion.

    “My MEGASWORD cries for blood!”
    And so do we!!!! Three fights in one post dispatching two spawn of chaos and three spawn of the bringer of chaos, that’s got to be some kind of record for you.

    But THIRTEEN EP’s lost??? In a battle with a trio with CS of TWELVE???? Ok, that’s also a record and not a good one. Maybe the CM felt annoyed at the depth of the insult in the names you gave to his spawn. I think it should go without saying that this is a good time to quaff every potion you’ve got and then some…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It was the 𝐦𝐚𝐬𝐤 that made you lose focus? And not that when the scarlet warrior reached down to grab the round, side-by-side golden Lorestones, they looked like … ahem …

    ᵗᵉˢᵗᶦᶜᶫᵉˢ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

