The Prisoners of Time

The Prisoners of Time – Attempt 1, Part 8

Aside : Before the entry proper starts, I would draw your attention to the June fundraiser for this blog, which is almost at an end.  For all those who enjoy my writing, I encourage you to kick in a small (or not so small…) contribution to keep me going.  The reward structures for contributions are set out at the end of this post.

Second Aside : There are a number of contributors (thank you!) who have not given me a web-page to which they wish for me to give a plug / shout-out.  Please let me know on the ‘Contact’ button!

Now –

giphy14

We all knew it was coming, didn’t we?

As Lone Wolf observes, from the top of the Grand Sepulchre, the clashing of the two armies, an inhuman roar shatters the air, and a monstrosity thirty feet tall (about 9 meters) emerges from the depths of the forest.

This, apparently, is the Chaos-Master (hereafter known as CM).  CM’s body is described as constantly shifting and changing, but the Project Aon picture depicts the CM as looking something like a cross between a Warthog, King Kong and Richard Nixon.

Project Aon link – Chaos-Master emerging from forest.

Lorkon Ironheart challenges this monstrosity to single combat, but this appears to be a futile gesture.  Using an uprooted tree (!!) as a club, the CM toys with the quick-moving Lorkon, until Lorkon slips and falls near the wall of my vantage point.

As the CM nears for the killing blow, I am close enough to strike!

Did someone say…..ambush?!

Image result for ambush gif

Yes, book, I have the Sommerswerd, and I draw it in preparation to strike!

In a complete cop-out, the CM apparently senses the ‘closeness of my goodly blade’ (which didn’t seem to be a problem right up until said blade was about to stab him in the eye) and I am therefore only able to strike a glancing blow.

I gulp a couple of Laumspur potions, bringing my Endurance up to 33.

The CM’s stats are (drum roll, please) :

Chaos-Master – Combat Skill : 44, Endurance 62 (!!)

The CM is immune to Mindblast, but not Psi-Surge.

I also get a one-off bonus of +2 to CS, just for this combat, due to my completion of the Lore-Circle of the Spirit.

So – to recap:

I have a natural CS score of 17, with an additional +5 due to Lore-Circle completion (22).

I have +8 CS due to my use of the Sommerswerd (30).

I get +4 CS due to Weaponmastery (including the +1 for high Magnakai rank) (34).

I activate my Psi-Surge, giving me +4CS, but costing 2 Endurance per round (38).

I continue to use my +2 CS shield (against a 30-foot demi-god!) (40).

I gulp my Alether potion, giving me +2 CS for this fight (42).

I get a one-off Lore Circle of the Spirit addition of +2 CS (44).

So, at the cost of losing 2 Endurance per round, I have the following stats for this battle :

Lone Wolf – Combat Skill 44, Endurance 33

Soundtrack for the fight – on loud!

 

Round 1 :

R10 of 9 (!!) Lone Wolf : 33-0-2=31, CM : 62-11=51.

Round 2 :

R10 of 5 – Lone Wolf : 31-2-2=27, CM : 51-7=44

Round 3 :

R10 of 0 (!!!) – Lone Wolf : 27-2=25, CM : 44-12=32.

Round 4 :

R10 of 6 – Lone Wolf : 25-2-2=21, CM : 32-8=24

Round 5 :

R10 of 5 – Lone Wolf : 21-2-2=17, CM : 24-17=17

We’ve reached parity of Endurance….Do I…

62273-dare-to-dream

 

…??

Round 6 :

R10 of 3 (frowny emoji) Lone Wolf : 17-4-2=11, CM : 17-5=12

Round 7 :

R10 of 7 (better…) – Lone Wolf : 11-1-2=8, CM : 12-9=3

Round 8 :

R10 of 4 – Lone Wolf : 8-2-3=3, CM : 3-6=……….

win

Oh yes, after all that build-up, Lone Wolf nails the Chaos-Master straight-up, no rules-bending, first try!!

The CM falls, gibbers, whines about umpiring decisions, sooks about ‘men’s rights’ and fades into nothingness!

All that is left is the….spilt blood!

gallery-1462115295-obama-mic-drop

Naturally, the Melodorians (and Lorkon) shower me with praise and adulation, having conquered their (thirty-foot-tall !!) enemy.

There are plans for a celebratory feast in my honour, but I regretfully pass, and I must hurry on to my destination.

Aside ; Why is the quest still that urgent?  The Chaos-Master has been vanquished, and the enemy army scattered.  What’s the hurry?

Anyway, Lorkon, showing an indifference to the lives of his men that is refreshing, offers me another expendable sidekick to guide me through the Nahgoth to the Plain of Guakor.

Who WOULDN’T volunteer for such a mission?

140421-certain-death

I do, in fact, accept the offer of assistance, and learn that my new (DOOOOMED) sidekick is named Arke, a wiry veteran with the whole ‘grey hair’ and ‘scraggy face’.

The journey through the forest takes 100 hours (!) and my basic Hunting skill means that I not only survive, but get 3 additional Meals in my backpack for the future.

I then farewell Arke (who, let’s face it, is escaping my presence while he still has the chance to do so) and am asked to make an R10 check.

I set off across the barren ‘Plain of Guakor’ which is NOT a Cantonese recipe, but rather a dreary panorama, also described as a ‘sea of dust’.

Project Aon link – Flying Zhengha

I then note, on the horizon, a flying beast (described as ‘dragon-like’) approaching me.

If only I had a local guide that hadn’t dashed off at the first hint of danger!!

With no particular benefit from a battle, I try to hide from the creature.

I curl up in a mound of boulders and hope for the best.

In an interesting R10 check, I need a 9 (!!) or more for success.

but_paper

Yes, that ‘But!’ may prove crucial, because my possession of the Magnakai Discipline of Invisibility means I can add 1 to the R10 check for EVERY Magnakai Discipline I possess.

With 8 Disciplines I like my chances….

And my raw R10 result of 5 backs my confidence up!

I wait for the beast to move on before I dare continuing.

phew

And as I recommence my journey across the desert, I leave my faithful readers pondering whether I can, in fact, complete this legendarily hard adventure on my first attempt!

 

Confirming details of the JUNE FUNDRAISER :

As many of you may (or may not) have noticed, this humble blog has a ‘buy now’ button on the lower right-hand side.  This is for those who wish to make a financial acknowledgement of the work that goes into preparing 15,000+ words of gamebook goodness every month.

Any funds received will be used for the simple purpose of buying books, and particularly gamebooks.

There is the capacity to make both one-off and recurring donations, and, to make things a little more interesting, for this month of June I’m going to proclaim the following rewards :

Make any donation – Get namechecked in the blog, with thanks.

$5.00 (Aus) or more – Get namechecked and have me plug, on this blog, a web-page (including your own) of your choice (On the basis that same is not obscene or NSFW)

$20.00 (Aus) or more – Get namechecked, get the web-page plug, and have the responsibility for making a choice at some point during the playthrough of the current book.

$50.00 (Aus) or more – Get namechecked, get the web-page plug, have a choice in the book, and pick one of the Grand Master Disciplines at the start of Book 13 (if I get that far).

The above message will be placed at the bottom of each post for this delightfully freezing (in Melbourne) month of June…

Base Stats : CS : 22, E : 28, GC 10

Current Stats : CS : 38/38, E : 10/34

Weapons : Sword, Dagger

Weapon-Like Special Items : Silver Bow of Duadon (+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS)

Backpack : Vial of Gold Dust, Rope, Lantern, Meal (4)

Special Items : 1. Sommerswerd (+8 CS) 2. Platinum Amulet, 3. Obsidian Seal 4. Shield (+2 CS),     5. Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), 6. Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) 7. Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, 8. Psychic Ring 9. Quiver (5 arrows), 10. Fireseeds (6), 11. Map of Daziarn 12. Silver Bow of Duadon.

Extra Special Item : Signet Ring

Kai Monastery storage :

  • Backpack Items : Sack of Silver (3)
  • Special Items : Mao of Tekaro, Diamonds (2), Boat Ticket, Power Key, Copper Key, Ornate Silver Key, Jewelled Mace, Dagger of Vashna, Brass Whistle. Quiver (4 arrows), Pass, Vial of Clear Liquid, Crystal Star Pendant, Receipt, Invitation

Magnakai Rank : Scion-Kai

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+4 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace, Dagger, Spear, Quarterstaff, Broadsword, Warhammer), Pathmanship, Huntmastery, Divination, Invisibility, Nexus, Psi-Screen, Psi-Surge

Lore-Circles : Fire (+1 CS, +2 E), Solaris (+1 CS, +3 E), Spirit  (+3 CS, +3 E)

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Current paragraph : 230

11 thoughts on “The Prisoners of Time – Attempt 1, Part 8

  1. YES!!! YES YES YES, /Much Fist pumping ensues/ HUT HUT HUT! WHOO HOO!

    You threw EVERYTHING into that battle and it paid off, barely but paid off. Yes CM nearly won, but nearly never won the race 😀.

    Back to work nowbut had to say HUT HUT HUT.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on beating the CM! Once the Mongoose reissue nerfed his stats a bit (which were reflected in the Project Aon version) he became much more reasonable than Zakhan Kimah.

    I’m worried you may come to regret facing those Octagtah though, because now you’re out of Laumspur and there are a few more battles coming your way :-\

    Liked by 2 people

  3. The Chaos-master also bears a strong resemblance to a certain American President whose entire political strategy is sowing chaos, discord, distrust, mayhem, and destruction.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I still like the imagery of CM ripping a tree out of the ground asan impromptu club. If nothingnelse it reinforces the point that he’s also environmentally unfriendly (which I too late realise I should have added to Nym90’s list).

    In fairness to what you call a “cop out” the idea of higher level characters sensing powerful items, especially of their or the opposite allignment, is a theme in D&D and comes up again in the series, that it enables Joe Dever to make the lives of honest players that bit more difficult was probably a bonus.

    And then you HOO HA’D!!! ☺ (No gifs today as I’m on the tablet but you certainly earned one).

    Whats the hurry? Lets see:
    1) World war currently rages on your own planet.
    2) Sorry, there’s actually a UNIVERSAL war going on
    3) Serocca informed you that the CM was practically a sideshow to the real conflict which is on your planet.
    4) The only way to get back is by using the Lorestone to open a gate in Haagador except someone else in Haagador is about to get said Lorestone so you may arrive to fine the gate again locked, the Lorestone lost and your hope of returning home,and there even being a hope to return to., with it.

    Thats the hurry.

    And well done on not killing off a companion for once, but you could have taken down the dragon with your Megabow … except could is never definitely would.

    I really really realy hope you survive this on one go, my nerves can’t take another battle with the CM. Roll on next time.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Apologies.

        First I was reading in the staff canteen and couldn’t play mamowar there (at least not without checking it out first).
        That night I tried the video but it won’t play (still won’t). So looked for a version on YouTube. After the initial scream I … couldn’t make out a word of it and quickly stopped. I then tried to find a copy with lyrics but that didn’t work quickly and had too much of too much to do.
        This afternoon at work I wrote my other replies which sort of wiped out my lunch break.
        So after twelve my time I read your comment and go 😔

        Frantic Googling Followed.

        The blood on YOUR sword was the blood of a god! Not a measly king (you haven’t actually killed any Kings as Avenger or Lone Wolf, but you’ve certainly carved and kicked in the face an interesting variety of rulers). As a dispassionate observer I noted the range of countries they’ve got fans in while my toes bounced up and down to the music. Hail and Kill you can cry after dispatching the CM as well as the triplets of evil. Also loved the guitar and drum work. Definite thumbs up to that song although Heart of Steel’s “Stand and Fight” and Carry on’s um “Carry on”;are easier chanting songs for me.

        FOUR KINGS OF METAL
        FOUR METAL KINGS
        TILL THE BLOOD ON YOUR SWORD IS THE BLOOD OF A KING
        TILL THE BLOOD ON YOUR HANDS IS THE BLOOD OF A KING.

        Thats a 👍

        Liked by 1 person

      2. As an Easter Egg to fans, they namecheck every single one of their previous albums in the lyrics to ‘Blood of a King’. Said albums being : “Into Glory Ride”, “Battle Hymns”, “Fighting the World”, “Sign of the Hammer” and “Hail to England”.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

