The Prisoners of Time

The Prisoners of Time – Attempt 1, Part 9

Aside : Before the entry proper starts, I would draw your attention to the June fundraiser for this blog, which is due to end tomorrow.  For all those who enjoy my writing, I encourage you to kick in a small (or not so small…) contribution to keep me going.  The reward structures for contributions are set out at the end of this post.

So!

After defeating the Chaos-Master, especially after such a build-up, the rest of this adventure should be a snap, right?

………..?

Right??

I continue to trudge across the bleak landscape of Daziarn, stopping to rest less frequently, presumably out of fear of further so-called ‘wandering monster’ encounters.

However, due to this harrowing trek, I grow more and more fatigued, and, if I was driving a car, this is when there would be a public service announcement urging me to pull over and have a nap.

drowsy-drivers-die1

As the sky and horizon begin to blur together, three flying ‘globes of darkness’ approach (!!) which gradually morph into the shapes of ‘black-hooded riders on demon steeds’.

Before I do anything else, I call plagiarism, of both the Nazgul and the Nazgul-lite Skull Bearers.

Some kind of psychic force emanates from these creatures, but my trusty Psi-Screen shuts that down right quickly.

Further, I use my advanced Psi-Screen skill to capture and control part of the psychic blast being directed my way.  As the riders, noting their initial failure, try to surround me, I use my Psi-Surge to engage them in a psychic battle of the minds!

1010

Shadow Reavers – Combat Skill 25, Endurance : 40

Now I have to make some stat adjustments for this battle :

  • My Healing Skill has restored my Endurance to the level of 13.
  • My CS bonuses for my shield, the Sommerswerd and Weaponskill don’t apply for this battle.
  • However, I get +5 CS for my 8 Magnakai Disciplines, and a further +3 for possessing the Psychic Ring.  I also assume that my Mindblast bonus of +2 is still operative.
  • There is a comment about how ‘Endurances bonuses due to armour’ don’t apply for this combat.  I’m not sure how that is meant to work in circumstances where I’m not at maximum Endurance.  I’m not going to deduct 6 Endurance right now, since I’ve gained Endurance from healing over the last 10 paragraphs.  If I was at max Endurance, I would deduct the 6 points.  House rule decision – I’m just going to leave Endurance as is.
  • My stats are therefore :

Lone Wolf –  Combat Skill : 32, Endurance : 13

Round 1!

My initial R10 of 2 (!) doesn’t get things off to a good start.

LW : 13-3=10, SR : 40-8=32

Round 2!

R10 of 6!

LW : 10-1=9, SR : 32-12=20

Round 3!

Another 6!

LW : 9-1=8, SR : 20-12=8

Round 4!

R10 of 5!

LW : 8-2=6, SR : 8-11=RIP.

giphy15

I’m down to 6 Endurance, but still alive and moving forward.

Sorry, what was that, Rocky?

Aside : You can hear the music in your head now, can’t you?  Admit it.

After my victory, the evil shadows fade into the swirling clouds which surround me.

At the centre of the clouds is now a ray of golden light and, LIKE AN IDIOT, I step towards it without asking questions.

The clouds part, and I spot a tall tower of ‘glistening white stone’ with a globe of golden light above it, radiating heat and illumination.

There is an open portal at the side of the tower which leads downwards, to a distant speck of light.

I’m still wondering what to make of all this……

Image result for images hmmmm

While I ponder this trippy sequence of events, I am informed that my completion of the Lore-Circle of the Spirit enables me to restore an R10 of Endurance points!

Unfortunately, that R10 is…..2.

giphy16

I enter the side of the tower and, well, I’m just going to quote the next paragraph in its entirety, because it is JUST THAT BONKERS.

“You find it impossible to resist the strange compulsion drawing you towards the light. Effortlessly you glide along the tunnel and emerge at the centre of a huge, transparent sphere suspended in a luminous yellow sea of oily liquid. Behind its seamless walls swim fish-like creatures, strange things with phosphorescent bodies and opalescent jaws. You stare in fascination as they swim around you, seemingly oblivious of your presence.”

I break out one of my all-time favourite gifs :

giphy17

I’m now transported by some kind of billowing mist across a shadowy terrain.  I am haunted by the faces of every single person / thing that I have ever slain, but my Psi-Screen shields me from any harmful effects of viewing this murderer’s row.

Aside : For comic book readers, this psychic trial seems to be of a piece with Ghost Rider’s famous ‘Penance Stare’.

In a moment fresh out of a Harry Potter movie, the visions now shift to happier memories, and for those continuity freaks, it can now be noted that Lone Wolf grew up in the village of Dage, did in fact have a mother and father, and also had a sister named Kari and a brother named Jen.  Jen apparently gave his life for me when I was six.

Aside : I actually remember this latter event as described in the first Legends of Lone Wolf book.  Regular Nightmare Fuel.

Just to complete the journey of WTF visions, I finally catch sight of the god Kai, who gives me a standard speech about it being my destiny to save the world, yada, yada, yada.

Doesn’t cure my wounds or give me any material help, but sure, thanks for the encouragement, dude.

And there, we leave Lone Wolf, hoping that the drugs soon wear off….

Confirming details of the JUNE FUNDRAISER :

As many of you may (or may not) have noticed, this humble blog has a ‘buy now’ button on the lower right-hand side.  This is for those who wish to make a financial acknowledgement of the work that goes into preparing 15,000+ words of gamebook goodness every month.

Any funds received will be used for the simple purpose of buying books, and particularly gamebooks.

There is the capacity to make both one-off and recurring donations, and, to make things a little more interesting, for this month of June I’m going to proclaim the following rewards :

Make any donation – Get namechecked in the blog, with thanks.

$5.00 (Aus) or more – Get namechecked and have me plug, on this blog, a web-page (including your own) of your choice (On the basis that same is not obscene or NSFW)

$20.00 (Aus) or more – Get namechecked, get the web-page plug, and have the responsibility for making a choice at some point during the playthrough of the current book.

$50.00 (Aus) or more – Get namechecked, get the web-page plug, have a choice in the book, and pick one of the Grand Master Disciplines at the start of Book 13 (if I get that far).

The above message will be placed at the bottom of each post for this delightfully freezing (in Melbourne) month of June…

Base Stats : CS : 22, E : 28, GC 10

Current Stats : CS : 38/38, E : 16/34

Weapons : Sword, Dagger

Weapon-Like Special Items : Silver Bow of Duadon (+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS)

Backpack : Vial of Gold Dust, Rope, Lantern, Meal (4)

Special Items : 1. Sommerswerd (+8 CS) 2. Platinum Amulet, 3. Obsidian Seal 4. Shield (+2 CS),     5. Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), 6. Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) 7. Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, 8. Psychic Ring 9. Quiver (5 arrows), 10. Fireseeds (6), 11. Map of Daziarn 12. Silver Bow of Duadon.

Extra Special Item : Signet Ring

Kai Monastery storage :

  • Backpack Items : Sack of Silver (3)
  • Special Items : Mao of Tekaro, Diamonds (2), Boat Ticket, Power Key, Copper Key, Ornate Silver Key, Jewelled Mace, Dagger of Vashna, Brass Whistle. Quiver (4 arrows), Pass, Vial of Clear Liquid, Crystal Star Pendant, Receipt, Invitation

Magnakai Rank : Scion-Kai

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+4 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace, Dagger, Spear, Quarterstaff, Broadsword, Warhammer), Pathmanship, Huntmastery, Divination, Invisibility, Nexus, Psi-Screen, Psi-Surge

Lore-Circles : Fire (+1 CS, +2 E), Solaris (+1 CS, +3 E), Spirit  (+3 CS, +3 E)

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Current paragraph : 100

One thought on “The Prisoners of Time – Attempt 1, Part 9

  1. Hmm, you get killed and everyone comments, you appear to go on a severe acid trip and everyone quietly waits for the next post. :/ Oh, well, what’s a post without some inane, irrelevant and irreverent comments from “Moi”!

    Ok! Everytime I look at that sign I think, “In one km they stop and execute all drowsy drivers, Australia is TOUGH on road safety”. Probably unfair to the Australian Road Safety Authority (or whatever its called) but that’s how it looks to me.

    “Plagiarism”. Probably, but they’d have to be on steeds or you’d just walk quickly away and the hooded cloaks convey an air of menace (the modern day equivalent being balaclava’s I suppose /deliberately leaving out possible row material/). So, basically somewhere along the line J.D. would have had hooded and cloaked riders on fell beasts whether the Nazgul existed or not. Oh, and I thought it was silly of you to be carrying the Psychic ring since Tahou, my bad.

    I just have to hear Rocky’s name to hear the tune.

    “strange things with phosphorescent bodies and opalescent jaws”
    Hands Up, Did anyone else have to look up at least one of those words?

    “haunted by the faces of every single person / thing that I have ever slain”
    I have to wonder did this partly come from the habit of certain players /Fenrir whistles uninnocently/ to save paper by using one sheet for all the combats of an incarnation of LW resulting in one long list of bloodshed and carnage.

    I remember the Jen scene as well but it didn’t have the same effect on me. I guess I was just starting to get really fed up with the books by then and they’d only started. I might appreciate them more now but it was too much of a contrast between their treatment of … well everything and my view of it.

    “I finally catch sight of the god Kai, …Doesn’t cure my wounds or give me any material help, ”
    Unfair. First he’s reminding the character (but not so much the player) why they choose to follow this course that should save the universe (remember your rant

    “What’s wrong with an otherwise ordinary individual achieving greatness through skill, courage, daring and honest intent?”

    well this was basically a pep talk to LW to keep up the courage, daring and honest intent and what human doesn’t need encouragement to do what they know they ought to do every now and again). Of course how effective this is on the player when the player’s only choices are play the book or don’t play the book is another matter.

    Also he did give you a chance to restore up to 10 EP, now his fault that your R10 was so low. And in the next post we see other help he provides. But, yeah, extra help would have been useful.

    Now to the heartwrenching tragedy which is your next post 😥

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

