The Prisoners of Time

The Prisoners of Time, Attempt 1, Part 10

Aside : A massive thank you is in order to everyone who contributed to this blog’s June fundraiser!  Specific thank yous, along with web-page plugs, will occur over the next couple of posts!

tenor

Before we move to Lone Wolf, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention one of the GREATEST BURNS IN THE HISTORY OF LIVE TELEVISION.

For those who don’t know, Piers Morgan, the dude in the middle, is one of the most pompous, arrogant gasbags in the history of television.

Watch and enjoy.

I’ve watched it 20+ times and still love it.

When we left Lone Wolf, he was either (1) coming down from an extremely bad acid trip or (2) had just received a generic pep talk from Kai, a god.

When the fuzzy colours of the experience recede, I perceive that the mysterious mists have deposited my physical body at the base of a sandstone cliff, at the top of which is Haagadar, the ‘forgotten city of the Sandai’.

Project Aon link – Haagadar

I have two possible routes to take to the city – the climb up the cliff (described as ‘near-impossible’) or a more unorthodox route – through a visible sewage channel.

I have flashbacks to the last time I travelled through a sewer – when in Vassagonia I contracted Limbdeath and was crippled, temporarily.

I think climbing up the cliff, by contrast, will probably involve some kind of R10 check, where the consequences of failure will probably be fatal.

Hold your nose, team – we’re going into the sewers!

giphy

I kick to one side the grille which is at the entrance to the sewer channel and make my way (thankfully) along a walkway to the side of the channel of waste, rather than wading through the disgusting mixture itself.

Some glowing fungi provide suitably creepy illumination, and as I trek towards the city surface, I start to sense that something ‘hungry’ is moving along the passageway towards me.

A gigantic serpent is approaching, described as being attracted to the ‘warmth and scent of [my] body’.

Those Axe Body Spray ads TOTALLY lied to me about what I’d attract!

8757d

I’m told that my only way of getting out of this is to delay the advance of the serpent, and am asked if I possess four (!) Meals.

I was wondering about the reason for getting 3 Meals worth of food from the forest!

I do, indeed, have four Meals.  I quickly throw them on the floor and flee up some convenient stairs, as the sewer snake stops to consume the discarded food.

Aside : If the snake was attracted to the scent and heat of my body, why on earth would scattering dried food on the floor serve to halt the advance?  Curious.

In any event, I manage to reach the city through a portal in the ceiling, and commence to walk the streets.

Bizarrely, although I’m in some kind of shadow gateway between worlds, this seems a ‘normal’ city, albeit with scantily populated streets, where those who do venture out cover their noses and mouths as protection against the salt and sulphur which pervades the air.

Not to worry – such facemasks are not only functional, they can form part of a bold fashion choice!

SCMP 30JAN13 CH SMOG12  masks.JPG

I reach a central square where I sight the scarlet warrior’s mount (the black-winged bird) and I also sense the proximity of the final Lorestone.

The central Temple of the Sandai is guarded by two time-servers, who hopefully won’t prove too much of a difficulty.

I reject the option of trying to enter the Temple through a vent in the roof, and confidently approach the guards.

I cover my face like the other inhabitants, and make some vague claim to the guards about being ‘summoned’, and that ‘they’ wish to see me right away.

Hopefully my disguise works better than it did for these guys:

 

Heh.

My skill of Invisibility assists with my deception, and they allow me entry, apparently confident that I’m about to be punished by those in charge for some minor infraction.

I quickly move into the temple, and dash by various locked doors, driven like a homing beacon towards the Lorestone, which is obviously nearby.

I enter a larger hall, with various paraphernalia associated with alchemy strewn over a table near the entrance.  At the far side, I spy the Shadow Gate, which can help me return to my home world.

As I take in the contents of the hall, the sound of a group entering causes me to hide, as a party of six passes me.

As they come closer, I see that five of the group are wearing Sommlending clothing and that they are, in fact, various criminals and murderers who were thrown into the Daziarn as punishment for their crimes.

Just as I draw my MEGASWORD, ready for battle, they spot me and, as they spread out, I see that the sixth member of the group is….

VONOTAR!

Come on, as if you were surprised.

Project Aon link – Villains of Sommerlund & Vonotar

Vonotar has a standard villain speech about how he’s waited long and hard for his revenge and then…..delegates the task of killing me to his cronies.

As you do.

26da4f44f4650b0cad20fb270dffe8dd-awesome-things-simple-things

This is seemingly a lesson Vonotar has never learned.

To battle!

Villains of Sommerlund – CS : 38, E : 46

Lone Wolf – CS : 38, E : 24

Round 1 :

R10 of 6

Lone Wolf – 24-2=22, VoS : 46-8=38

Round 2 :

Another 6!

Lone Wolf : 22-2=20, VoS :  38-8=30

Round 3 :

R10 of 2 (groan)

Lone Wolf : 20-4=16, VoS : 30-4=26

Round 4 :

Another 2!

Lone Wolf : 16-4=12, VoS : 26-4=22

Round 5

Back to a 6!

Lone Wolf : 12-2=10, VoS : 22-8=14

Round 6

R10 of 3!

Lone Wolf : 10=4=6, VoS ; 14-5=9

Round 7

R10 of 4!

Lone Wolf : 6-3=3, VoS ; 9-6=3

Round 8

R10 of 3!

Just as I finish off the 5th of the villains, a stray sword blow takes the last of my life.

Aside : I lost hope near the end, because I remember that there is a compulsory 5 Endurance point loss in the next paragraph….

At any rate :

keep-calm-i-shall-return

 

 

 

Base Stats : CS : 22, E : 28, GC 10

Current Stats : CS : 38/38, E : 0/34

Weapons : Sword, Dagger

Weapon-Like Special Items : Silver Bow of Duadon (+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS)

Backpack : Vial of Gold Dust, Rope, Lantern,

Special Items : 1. Sommerswerd (+8 CS) 2. Platinum Amulet, 3. Obsidian Seal 4. Shield (+2 CS),     5. Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), 6. Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) 7. Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, 8. Psychic Ring 9. Quiver (5 arrows), 10. Fireseeds (6), 11. Map of Daziarn 12. Silver Bow of Duadon.

Extra Special Item : Signet Ring

Kai Monastery storage :

  • Backpack Items : Sack of Silver (3)
  • Special Items : Mao of Tekaro, Diamonds (2), Boat Ticket, Power Key, Copper Key, Ornate Silver Key, Jewelled Mace, Dagger of Vashna, Brass Whistle. Quiver (4 arrows), Pass, Vial of Clear Liquid, Crystal Star Pendant, Receipt, Invitation

Magnakai Rank : Scion-Kai

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+4 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace, Dagger, Spear, Quarterstaff, Broadsword, Warhammer), Pathmanship, Huntmastery, Divination, Invisibility, Nexus, Psi-Screen, Psi-Surge

Lore-Circles : Fire (+1 CS, +2 E), Solaris (+1 CS, +3 E), Spirit  (+3 CS, +3 E)

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Current paragraph : 84

 

10 thoughts on “The Prisoners of Time, Attempt 1, Part 10

  1. Better to go down fighting than to a mandatory 5-point loss in the next paragraph. After your glorious victory over the Chaos Master, it would have been too anticlimactic.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This was my first Line Wolf book (and yet, I still continued). My impression of these five criminals was that they deserved better than to be reduced to some stats. There was potential here for a Commando/Ninja Scroll/Predator style scenario where you have to take them on one by one in the city and they can each show off their quirks.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. As you appear to have a warm attitude towards the delightful Mr Morgan (burning hatred is warm) have you seen him on Have I got news for you. There was four and a half minutes here

    The whole episode was here but its nearly half an hour long but i HIGHLY, and I do mean HIGHLY, recommend you read the description. Especially after you’ve watched the 4 and a half minute version.

    On with the post proper.

    “had just received a generic pep talk from Kai, a god.”
    Generic???? Generic would have been, “Hey man, do like good you know”. This one brought in your own specific past (not just a wikipedia rendition of your country’s history) to remind you why you’ve been fighting, what you’ve overcome so far (AKA your Kill Sheet) and why you’re going to keep on going. If that’s “generic” for you then I’d love to hear the pep talks you usually get (one’s from your children don’t count, noone else can top those). Ok, rereading the section I admit that the actual words part are generic, but they have to be taken in the context of the overall message. A bit like someone saying, “All that Lawyer said was that his client should get custody of the children” and completely ignoring all the evidence you’d spent the last ten minutes (or ten hours, I’m uncertain on how Family Court goes) outlining.

    “Kai, a god”. Sorry but that’s like saying you were out with your wife and referring to her as “a woman”. Kai is not just the creator of L.W. race, more specifically he’s L.W.’s own personal god. So it should have been “Kai, his god”. As Batman said, “good grammer is essential Robin”.

    You only encountered Limbdeath in Vassagonia because you had a chance of avoiding the palace, you’re not going to be avoiding it today. But I liked your logical reasoning for avoiding the cliff (R10 sudden deaths, the bane of all players).

    “If the snake was attracted to the scent and heat of my body, why on earth would scattering dried food on the floor serve to halt the advance? ”

    Because the snake’s not stupid! BTW, while I never used Axe so can’t comment on its pulling power I did once have a bottle of Dune and I found it got a certain lady to smile at me and roll on her back. Unfortunately (or not?) this was our mummy cat and it didn’t have anything close to the same effect on any ladies of the human variety. Mind you, my wife is quite please about that.

    “although I’m in some kind of shadow gateway between worlds, this seems a ‘normal’ city,”
    It IS a normal city, except for the bit where it got ransacked and polluted, abandoned and then reinhabited by Ruffians and Refugees. The shadow gateway is just locked in a room.

    “If you want something done right”.
    If people followed that to the logical conclusion we’d be out of jobs. We always pass work onto those who are more skilled in different matters (Doctors, Plumbers, Mechanics, Lawyers, Erudite and Knowledgeable Shop Workers /let me dream/ etc.). Those five are better fighters that Vonotar so he grants them the honor of risking their lives first … then it all gets much too painful. 😦

    Again Manly Macho Sympathetic Clap on the Shoulder. I really really really hope this doesn’t turn into attrition by die roll.

    Roll on your next post and hopefully final victory.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

