The Prisoners of Time

The Prisoners of Time – Attempt 2, Part 1

In a move that will delight many, I’m returning to the start of Lone Wolf’s journey through the Shadow Gate and into the Daziarn.

Aside : It is wicked of me to point this out, but I was amused no end by one of my faithful commenters pointing out an error in my previously post by emphasising the importance of ‘grammEr’.

That would be grammAr, for the nitpicking win!

*Melodramatic sigh*

tenor1

Back to the Prisoners of Time.

You knew I was going to use bullet points, didn’t you?

Psych!

Double bluff!

Yep – it really was going to be bullet points, all along.

  • I lose 3 Endurance points on my journey through the Shadow Gate.
  • Just for the sake of variety, I choose to shelter in the gully, rather than behind the volcanic rocks.

(Temporarily) cease bullet points!

There is some melodramatic description of the impact of the wind as I valiantly try to….crawl into the gully.

Confronted by a miniature whirlwind (!) I shove my tunic over my face and crawl towards an opening, in the desperate hope that it constitutes the entrance to a cave…

Turning to a new paragraph, I am relieved to confirm that it does, in fact, comprise the start of a volcanic fissure, although I am startled at the entrance by an enormous skeleton which must have once been a ‘formidable creature’.

Formidable creature…..

11808068-happy-little-monster-cartoon-character-stock-vector-funny

Ehh….maybe not.

Using my Lantern, I progress further into the fissure.

The dust and debris is suddenly sucked out of this clearing by the whirlwind above but, when the noise subsides, I can see that I’m not alone….

emma-tiger

Yeah, I don’t think Lone Wolf is getting the benefit of that sort of distraction….

A long, scaly, lizard-like creature is in fact the source of my discomfiture, and my lack of Animal Control makes the situation even more precarious.

Luckily I do, in fact, have a MEGABOW!

I need to get a 9 or higher on my R10 check, and my +8 total bonus gives me a good feeling….

Aside : Tempting fate.

No worries though, as my (natural) R10 of 9, guarantees success!

The arrow splits open the enemy’s eye like a ‘burst egg’.

giphy1

For some reason, Lone Wolf is thankful that his arrow has killed the enemy in an instant, and spared it the ‘agony’ of a ‘terrible wound’.

tumblr_inline_mwdw8qdllk1sol5fz

The beast (which I all of a sudden know to be a Khozinda (!!)) falls to the ground.  I make a cursory examination of the corpse before eating a Meal and collapsing, exhausted, to the ground.

After waking, I confront the same riders as I did on my first attempt, and once more use my skills of Pathmanship to avoid trouble.

Bullet points resume!

  • They once more agree to take me to the Beholder.
  • I ride with them to Yanis, take advantage of their hospitality, and snaffle enough extra food for 1 extra Meal.
  • I meet the Beholder, and listen to him / it go on….and on…and on…and on… for about 15 paragraphs….
  • I literally do not have to make another meaningful choice until I meet Serocca again, whereupon she (through rest etc.) restores my Endurance to its initial level.
  • I travel with T’uk T’ron and reach the bridge, which I again note the potential ambush.
  • I help TT, and have to fight a Striped Agtah (CS : 24, E : 35).
  • I defeat the Agtah, for the loss of 4 Endurance.
  • I then lose a further 3 Endurance before fighting the Agtah-Hound (CS : 20, E : 25).
  • I defeat the Hound for the loss of a further 6 Endurance (total loss = 10)
  • After victory, I leave TT and his companions behind to be eaten, before reaching the three scouts sent to find me.
  • Contrary to last time, I use my Divination skills to alert the scouts to my presence, and don’t risk SOME IDIOT shooting at the very person they were sent to find.
  • I meet Lorkon Ironheart, and replenish my gear by refilling my quiver.
  • I take on board my new (DOOOOMED) sidekick and make it to the Grand Sepulchre.
  • I get inside, make it to the top (knowing the correct code to the relevant door) and spot the Scarlet Warrior trying to snaffle the Lorestones.
  • I shoot him in the throat, and we fight! (Scarlet Warrior – CS : 25, E : 30)
  • I actually kill him (it?) in one blow, but his body is still carried away by the black-winged mount, although one Lorestone falls to the ground.
  • It is around this point that I channel Kim Kardashian.

  • Without the sex tape.
  • I think.
  • [Lone Wolf frantically thinks back to the hotel room in Ragadorn, and whether he and Viveka did anything untoward).
  • I get leaped upon my two ‘Agtah Scouts’ (CS : 26, E : 21)
  • I defeat them, for the loss of 6 Endurance.
  • It doesn’t matter too much, because I snaffle the Lorestone and regain my full Endurance level.
  • Given the choice between the Grand Sepulchre and Baylon’s Tomb, I elect to take a different path, and go for Baylon’s Tomb, evading the Chaos-Creature guardians.
  • Just to make things interesting, I need to solve another logic based problem to gain entry!

Project Aon link – Lock to Tomb Door

And here are the four choices for the door :

Project Aon link – Four possible solutions

And I’m going to crowd-source this one, because I’m really, really struggling to see how one of the four options logically follows from the others.

Comments – do your work to save Lone Wolf!

Oh yeah – one more thing –

Base Stats : CS : 22, E : 28, GC 10

Current Stats : CS : 38/38, E : 34/34

Weapons : Sword, Dagger

Weapon-Like Special Items : Silver Bow of Duadon (+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS)

Backpack : Vial of Gold Dust, Rope, Lantern, Potion of Alether (+2 CS), Potion of Laumspur (2), Meal

Special Items : 1. Sommerswerd (+8 CS) 2. Platinum Amulet, 3. Obsidian Seal 4. Shield (+2 CS),     5. Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), 6. Chainmail Waistcoat (+4 E) 7. Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, 8. Psychic Ring 9. Quiver (6 arrows), 10. Fireseeds (6), 11. Silver Rod 12. Silver Bow of Duadon.

Extra Special Item : Signet Ring

Kai Monastery storage :

  • Backpack Items : Sack of Silver (3)
  • Special Items : Mao of Tekaro, Diamonds (2), Boat Ticket, Power Key, Copper Key, Ornate Silver Key, Jewelled Mace, Dagger of Vashna, Brass Whistle. Quiver (4 arrows), Pass, Vial of Clear Liquid, Crystal Star Pendant, Receipt, Invitation

Magnakai Rank : Scion-Kai

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+4 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace, Dagger, Spear, Quarterstaff, Broadsword, Warhammer), Pathmanship, Huntmastery, Divination, Invisibility, Nexus, Psi-Screen, Psi-Surge

Lore-Circles : Fire (+1 CS, +2 E), Solaris (+1 CS, +3 E), Spirit  (+3 CS, +3 E)

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+2CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Current paragraph : 315

9 thoughts on “The Prisoners of Time – Attempt 2, Part 1

  1. The 90 Angles must be reversed as the other Two angles are close (a sort of reflecting mirror). The Two Lines in 3 and 4 quarters joined with the triangle in the first quarter give you a square 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  2. “In a move that will delight many”
    Actually there were no decisions where I had a preference so I’d have been happy for you to get through first time.

    “I was amused no end by one of my faithful commenters … emphasising the importance of ‘grammEr’.”

    Oh, Well,

    In my defense I depend on unreliable spellcheckers due to being practically illegitimate. Moving on to the bulletpoints.

    What you, Viveka and Kim Kardasian did in Ragadorn depends entirely upon how much faith you put in the Novel. But I point out the rule “What happens in Ragadorn stays in Ragadorn” (hence there being no repercusions from your potentially murdering a merchant, wiping out the town guard and stealing a horse (the last being a hanging offense, the others :/ )).

    Finally the all important logic puzzle.

    Short answer, yeah, what matteo said.

    Longer answer. Easy part is the L shape is in a different corner in each picture so it MUST be like a seven with its corner in the top right corner narrowing the answer down to A or B.

    Hard part is what happens to the triangle. So I asked a workmate who just graduated from Art college with honors as she’d be used to dealing with themes and patters. She admitted she’s no good at that sort of thing and hadn’t a clue which to me raises question about whether Universities are really preparing people for the Real World.

    Then I did what any self respecting man (or Wolf) would do when confronted by a seemingly insurmountable problem. I called for my mum!

    Point out that she’s a university graduate in maths, accounting and economics (among other things). So she looks at it and while she can’t say why she says it becomes a square. So I’m going with my mum for B.

    Roll on what we really really hope doesn’t turn into another horned cyclops.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I googled Baylon’s tomb. Most people seem to agree the puzzle’s weird and only sort-of solvable. Would be interested to see this disproven!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Yeah, I remember that when I played it through the first time I was only able to narrow it down to A or B and then guess. Now, a quarter century later with a master’s degree in math, I still don’t know why it would a priori be one over the other.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Since it seems statistically likely that you will be playing through the early portions of this book several more times, it might be worth trying other options for variety, as you did by sheltering in the gully and trying Baylon’s tomb instead of the Grand Sepulchre. Since you don’t have Curing, you won’t gain anything by taking a different route to Serocca or staying on the chariot, but you won’t lose a lot either and there may be a better way to deal with the ambush at the river. Lone Wolf has Nexus, so repairing the bridge is well within his abilities, for example.

    The way I thought about the puzzle was that the glyphs should be in balance, so one arrow needs to point towards each corner. There are already arrows pointing down-right, down-left and up-left, so you need the glyph with a single arrow pointing up-right. You don’t need to think about the other symbols to solve the puzzle, but the ones on glyphs with arrows pointing away from the centre contain only orthogonal lines, whilst the ones with arrows pointing towards the centre contain a diagonal line. The symbols on the top line are two dimensional and those on the bottom are one-dimensional. It’s not definitive, but the correct symbol is pretty clear, even if the reasoning is not.

    I hope that your sudden aversion to grave-robbing doesn’t extend to Baylon’s tomb or Lone Wolf may be significantly more likely to face another painful death from Endurance attrition.

    Good luck with the upcoming battles.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Unfortunately, I can’t edit my comments, but to be clear: when I said that you don’t need to think about the other symbols to solve the puzzle, what i meant was that you only need to consider that they are all made up of straight lines, not the exact shape involved. Sorry for not proof-reading the comment better.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

