The Masters of Darkness

The Masters of Darkness – Attempt 1, Part 3

At the end of our last instalment, we had prematurely begun to celebrate our evasion of the ocean blockade, as we were in the process of overcoming the Drakkarim boarders who still remained on our ship.

ae4c3b06e04de74b8bf0c472eaf6d79e0314280b5e7aa22c2486af79f1c4d9b2

Unfortunately, a cannon-like device situated on the foredeck of the ironclad shoots something described as a ‘fiery ball’ at our deck, and upon landing it promptly explodes, scattering the crew and also, naturally, causing severe damage to the ship.

Project Aon link – Ironclad firing on Intrepid

As chaos starts to reign, a flaming sail falls down, with a ‘tangle of burning canvas’ covering me from head to toe.

doctorwho-capaldi

My advanced mastery of Nexus kicks in, allowing me to douse the flames with my mind, and to avoid any ill-effect from the smoke and fumes.

Does this make me the anti-Firestarter?

512bfhpft8l-_sy445_

Aside : Yes, that is Drew Barrymore in a Stephen King adaptation, and yes, the book is far better than the movie, like almost every Stephen King adaption.

The Exception?

Duh.

51spvi-1rxl-_sy450_

Back on topic!

Crew members and Drakkarim are literally running around with their hair on fire. Many throw themselves off the ship, hoping the ocean will save them from burning (right before drowning them, presumably).

But wait!

My spidey-sense tingles!  I whirl around, and see a Drakkar soldier right behind me, and I am able to fight, rather than succumbing to an old-school backstab attack!

[Aside : Immune to Mindblast]

Drakkarim Marine – CS : 19, E : 23

Lone Wolf – CS : 41, E : 32

I lose 3 Endurance before slaughtering this interloper in the second round of combat.

Before I can even catch my breath, I see that the enemy ironclad has now caught up to the Intrepid, and the yellow smoke rising from the ironclad merges with the black fumes rising from the flaming ship.

I decide (for some reason) that it is a good idea to vault across to the ironclad, but as I ready myself on the railing, the ship jolts and this highly trained warrior monk tumbles clumsily into the yellow smog below.

giphy7.

Oh, yeah.

Aside : James Bond wishes he could be as cool as Cary Grant.

My R10 check of 3 means that I don’t fall into the ocean, but rather onto the deck of the ironclad.

The shock of the landing takes away 3 precious Endurance points, and I once more need to face a Drakkarim Sailor (who for some reason has less impressive stats than the ‘Drakkarim Marine’.)

Drakkarim Sailor – CS : 19, E : 24

Lone Wolf – CS : 44, E : 27

Just as I’m starting to get a bit cheesed off about all these enemies annoying me in rapid succession, my MEGASWORD takes out the sailor with one blow.

giphy8

As he drops dead as if shot, I feel it appropriate to therefore lay down a couple of bullet points!

  • The first dead sailor knocks his doofus friend into the ocean below.
  • As the various Drakkarim sprint around trying to save their vessel, and rescue their comrades in the ocean, no-one seems to notice (!) the green-clad Kai Lord creeping around.
  • I scamper into the ironclad’s wheelhouse, and take out three further enemies without even needing to bother with an R10 check.

giphy9

As the last dead sailor falls down the stairs, my Divination discipline lets me know that the stairs lead to the crew quarters and that a number of them wish to discuss their crewmate’s death in close, personal terms.

Leaving the wheelhouse quickly, I see three further Drakkarim attending to the quasi-cannon.  I decipher the captain’s foreign utterances and realise with horror that they intend, not to fire against the flaming ship, but rather the defenceless sailors bobbing in the water.

giphy10

Project Aon link – Flaming Intrepid

I whip out my MEGABOW and take out both the captain and one of his flunkies. However, the final soldier is saved by his breastplate, and we must fight hand-to-hand.

Drakkarim Gunner – CS : 19, E : 25

Lone Wolf – CS : 44, E : 32

Did someone say ‘instakill with the first blow’?

emma-stone-says-oh-yea

In a total boss move, I grab the cannon and change its aim to point straight back along the deck and the dozen angry marines charging at me.

In a slightly melodramatic tone, I shout ‘Death to the Darklords!’ before pulling the trigger.

The good news is that the Drakkarim come down with a severe case of death.

Unfortunately, the missile also reaches the ship’s magazine, which goes up in (literal) smoke.

The ironclad is blown apart, and I’m knocked out with my last sight being a blinding burst of fire.

giphy11

I regain consciousness to see that, in a truly ridiculous piece of luck, I have fallen into a cup-shaped piece of wreckage, surrounded by the remains of the two vessels.

The only vessel still visible is the first ironclad, as seen on the horizon.

I also see that the shore is less than a hundred yards away.

When I watch the shore, my Huntmastery-improved eyesight notes a patrol of Giaks skulking at the water’s edge, checking for survivors (and presumably loot).

They are rescuing Drakkarim while stabbing (!) the crew of the Intrepid.

I paddle my makeshift craft away from the patrol, hoping to reach land.

Lone Wolf will, like Sisyphus of old, perpetually continue repeating this task until I resume this voyage, in the near future….

Base Stats : CS : 22, E : 28, GC 22

Final Stats : CS : 44/44, E : 32/32

Weapons : Sword, Dagger

Weapon-Like Special Items : Silver Bow of Duadon (+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS), Dagger of Vashna

Backpack : Rope, Lantern, Potion of Laumspur (+4E), Meals (3)

Special Items : 1. Sommerswerd (+8 CS) (with Korlinium scabbard) 2. Platinum Amulet / Gold Amulet, 3. Dagger of Vashna 4. Shield (+2 CS),  5. Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), 6. Bronin Vest (+3 CS, +1 E) 7. Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, 8. Psychic Ring 9. Quiver (3 arrows), 10. Silver Bracers (+2 CS, +1 E) (6), 11. Crystal Explosive 12. Silver Bow of Duadon.

Kai Monastery storage :

  • Backpack Items : Sack of Silver (3)
  • Special Items : Map of Tekaro, Diamonds (2), Boat Ticket, Power Key, Copper Key, Ornate Silver Key, Jewelled Mace, Obsidian Seal, Brass Whistle. Quiver (4 arrows), Pass, Vial of Clear Liquid, Crystal Star Pendant, Receipt, Invitation, Signet Ring

Magnakai Rank : Archmaster

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+4 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace, Dagger, Spear, Quarterstaff, Broadsword, Warhammer, Axe), Pathmanship, Huntmastery, Divination, Invisibility, Nexus, Psi-Screen, Psi-Surge, Curing

Lore-Circles : Fire (+1 CS, +2 E), Solaris (+1 CS, +3 E), Spirit  (+3 CS, +3 E)

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+3CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Current paragraph : 296

7 thoughts on “The Masters of Darkness – Attempt 1, Part 3

  1. I feel for Joe Dever at this point. Lone Wolf could have a massive range of stats based on how many books he’s been through and it is nigh impossible to make the book accomodate everyone to make a challenging yet fair adventure. I understand why, when he started a new series, he started at Grand Master and gave them a +5CS magic weapon at the beginning to reduce the range of stats that the player could have.

    On the other hand, for a player like you who has everything from the first 11 books, it must be really satisfying to cut through half a dozen opponents like carving a cake.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. “hoping the ocean will save them from burning (right before drowning them, presumably)”

    In fairness the Drakkarim Marines are in Leather giving them a chance at swimming (as distinct from no chance with burning).

    Then there’s a dodge and an enemy goes splash, a leap turns into a pratfall followed by more enemies falling into the sea, a slicing of enemies, slamming of doors, and slaughtering of sadists followed by a KRACKABOOM as we see the one flaw in having high explosives aboard a ship (did you take note of that Stuart Lloyld??? 😉 ).

    That was a FUN Battle Tim 😀 Thanks 😀

    Finally Giaks are seen “rescuing Drakkarim while stabbing (!) the crew of the Intrepid.”

    Call me cynical but it actually says they carry some on stetchers to their encampment while others they stab and leave for the sharks, I can’t help wondering is it the tasty looking one’s they take back to their encampment while the stringy one’s they leave behind …

    As its nearly 4 am here I shall have to leave my catching up for another day

    Liked by 1 person

      1. In fairness that’s what we’re meanr to think, and its certainly what Lone Wolf thinks, but its made clear elsewhere that Giaks are mistreated and respond by mistreating others so … free meat?

        Like

Leave a Reply

