The Masters of Darkness

The Masters of Darkness – Attempt 1, Part 4

Sorry everyone, I know it has been a little longer than usual between entries.

I was all set to write this up last night, but then I thought….”I’ll just check out the first few minutes of that new series The Handmaid’s Tale….”

[Cut to 11.45 pm.]

*Yawn*.

The show is great stuff, but not for everyone.

Anyway, Lone Wolf is making his way ashore, taking care to avoid the Giak patrols.

Aside : Speaking of washing ashore, one of my favourite parts of Robinson Crusoe is how he ‘strips naked’, swims out to the wrecked ship, and then ‘fills his pockets’ with all manner of goodies and trinkets….

I make it to shore, nip quietly up the beach and use a small path to climb to the top of the sheer cliff which overlooks the beach and ocean.

tumblr_op9lo5ffgn1qe3aixo1_500

As heavy rain starts to fall, and I start to feel sorry for myself, I manage to find an (empty) cave where my Huntmastery avoid the need to take a meal from my backpack.

I then try to take some well-deserved shut-eye, only to be rudely awakened by some ‘hulking creature’ with ‘yellow cat-like’ eyes.

giphy12

Aside : (1) This creature’s susceptibility to psychic attacks means that I can double my normal Mindblast bonus. (2) I’m going to keep using the Sommerswerd until further notice.

Lone Wolf : CS : 47, E : 32

Egorgh – CS : 25, E : 34

Initial R10 of 9!

mortal-kombat-fatality-flawless-victory

I then, rather than giving the poor creature (who mind you, was just defending its home) a proper burial, I use the dead body as a windbreak and deterrent to others by dumping it in the cave entrance!

tumblr_mowc69kuft1rwtl3wo1_400

But then, I suppose Lone Wolf literally isn’t cold as a result of this little ploy, so it all evens out.

Or something.

Morning arrives, and I make for a nearby range of hills.  Reaching the top of the ridge, I spy mountains on the horizon which I deduce are the northwestern end of the Durncrag mountains.

Project Aon link – Map of Darklands

I realise with some trepidation that I am over 300 miles of hostile territory from Aarnak, where I am due to meet the slavemaster, the Sommlending double agent.

Hmm.  If it was 500 miles instead, I would at least know who I could call on.

Yeah, I know, I know.  But its locked in your brain now, isn’t it?

Heh.

While pondering such matters, I do manage to spot a mountain pass, which I make for with all due speed.

Because life wasn’t meant to be easy, the path is blocked by a wall and stone watchtower, with both guarded by Giak soldiers.

Project Aon link – Giak watchtower

I can either attempt to scale the wall, or scour the nearby mountains for another way through.

Since the watchtower was presumably constructed at the only pass, it seems I’ll need to ask Avenger to help me with his Climbing skill….

What??

Wrong series?

Alright, I guess if Lone Wolf can scale glaciers in Kalte, he should make short work of this little obstacle.

I carefully monitor the routines of the sentries, and quickly start climbing once he reaches the far end of the wall.

I need to make an R10 check, with a result of 7 or higher needed for success.  Luckily, I get to add +2 for my possession of Invisibility, and +3 for (advanced) Huntmastery.

tenor1

With a score of 9, I obviously climb the darn thing one-handed, while juggling and playing Candy Crush.

I avoid the guards and sneak quietly down the mountain pass.

giphy13

I manage to discover a fissure in the mountain in which to sleep, and I manage to do so without having to kill any more blameless mountain residents.

In the morning I continue towards Argazad, pausing only at the top of one hill to note the Gulf of Helenag and the ironclads patrolling the coastline.

After several hours of travel I pass what ‘appears’ to be a ruined tower.

My Divination skill then leads to one of the more obtrusive examples of ‘showing off your world building’ I’ve seen in this series.

when-you-ask-how-their-day-was-and-they-give-you-a-whole-exposition-meme-58243

Basically this tower is all that remains of the Neboran race, who were around in the ‘Golden Age’ of the Shianti before being slaughtered (like so many others) by the Darklords.

And……

I then carry on walking for the rest of the day.

I find a windproof niche (to protect me from the icy off-shore winds) before noticing someone (or something….) coming along the trail.

My Huntmastery-inspired telescopic vision allows me to make out a supply wagon of some kind, with numerous Giak and Drakkarim guards.  I decide discretion is my best course of action, and remain in hiding while they pass.

As fate would have it, they make their camp for the night quite close to my hiding place, although I luckily remain undetected.  I quietly listed to their campfire chatter, including an argument over cheating at cards, that is settled by their sergeant in brutal fashion, when he orders the cheater to, in the morning, return alone the way they came

And if you’re worried about cheating, don’t ever play with this guy :

I come up with an interesting plan : in the morning I’ll ambush the cheat, steal his clothes and armour, hope they fit, and ride in disguise into Argazad.

Can it work?

Only the next entry can tell…..

 

 

 

Base Stats : CS : 22, E : 28, GC 22

Final Stats : CS : 44/44, E : 32/32

Weapons : Sword, Dagger

Weapon-Like Special Items : Silver Bow of Duadon (+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS), Dagger of Vashna

Backpack : Rope, Lantern, Potion of Laumspur (+4E), Meals (3)

Special Items : 1. Sommerswerd (+8 CS) (with Korlinium scabbard) 2. Platinum Amulet / Gold Amulet, 3. Dagger of Vashna 4. Shield (+2 CS),  5. Padded Waistcoat (+2 E), 6. Bronin Vest (+3 CS, +1 E) 7. Blue Stone Triangle Pendant, 8. Psychic Ring 9. Quiver (3 arrows), 10. Silver Bracers (+2 CS, +1 E) (6), 11. Crystal Explosive 12. Silver Bow of Duadon.

Kai Monastery storage :

  • Backpack Items : Sack of Silver (3)
  • Special Items : Map of Tekaro, Diamonds (2), Boat Ticket, Power Key, Copper Key, Ornate Silver Key, Jewelled Mace, Obsidian Seal, Brass Whistle. Quiver (4 arrows), Pass, Vial of Clear Liquid, Crystal Star Pendant, Receipt, Invitation, Signet Ring

Magnakai Rank : Archmaster

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+4 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace, Dagger, Spear, Quarterstaff, Broadsword, Warhammer, Axe), Pathmanship, Huntmastery, Divination, Invisibility, Nexus, Psi-Screen, Psi-Surge, Curing

Lore-Circles : Fire (+1 CS, +2 E), Solaris (+1 CS, +3 E), Spirit  (+3 CS, +3 E)

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+3CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Current paragraph : 284

4 thoughts on “The Masters of Darkness – Attempt 1, Part 4

  1. LW is by now an outstanding monk-warrior, really invincible…i wonder what you are going to do from book 13 with the new RES and CS rules….any preview for future adventures?? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As an attorney you’ll have fun trying to parse them. It’s been a source of debate for years on the Project Aon forums as to how to interpret them (to re-roll or not to re-roll, that is the question…)

    Like

  3. “I’ll just check out the first few minutes”

    Ah, those famous words with which so much time is then lost. I actually remember the book The Handmaids Tale being reviewed in an Irish paper when it first came out. Even though it didn’t sound my sort of book the plot idea’s came across very memorably.

    Question to ponder: Does the book seem more or less plausible since President Trump was elected and Brexit was passed?

    “rather than giving the poor creature a proper burial, I use the dead body as a windbreak”

    I was going to comment on the practicality of trying to dig a deep enough grave in such a barren landscape with no shovel when I remembered the more important rule: Waste Not, Want Not.

    Also noteworthy that while Drakkarim are cruel, murderous, sadistic destroyers even they can’t tolerate card sharks. I’m assuming that the hands were those of Ricky Jay (you gave us one of his video’s before, don’t worry, you haven’t repeated yourself with him, yet) and I saw him playing a straight game/trick one time. He doesn’t NEED to cheat to win at cards.

    I’ll now walk 500 miles to reach your next post. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

