The Plague Lords of Ruel

The Plague Lords of Ruel – Background

typorama

Buuuutt – not too far off it.

For those who have missed me, may I say :

  1. I did warn you.
  2. In the last 5 business days, I have had four matters listed in Court, along with a full day mediation, and, finally, getting a several thousand page file transferred from another solicitor with the client’s Trial Affidavit to be prepared and filed by Tuesday 15 August.

Anyway, the Plague Lords of Ruel!

lonewolf13

I revert to my earlier complaint that Ruel is hardly as atmospheric a term as Horror, Terror, Fear, Darkness, Death, Doom etc etc.

Maybe Mr Dever thought the term ‘Plague Lords’ was enough intimidation for one title.

There is an absolute TON of exposition, to cover the significant period since the last book. I’m going to be absolutely BRUTAL in my summary here, because we all want to get to the good stuff :

  • After my destruction of Helgedad, the Sommerlund and allied armies won a total victory over the Darklords and their allies.
  • Over the last five years, the Kai Monastery has been fully restored, and the newer generation of Kai Masters are, in turn, educating a new wave of Kai Initiates.
  • Aside : Hopefully I have also put in place a stern directive against all Kai Masters being gathered in the same place at the same time ever again…..
  • Secondary aside : When there IS some compulsory gathering, there should be a couple of Kai Grand Masters who are ‘Designated Survivors’, in the sense of the word as defined here.
  • In an example of subtle retconning my study of the Lorestones enables me to realise that I can, in fact, attain a higher level of Kai mastery than the previously highest level of Kai Grand Master.  I resolve to study and work until I can become a Kai Supreme Master.
  • Aside : I think it is absolutely wonderful that, while reaching these previously-unknown heights, Lone Wolf takes the trouble to think of names for each of the ranks that correspond with the number of Kai Grand Master Disciplines that are learnt….
  • Apparently my study results in my becoming stronger and faster, along with a slowdown in aging, whereby I age five times more slowly that a ‘normal’ human.
  • As herbalists and their cohorts attempt to resurrent the land blighted by the Darklords, the Giaks, evil wizards and Xaghash (lesser Darklords) fight for control of the vacuum created by the eradication of the Darklords.
  • On to this adventure!
  • An evil group known as the Cener Druids have carved out a small fiefdom due to their knowledge of destructive herbcraft and magic.
  • 7,000 soldiers invaded with a view to freeing this area, but only 70 returned alive.
  • Aside : A survival rate in line with Lone Wolf’s sidekicks or horses.
  • Due to the capture of a Cenerese spy in Ragadorn, Rimoah has tested a substance in the spy’s possession, which is a sample of a plague which, if released, will decimate all life on Magnamund.
  • Since an army will be unsuccessful, it falls to a single warrior to try to penetrate the area and destroy the plague source.

In terms of equipment, I can keep my backpack and weapons (from five years ago!!) but all Special Items save the following can be discarded :

  • Crystal Star Pendant
  • Sommerswerd
  • Silver Helm
  • Dagger of Vashna
  • Silver Bracers
  • Jewelled Mace
  • Silver Bow of Duadon
  • Helshezag
  • Kagonite Chainmail
  • Korlinium Scabbard

I grumble loudly and longly about how some Special Items are to be discarded for no particular reason (why on earth do I lose my Shield, Bronin Vest and Padded Waistcoat??)

With my Lore-Circle Bonuses intact, my scores in an ‘average’ combat will be :

Combat Skill  : 17 +5 (Lore-Circles) +8 (Sommerswerd) +3 (Mindblast) +4 (Weaponmastery) +2 (Silver Bracers) = 39

Endurance : 20 + 11 (Lore-Circles) + 1 (Silver Bracers) = 32

I pick my equipment, noting that the Backpack Item limit has been increased to 10.

The five items I pick are : Quiver (with 6 arrows), Potion of Laumspur and 3 Meals.

I also get 20 Gold Crowns to add to my hoard.

My rank is Kai Grand Defender.

Finally, I note that a wise choice of Disciplines will enable any player to complete the book, ‘no matter how weak their initial Combat Skill and Endurance scores’.

I’m going to hold the book to that.

This is me and Joe Dever right now :

 

 the devil wears prada GIF

 

Time of next update : Unknown.

Base Stats : CS : 22, E : 31, GC 42 (Kika 28)

Current Stats : CS : 39/39, E : 32/32

Weapons : Sword, Dagger

Weapon-Like Special Items : Silver Bow of Duadon (+3), Sommerswerd (+8 CS), Dagger of Vashna

Backpack : Rope, Lantern, Potions of Laumspur (+4E) (2), Meals (6),

Special Items :

1. Sommerswerd (+8 CS) (with Korlinium scabbard) 2. Crystal Star Pendant , 3. Dagger of Vashna 4. Quiver (6 arrows),  5. EMPTY, 6. EMPTY 7. EMPTY 8. EMPTY 9. Jewelled Mace, 10. Silver Bracers (+2 CS, +1 E) (6), 11. EMPTY 12. Silver Bow of Duadon.

Kai Monastery storage :

  • Backpack Items : Sack of Silver (3), Black Key.
  • Special Items :

Grand Master Rank : Kai Grand Defender

Grand Master Disciplines : Magi-magic, Kai-Alchemy, Grand Huntmastery, Grand Pathsmanship.

Magnakai Disciplines : Weaponmastery (+4 CS in Sword, Bow, Mace, Dagger, Spear, Quarterstaff, Broadsword, Warhammer, Axe, Short Sword), Pathmanship, Huntmastery, Divination, Invisibility, Nexus, Psi-Screen, Psi-Surge, Curing, Animal Control

Lore-Circles : Fire (+1 CS, +2 E), Solaris (+1 CS, +3 E), Spirit  (+3 CS, +3 E)

Kai Disciplines : Camouflage, Animal Kinship, Tracking, Hunting, Sixth Sense, Healing, Mind Over Matter, Mindblast (+3CS), Mindshield, Weaponskill (+2 CS in Short Sword)

Current paragraph : 1

9 thoughts on “The Plague Lords of Ruel – Background

  1. “Lone Wolf takes the trouble to think of names of each of the ranks that correspond with the number of Kai Grand Master Disciplines that are learnt….”

    Lone Wolf is on the path of becoming “Wise Supreme Ultra Incredible Grand Master Super Warrior Kai” eh !

    Titles and ranks are important un Magnamund apparently !

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Don’t you also get more CS and E for each Grand Master skill you possess? I thought if you were re-rolling stats you got more after your initial four disciplines, but if you kept your pre-GM stats you got a boost for each discipline including the first four? I mainly play these on an app these days, so it’s been awhile since I’ve actually had to pay attention to that rule, but I’m pretty sure that’s how it goes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is the relevant section from the Game Rules for Book 13 :

      “For every Grand Master Discipline you possess, in excess of the original four disciplines you begin with, you may add 1 point to your basic COMBAT SKILL score and 2 points to your basic ENDURANCE points score. ”

      So I read that as saying you only get bonuses from your 5th Discipline onwards.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, upon browsing Project Aon a little, I can’t find anything that says you get a boost for the first four disciplines. However the app I’m using is giving that bonus. Guess I’m a little Cheaty McCheaterson.

        Liked by 1 person

    2. In my editions, this was introduced in book 16 or 17. I house ruled it to have the bonus for each discipline after the 4 initial ones, as you described. That said, 39 CS is not all that hot for this book I’m afraid 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Since Lone Wolf’s Backpack now carries ten items instead of eight, it probably isn’t the same one from five years ago. Either that or one of the other innate talents he picked up upon his ascension to Grand Master was the ability to pack like a mother going on holiday with her family.

    I always assumed that while Lone Wolf was communing with the Lorestones, or whatever he did to discover the Grand Master Disciplines, he also learned the names of the ranks by the same method. If only Sun Eagle had kept the Lorestones after he found them instead of leaving them where they were, maybe Sommerlund would have had Kai Supreme Masters for centuries. I assume that the mystical presence of the Lorestones is also responsible for the young Kai reaching the rank of Kai Master in just two years instead of the eleven or twelve years it used to take. I seem to remember reading that somewhere, but can’t find it now.

    I think I should point out that it’s Kai-alchemy, not Kai-Alchemy, and while I’m at it, Psi-Screen and Psi-Surge should be Psi-screen and Psi-surge, too.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. “I always assumed that while Lone Wolf was communing with the Lorestones, …he also learned the names of the ranks by the same method.”

      I tended to just assume similar, namely that the titles already existed, until Tim queried it. The book actually says :

      “The discovery that within you lay the potential to develop Kai Disciplines beyond those of the Magnakai, which, until now, were thought to be the ultimate that a Kai Master could aspire to, was truly a revelation.”

      It is not clarified exactly where you discovered this.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. “For those who have missed me”

    I was kinda incognito myself but, yeah, you were missed.

    “Maybe Mr Dever thought the term ‘Plague Lords’ was enough intimidation for one title”

    If you don’t think “Plague Lords” is enough intimidation then you need to watch more trashy post viral apocalypse movies. But what the hell is Lone Wolf doing with the Skaven I mean Vashag on his hand??? It looks like a cross between it being a glove puppet or he’s going to play tennis using it and his sword (27 years of rant finally released).

    “I think it is absolutely wonderful that … Lone Wolf takes the trouble to think of names for each of the ranks that correspond with the number of Kai Grand Master Disciplines that are learnt….”

    In fairness it is a human tendency to name thing. And once he knew what disciplines there were (upgrades on the original ten plus two new magic ones) it would be easy to break the titles down (after all, he’ll be using them to encourage his students to try harder “Do you want to be a Sun Thane or don’t you? You’re class mates will all be Sun Princes before you if you don’t hurry up” … if his pupils have as little a life as he does they’ll lap it up like computer game players).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

